We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Murphy's Lodge Exceeded Our Expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Galesburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Murphy's Lodge Exceeded Our Expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved the accommodations, and while we were waiting for our relatives to get ready to walk into town, we relaxed on our private deck, which was just eight feet from the beautiful Fall River. We saw lots of elk who came down to drink. The kitchen units were spotless, and grills were provided. The continental breakfast was fresh, and the dining room was very pleasant. The prices are competitive, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and we already booked our stay for next year! :)

Room Tip: Most rooms are on the river, so the only noise we heard was the soothing sound of water. Staying in...
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle, so we were happy about that, and we appreciated the reuse a towel policy. It is better for the lovely environment.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Cathy, Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our King River Condos are very popular with the fireplace, kitchen and private decks over looking the river. We look forward to you coming back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    247
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
389
519
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Yes, as some have commented, Murphy's is more in the style of a "motel" than a lodge. I think they have done an excellent job with updating the rooms and making the best of what they have to work with. The beds and linens are nicer than most. I am particularly picky about pillows and I found theirs to be very comfortable. The window air conditioner could have been quieter, but overall, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The managers were very friendly and helpful and the attendant at breakfast was also anxious to help. The proximity to both Estes Park and RMNP is very convenient. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for the review. We Just recently have replaced all our beds and linens. The owner picked out high quality items when he replaced everything. We have been receiving a lot of compliments on our soft beds and pillows. We look forward to you returning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

A stay at Murphy's River Lodge is like staying with friends or family. This log cabin motif hotel is centrally located near downtown Estes Park, CO and is within a few steps of one of the town's free shuttle routes an only a few miles from the National Forest entrance and the famous Stanley Hotel (inspiration for Stephen King's "The Shining"). The rooms are not fancy but very comfortable and clean. The Murphy River Lodge staff goes out of their way to come around and greet you at their complimentary breakfast and even takes a group photo of your party before you leave, sending you home with a framed memento of your trip. They have an extensive video collection that is free to guests as well as an indoor pool and hot tub. Make sure to sit by the river for an early evening recoup with a bottle of wine (BYOB) before dinner. A little campy but a very clean and friendly place. Give it a try!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeisterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your Review! We try to help our guest have a great stay with us and want them to feel like they are staying with friends or family. We enjoy meeting all our guest and hearing about their plans for the day. Sitting by the river is a favorite place of guests to relax and have wine or read a book. We look forward to you coming back and staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris,France and New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Even if it is near Estes Park, the price is too much for what the so-called lodge is really...Expect old dark furniture and noise from your neighbors, as there is no isolation neither from your sides or even from downstairs ! We were in a " upper condo " on the first floor and hoped for a quiet room and a nice 4 days stay - no luck, and anyway your bed is just on the opposite side of the open hallway !! Bad idea indeed, as the room has a small but lovely and welcome balcony overlooking the river ( first good mark )
The "kitchenette" consisted of the tiniest microwave I ever saw and a cheap small ugly fridge right behind the door - no proper sink, a few paper plates and plastic spoons !!!
And think of the depressing dark decoration and looking so used dark brown carpet...On top of it, we even had a leak in the tiny bathroom sink...Forget the breakfast as well, unless you only eat sugared stuff and HARD-BOILED eggs ( ??? !!!! ) Forget the ugly bedroom, but remember the second ( and only ! ) good mark : the managers work so hard to help customers and are both very devoted to that place. They just cannot change the " saddening " atmosphere of an old looking MOTEL, motel rather than a " lodge " - yes, you park right in front of your room...That " lodge " needs a decorator when despite the managers and the price, EVERYTHING there says : " cheap "
Also : Internet works very poorly inside rooms, and the A/C unit is weak and/OR very noisy !!!
I am sorry to have to write a bad review, but I am trying to be honest when I compare what you get at Murphy's Lodge by respect to other hotels, lodges or even motels for around $200 a night...

Room Tip: Balconys on the river are the only good feature of the upper rooms.Just remember that "1 bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 446Froggie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We do agree on one thing that I have excellent managers. Annette and Doug are doing a great job and really care about our guests having a nice stay. I don't understand why a person would complain about having a 3 year old mini refrig and a microwave in their room? If you wanted a full size kitchen our lower condos should have been your choice. The complaint about the continential breakfast just shows that you don't know what a continential breakfast is.
A continential breakfast is coffee and a roll. We provide a free continential breakfast composed of cereral, bagels,danish rolls,english muffins,fruit,oatmeal,toast,milk,juice,coffee and yogurt all for free. Regarding the leak - We will always take care of a plumbing problem ASAP once we are notified of issue. Regarding the wifi - If you are having a problem we will contact our service and find out what problem is and get it fixed. You just have to let us know !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Thanks to TripAdvisor, I chose to stay at Murphy's Lodge over classic chain hotels with good reputation that I usually prefer. I was a good choice, I had a very good experience with this lodge, and for sure I will return some day.

Mihai Avram

Room Tip: By the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabuvonLugoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the Great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to you coming back to Estes Park and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff at Murphy's River Lodge were fantastic. My wife and I travel quite often and we were treated better than most places we have ever been, literally like family. The atmosphere was awesome with elk grazing in the grass on the property within 10 feet of us as we sat in the commons area - it was kind of surealistic, and the river flows right through the property. The room was clean and spacious. They have a free continental breakfast that is second to none. The location of this little gem is perfect. My wife and I also got a complimentary picture of us in the big rocking chair. We will definitely be back to stay here again. Well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyPah-zing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We love talking with our guest and helping them feel at home during their stay with us. I am also glad you got to enjoy seeing the elk while you stayed with us. We are looking forward to you returning and staying again with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our first trip to Estes Park and RMNP last year so much, we decided to come back this year and stay in town instead of on the outskirts. Murphy's River Lodge was the perfect spot! Our room was spacious and quiet, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast started our day off right and we really enjoyed the hot tub after our long hikes in RMNP. Kids really seemed to have a good time in the indoor heated pool. The hotel is just far enough out of town to be away from the hustle and bustle of the charming town's crowded streets, but close enough to walk for great meals, shopping, and mingling. Avid hikers, we enjoyed being able to walk to the Lake Estes area for all the festive July 4th activities and fireworks (another good reason to visit EP). The staff is very friendly. If we return for a third year, this will be our hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discodev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I am glad you enjoyed your room and the beds. We get a lot of compliments on our new beds. I am also glad you took sometime to relax in our hot tub and indoor heated pool area and got to enjoy all the shops and restaurants Estes Park has to offer. We look forward to you returning and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing