We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious experience close to downtown Estes Park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious experience close to downtown Estes Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely LOVED my stay at Murphy's River Lodge! Doug, Annette and Meredith are all very easy to work with and go out of their way to make your stay an awesome one. Rooms are clean, nice amenities and great beds! If you are on the river, you can sleep to its lovely song. Nice pool, hot tub and great continental breakfast! I highly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savepets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I am glad you LOVED your stay with us. Meredith, Doug and I are always happy to help make our guests stay an enjoyable experience. Our river rooms are very popular. We look forward to you staying with us again!

Annette Ypma
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    225
    64
    15
    3
See reviews for
344
464
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

On our vacation to Rocky Mountain NP, we found this great hotel online; I cannot say enough about the hotel; the online description was accurate and pictures looked like they were taken from our room which was right on the river as advertised. We were a short walk to the center of town with the stop for the free shuttle right across the street from the hotel. You are right on the route to RMNP so it was easy to go into the Park. The management staff was professional, informative, helpful, and a delight to chat with. WE WOULD NOT HESITATE TO STAY THERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: the rooms on the river, we had first floor, there is a second floor set of rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: you could save/decline on daily towel and sheet change, as well as maid service.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ and Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review! Our river rooms are very popular. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you coming and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The property was clean, well manicured. The rooms were large, GREAT beds and very clean. Breakfast was good and offered everything you need. The manager was polite and helpful. The hotel was within walking distance to downtown Estes Park which is great since there is limited parking in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have received a lot of compliments on our new beds and our complimentary continental breakfast. We look forward to you coming back and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had the most wonderful experience while visiting the National Park. The staff at the front desk was very friendly, courteous, and so helpful..Our room,which was spacious and immaculate overlooked the river..This was a great location within walking distance to town and just minutes to the Rocky Mountain National Park. Continental breakfast was good, with great coffee and a lovely dining area. There was an indoor pool and clean laundry room as well. This is definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the running river..There are bbq's and tables to eat outside your door.Take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the great Review. Our staff, both in the office and housekeeping, do a great job to make sure everything is perfect for our guest. We are glad you enjoyed the coffee and continental breakfast to start your day. We hope you can come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

For the price, location, cleanliness this place can't be beat! Staff was friendly! Breakfast was good! Enjoyed sitting by river! Grandson enjoyed the indoor pool! The room was spotless! Had a walk in shower! Beds were comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurseokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are happy you and your grandson enjoyed your stay. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a great place to stay while visiting Estes Park. Close to downtown. Within walking distance to dining and shopping. Only short drive to RMNP! The room we had was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. The employees and managers of the property were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was well stocked with everything we needed to start our day. I stayed here with my husband and 12 year old daughter and we wished we could have stayed longer. When we returned from sight seeing each night our daughter swam in the indoor pool. I would definitely stay at Murphys River Lodge again. My husband and I saw a huge Elk resting under a pine tree about 1 block up the street on our early morning walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy11166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your room and found the employee and myself friendly and helpful. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We made a last minute trip to Estes without reservations and were treated to a wonderful experience at Murphy's resort. My name is Murphy and we were driving up Fall River Rd when we spot Murphy's resort...of course we had to stop and see what was available. What we found were great accommodations, friendly staff and good value!! Our room was right on the river, the beds are great, the facility is clean and modern, the continental breakfast (more continental plus extras) is actually really good and a great location; a few miles up the road is RMNP or a quick trolley ride to town (2 minutes).

Give this place your business!!

Room Tip: rooms on the north side of the complex open to the river..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murph1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you were able to spend time at Murphy's River Lodge on your visit to Estes Park. How nice to have a Murphy staying at Murphy's! We hope you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#3 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,947 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing