We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cozy, comfortable and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, cozy, comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our second time to stay here. We enjoyed our experience here before so we decided to stay here again. The office staff is very friendly, both on the phone and in person. Our check-in and check-out went very smoothly. We loved the location with the river running behind the lodge. We chose a room on the river this time and enjoyed the sound of the river when we had our balcony door open. Our room this year seemed to have been recently updated and was very clean and cozy. The breakfast that was provided was all that we needed to start our day. The attendant there was very friendly and made sure that there was always enough food out and that the tables were cleaned after each guest left. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub after a day of hiking. The hot tub did not have strong jets, though. The picture in the giant rocking chair was a nice added touch.

Room Tip: We stayed in 209 which has a balcony overlooking the river, which is what we wanted. They called th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickles56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy you came back to stay with us again! I see you stayed in 209 , and like your comment this room is cozy and we have had families take both 209 & 210 because with 210s king bed and full size sofa sleeper and fireplace combining them can make a wonderful suite. Thank you for the compliments on our office staff and breakfast attendant. They work very hard to help make everyone stay enjoyable. We look forward to your third visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    256
    71
    19
    4
See reviews for
405
536
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This resort began renovations a couple years ago and they have done a good job. There are suites with kitchens, including some up/down lock offs which accommodate a family; also hotel rooms. The continental breakfast was as good as most hotels we have visited. A stream runs behind the property adding to the ambience. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location, just at the edge of town, is terrific. It is a short drive to Rocky Mtn National Park. There is a modest sized indoor pool which was enjoyed by our family. The prices were within the norm of the area. April 2013 was our 2nd visit and we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkers1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you came back to stay with us in April. Our River Condos are great for families that need the space of the upper and lower units that have the option of connecting . They also are very spacious as a single unit. We look forward to you returning for your third visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel location was perfect-steps away from downtown shops and restaurants and right on a picturesque rolling river. I loved falling asleep with the windows open, hearing the river. The front office staff was friendly, helpful with restaurant recommendations, and surprised us with a great keepsake photo. The complimentary breakfast was
lovely with tasty options. My only complaint was that my room was #208, located directly next to the breakfast room. Heavy-footed breakfast goers woke me up each morning. If you are a light sleeper try to get a different room. Other than that minor annoyance, my stay was great and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed getting your picture in our BIG Murphy's rocking chair! I am so glad our staff could help you with your needs.
Our River rooms are very popular, the river can be so relaxing. I hope on your next visit we have a lower level available and you will not hear the foot traffic in the mornings. We look forward to you coming back and staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
598 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about this place, except that we had a room overlooking the road, instead of the stream, and our bed was a little hard. The kids' bunks were comfy, and the surprise at checkout was a free picture in a huge Murphy's chair with a frame!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Next time you visit I hope one of our River rooms are available, They are very popular rooms. Sorry that you found the bed a little hard. We just put all new beds in all of our rooms two years ago. I am glad you enjoyed getting your framed picture in the BIG Murphy's rocking chair. We are looking forward to you coming back and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We lucked into getting a room at Murphy's River Lodge - with porch on the river. The room was exceptionally clean!! Front desk staff was very, very friendly and helpful. Centrally located to Park entrance and downtown. We will definitely stay at Murphy's when returning to Estes Park and we highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Check out the rooms with porches on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a wonderful housekeeping staff that works very to keep our rooms looking great. The office people always love to help you find great places to have fun and beautiful places to see. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northglenn, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I went there for a weekend over the 4th of July and loved it!! Rooms were big, beds were wonderful and the staff was great!! Very peaceful, easy access to Rocky Mountian National Park. This place was within walking distance of town which made it easy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorie6459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomer, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

There was nothing about Murphy's River Lodge that we did not like. The location was perfect, it is within walking distance to all the shops downtown. The rooms were beautiful and spotless with a deck overlooking the river. Great continental breakfast, the kitchen area was very large, clean, and well stocked, they never ran out of anything. The pool and hot tub area was wonderful. I can not say enough about the service. Meredith, the front desk girl was extremely friendly and the managers Annette and Doug went out of there way to make sure our stay was wonderful. They are very nice people and hard workers. We are looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! Meredith, Doug, and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to have a nice variety of items on our continental breakfast to help everyone start their day. We are looking forward to you returning to Colorado and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing