We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time, great place, great people!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Loveland, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Awesome time, great place, great people!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Wanted to put in a real positive plug for the wonderful time I spent this week at Murphy's River Lodge in Estes Park. Big kudos to the great management husband/wife team of Troy and Shelley. Make sure you say "hi" as they really go all out to make your stay memorable an a pleasure. Really enjoyed my second-story room with the balcony, right on the river and the tremedously comfortable bed. I also really enjoyed being able to walk directly into the downtown located a little over a block to the East. I have always had to look for parking while visiting Estes and being this close w/o having to look for parking was an unexpected pleasure. Again, thanks Troy and Shelley for a wonderful, relaxing and productive time in your town. We will definately be back and also pass the word about your great lodge.

R. G. E.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barracuda43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    261
    72
    19
    4
See reviews for
412
538
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This was my first time visiting Estes Park and my stay at Murphy's River Lodge was the perfect welcome! The location couldn't be any more ideal – just a short walk into town to all of the shops, restaurants and nightlife. After enjoying the essence of town I was able to go back to my room and feel completely at home!
Not only are the rooms spacious and cozy but quality of the mattress and pillows are impeccable! The pillows in the room varied in firmness from soft, medium to firm-sure to fit everyone's needs! After a great night’s rest we woke up to the beautiful scenery and the river right outside off our room’s balcony!
The charm of Murphy's River Lodge is unlike any other, I am already looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We had a terrific weekend here. The room was beautifully appointed. The beds were very comfortable. We even had the relaxing sound of Fall River trickling by. The breakfast room was clean, sunny, and comfortable with a nice of view of surrounding mountains. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Murpy's River Lodge for valntines day. It was wonderful!!. The folks there made us feel right at home. The view from our room was wonderful you could see and hear the river, The sound of the river was so conforting. We saw a heard of Elk right across the road of the hotel. We had a great time and we highly recommend it to all of our friends. We hope to stay there for are anniversary this summer. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfeavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2011

My husband and I make the 3 hour trip from Colorado Springs to Estes Park at least 4-5 times a year if possible. We've stayed at many different places but I have to say this is definitely one of the best. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are spacious, clean and just very nice overall. The couple at the front desk were very friendly and worked to accommodate our needs even when there was a problem with our original room reservation. Unfortunately, the pool area was under construction during our stay but we plan to go back in the future to take advantage of that as well. Within minutes of RMNP and walking distance of downtown Estes, it's the perfect location to enjoy everything that this wonderful area has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSchroeders-CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

IMMACULATE! Clean,quiet and inviting environment. Accessible to Rocky Mountain National park in about 3 minutes. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. I was well rested! The rooms are spacious with flat screen T.V's. I had great cell phone reception. I plan on returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therapistsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The family and I tend to stay at the Stanley hotel due to its worldwide notarity, but when Murphys River Lodge opened, we had to give them a shot. Boy are we glad we did! The beds are amazing, and the wife slept better than ever before. i had to check the mattress tag so I can buy the same one for the house! The location could not be better, and you are steps from everything. The front desk was very helpful with whatever we asked of them. The internet worked great, i was able to sneak in some emails while the family wasnt looking :-). We ended up there during the valentines day holiday and they were all booked up. Glad we reserved early.

You can't go wrong with this place. I won't be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funwithmyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
310 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing