We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One year anniversary romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the kings rooms on the river. The room was nice and clean. The tv was in a kind of awkward spot to watch movies, but it is do-able. Small mini fridge, coffee pot and microwave in the room.
Right off your room is a small patio big enough for two and the river. Not all rooms are on the river, so if you want one make sure to ask.
It is within walking distance of downtown, but not right on the strip.
The service desk was very helpful and nice, and took our picture on the big chair outside, printed it and gave it to us before we left.
The continental breakfast was small and consisted of mostly pastries.
We did not use the pool or any other amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carissacoghlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Carissa ,
Thank you for your review! The Garden tub room that you stayed in, is one of our most popular rooms.The TV is angled in the corner more to keep it a safe distance for the jetted tub. I am glad you had a chance to climb in the BIG Murphy's Rocking Chair to get your complimentary picture taken. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stephanie, behind the front desk, is great on the phone and great in person. We talked to a couple of other places before choosing MRL and they weren't nearly as hospitable. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The creek off the back porch is a perfect addition. We will stay again. Don't let Stephanie leave, she might deserve a raise. We stayed in room 104.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for your review! Stephanie is a really great staff member, and she loves helping our guest with all their needs. Thank you for your compliment on our clean rooms. We hope on your next visit to Estes Park you come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Thank you, Murphy's River Lodge, for everything: your perfect location: mere steps from Estes's main thoroughfare and your utter proximity to Rocky Mountain NP(!); for your wonderful staff (Stephanie & Annette are wonderful hosts); your immaculate rooms, generous breakfasts; meticulously cared for pool and hot-tub, and quiet, secure premises.
Thank you also for understanding that I don't travel to the Rockies from sea-level on the East Coast, to sit shut-up in a room with windows that don't open.
I am a robust organism; I don't require an hermetic seal!
Your answer to this is fully operational windows and, in certain instances, units that have outdoor sitting areas (porches), that open directly on to a river/stream.
I plan on hiking/camping in Badlands NP later this year, and also revisiting RMNP.
And you, of course. You will see me again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mollytuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for review! Thank you for all compliments on our lodge. We all work hard to make sure our guest are enjoying their stay with us. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again on your next trip to Estes Park .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have stayed in a few places in Estes, but this place is by far the best. We were there for one night for my daughters birthday. We got two rooms and both were very nice. My room had a kingsize bed with fireplace. My daughter and her friends shared a room with two queen size beds. The beds were very comfortable, I slept very well. The fireplace was perfect, they use duralogs that you can purchase at the front desk. Our room overlooked the river. It was so peaceful. The babbling song of the water put us in a fairytale like enviroment. One of the best things about the lodge is how close it is to downtown Estes. You can walk down to the main street(where everything is) in less then 5 minutes. The breakfest is so good, and coffee is fantastic. You could not ask for a more friendly staff. They go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is a good one. I will stay here again on my next trip to Estes Park!!

Room Tip: Stay in a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your review! Thank you for the many compliments. Our River rooms are very popular, and our River rooms that have fireplaces are always in hight demand. We look forward to you staying with us again next time you are in Estes Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Such a wonderful place, amazing setting, right on the river, beautiful clean rooms and a great staff. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you can. The continental breakfast is very nice and the host kept the room exceptionally clean. Everyone was so helpful and we love the picture in the giant chair. We will definitely come back. Thank you so much for making my daughter's birthday/Mother's day trip so wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank methweatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your review! I am happy you enjoyed your Daughter's birthday/ Mother's Day trip. Thank you for the compliment about Pam our breakfast attendant, she does a wonderful job making sure everything is kept stocked and clean for all our guest. We look forward to you returning and staying with again next time you are in Estes Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Such an awesome place!
The rooms are clean, tidy and comfy and are directly by the river.
The staff are great and so helpful.
It is located half a block away from the center of everything.
Friends visited from Boulder and the staff provided a grill for us to start a fire and we chilled all night by the river.

I would definitely come back again!

Check out the photos I posted.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Saleh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Saleh,
Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great talking with you and your father. I look forward to you returning and staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This property was a very nice place to stay! We chose to do a king room condo on the river as it was 3 adults and one 3 y/o. It was plenty of room for all of us, we had a little deck area off the back and the river was a few feet from it. It was nice to hear the water all evening and the following morning when we sat out to enjoy our coffee.
The condo had a king bed, pull out sofa (which my very particular sister didn't whine about the next morning, so I can only imagine it met her high standards!), fully stocked kitchenette (pots and pans, no food) and fireplace...such a wonderful room, the only downside was that it had an odor. We spoke to the property manager at breakfast (Doug) and he mentioned they had to replace some of the rooms carpeting when the floods occurred last Fall...so we think that may have been what it was. We enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub and were quite impressed with the continental breakfast.
I wish we had more time to enjoy a round of corn hole, but we took plenty of photos in their large rocking chair that was out front with the mountains in the back ground.

Room Tip: Depending on budget and pet needs, opt for a river room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Angie,
Thank you for your reviews! I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. The sofa sleepers in all of our bottom King River Condo just got replaced this month and I am happy to hear that they are comfortable. We look forward to you returning to Estes Park and staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.6 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
838 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,550 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $95 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing