We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed our first trip to Estes Park and RMNP last year so much, we decided to come back this year and stay in town instead of on the outskirts. Murphy's River Lodge was the perfect spot! Our room was spacious and quiet, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast started our day off right and we really enjoyed the hot tub after our long hikes in RMNP. Kids really seemed to have a good time in the indoor heated pool. The hotel is just far enough out of town to be away from the hustle and bustle of the charming town's crowded streets, but close enough to walk for great meals, shopping, and mingling. Avid hikers, we enjoyed being able to walk to the Lake Estes area for all the festive July 4th activities and fireworks (another good reason to visit EP). The staff is very friendly. If we return for a third year, this will be our hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discodev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for the great review! I am glad you enjoyed your room and the beds. We get a lot of compliments on our new beds. I am also glad you took sometime to relax in our hot tub and indoor heated pool area and got to enjoy all the shops and restaurants Estes Park has to offer. We look forward to you returning and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
There are newer reviews for Murphy's River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We traveled to meet our daughter, son-in-law, and infant granddaughter in Estes Park for the wedding of our daughter's medical school pal. We were to be the sitters while the events were happening. Murphy's Lodge people recommended a pair of rooms which were separate, yet shared a lockable door to the outside. Not like a room with a shared door between the rooms, separate doors into each room plus the locking outside door. We could walk between our rooms, put our granddaughter in her bed for naps/the night and have complete privacy for everyone.
The rooms were unique, comfortable, and clean. The staff was very friendly and most helpful. We asked about places to eat and hiking trails. Great recommendations with thorough descriptions.
We were able to walk to town without any trouble.
The continental breakfast was good with some of the best coffee in a normal sized mug I've had in a place that offers 'free' breakfast.
We had rooms on the first floor next to the the river. It gave us perfect white noise listening to the rushing water. Each of our rooms had a door leading to a private deck with a table and 2 chairs. Great place to sit and read between events. There were grills near the outside deck on which we could have grilled dinner.

Room Tip: Call and talk to the desk. With pre planning, they can make good recommendations. Many have outdoo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank closch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have some unique rooms that each have something special about them. We hope you can come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at Murphy's River Lodge, we felt like we had just been transported to the seventh circle of hell. Herein lies the problem- we were required to book a minimum three night stay at $160 a night. I was relying on TripAdvisor's "good" ratings and tried to keep an open mind given that Estes Park is a tiny tourist-trap of a town, but really, this was about a $49 a night room. As others have stated, it's just a very old motor inn which has been renovated VERY cheaply. Even though the place was remodeled in the past couple of years, the whole place just looks very tired already. The room was just very dark and depressing and despite very good neighbors, noise is an issue. I had hoped that at the very least it would be a decent place to get a good night's rest, but to me the beds weren't comfortable.

I understand management's desire to cut down on waste, but the community soda and shower supplies are kind of gross when you think about what the person before you might have done to them.

Had I payed $49 a night, my review may have been fair/poor instead of terrible, but there is just no way I would consider this place good by ANY stretch of the imagination. We left a day early despite the fact that we had paid so much because it was so disappointing. I have noticed management's habit of responding to negative reviews with their explanations or excuses, and I think they probably would respond to issues if a traveler brought it to their attention, so I guess that's good. All in all I just felt like I was robbed at such a high price for such modest (in my personal opinion- terrible) accomodations. Breakfast was acceptable, so that's good. Overall I wouldn't go anywhere near this place again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Best Location in Estes Park. A quick walk into the middle of the town and a few miles away from the Rocky Mountain National Park. The staff was very accommodating to any of my families needs and the rooms were clean and my wife loved the soft queen size beds. My kids wanted to go to the pool instead of hiking in the park.... We compromised half of the day in the park and the afternoon at the pool when the daily showers arrived! It's also nice to wake up to a and have breakfast waiting for you. Highly recommend the Murphy's River Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeleMiketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your great review! I am glad your wife enjoyed the beds, we get a lot of compliments on them. I am happy your children loved our indoor heated pool and our complimentary Continental breakfast is a big hit. We hope you can come back and stay with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely LOVED my stay at Murphy's River Lodge! Doug, Annette and Meredith are all very easy to work with and go out of their way to make your stay an awesome one. Rooms are clean, nice amenities and great beds! If you are on the river, you can sleep to its lovely song. Nice pool, hot tub and great continental breakfast! I highly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savepets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your great review! I am glad you LOVED your stay with us. Meredith, Doug and I are always happy to help make our guests stay an enjoyable experience. Our river rooms are very popular. We look forward to you staying with us again!

Annette Ypma
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

On our vacation to Rocky Mountain NP, we found this great hotel online; I cannot say enough about the hotel; the online description was accurate and pictures looked like they were taken from our room which was right on the river as advertised. We were a short walk to the center of town with the stop for the free shuttle right across the street from the hotel. You are right on the route to RMNP so it was easy to go into the Park. The management staff was professional, informative, helpful, and a delight to chat with. WE WOULD NOT HESITATE TO STAY THERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: the rooms on the river, we had first floor, there is a second floor set of rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ and Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your great review! Our river rooms are very popular. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you coming and staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The property was clean, well manicured. The rooms were large, GREAT beds and very clean. Breakfast was good and offered everything you need. The manager was polite and helpful. The hotel was within walking distance to downtown Estes Park which is great since there is limited parking in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have received a lot of compliments on our new beds and our complimentary continental breakfast. We look forward to you coming back and staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
814 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $125 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing