We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic Escape With Rustic Charm and Updated Amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Idyllic Escape With Rustic Charm and Updated Amenities.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Murphy's River Lodge has a rustic charm of a get away destination, yet they have updated for comfort and cleanliness.
Pillowtop mattresses and tastefully decorated rooms with Egyption Cotton sheets did not go unoticed by me.
The ease of walking distance to town, yet the quiet peace of the river to hush you off to sleep, makes this the perfect destination for a week-end or mid-week retreat.
I plan to make Murphy's River Lodge a destination that I will visit often.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertsaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    251
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
392
528
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Had a wonderful night at Murphy's River Lodge. Very relaxing and comfortable. The room was great and the bed was very comfy. Enjoyed being near the river and the quick walk into town for dinner. Will definitely will go back and will tell friends. Room rates were great as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidsincollege123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Murphy's River Lodge has been updated and is a great place to stay. We have 2 small children and the room was perfect for them to play in. The refrigerator and freezer came in handy for all the snacks and juice that we needed to bring. The beds were amazing they were Super comfortable to sleep in. The newly renovated room also had great natural light in the main room as well as in the bathroom. Loved the granite counter tops in there as well as the round shower curtain made the shower seem larger. We really enjoyed the short walk from the room into town. Not having to think about parking in town was a great feature of this place. We are a family who travels to Estes frequently and we will always stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillygirl265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce City, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

My husband and I were very pleasantly surprised by the new owner's improvements to this lodge. The rooms are classic hotel comfort within walking distance of the main street. Estes Park is all about enjoying the adorable little town center shops and Murphy's River Lodge is a stone's throw from them. We walked to a yummy Mexican Restaurant and then enjoyed the town center Pub after. The hotel operators were very kind and we plan on bringing our extended family up for a visit just as soon as the larger cabin-style rooms are available. Thanks, Murphy's River, for adding to an already GREAT tourist destination!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmstans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

After staying in the Estes Park area for over 50 years with family,
this NEW Murphy's Lodge is "A FIND." Excellent, accomodating staff.
The remodel of the original lodge has been done with 2011 standards
in mind. Everthing is new!! I would recommend Murphy's lodge to
anyone in my family. We're going back...soon. Ed Getsch

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardgetsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing