We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a lovely and cathartic experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“This was a lovely and cathartic experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a wonderful rustic, yet modern, lodge with a family charm as well as a romanticism for couples.

The staff is very courteous, attentive, and
knowledgable of the area. A lodge for both the city dweller and those experienced with mountain living.

You can walk into town, go on a hike, or Rocky Mountain National Park and other mountainous, secluded areas are just a short drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MooreInnovation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for your feedback ! Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    247
    70
    19
    4
See reviews for
389
519
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Really nice amenities, accommodating staff, and beautiful rooms. Something about Murphy's River Lodge lets you know that you really matter as a guest. The rooms are great; mini frig, microwave, usable fireplace, big bathroom, heated indoor pool... One of the best continental breakfasts that I've ever had. And it's because you can tell the management cares. Not just about the bottom line, but about you and your stay. I would recommend this lodge based on it's location, ease of service and views alone... but what really made our stay great was how all the little details added up to make this a unforgettable stay in Estes Park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback. Bruce does a great job with our Continental Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I found a Groupon for Murphy's River Lodge in Estes Park, Colorado and immediately called a friend of mine and told her we had to book it - it was so affordable! I figured we couldn't possibly go wrong, and I was right. My friend and I had a great time and I was particularly impressed with how accommodating the staff was - Loretta and Steven were SO helpful. Our flight got in after the main office closed and they worked with us to make sure we could get into our room safely and soundly. The next day, they gave us a great itinerary and we ended up having a great time using their suggestions. My friend and I would definitely return for another stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We love having our friends from Texas stay with us ! Thanks for great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a great two night stay. Thought the weather was chilly the atmosphere was very warm and comfortable. The first night was spent with several of the other guest in the great room watching the Super Bowl. Beer, Wine, and Pizza was provided by the Lodge. What a wonderful fun experience. Interacting with the other guests gave the mini vacation a warm feel and as we wandered around the town we would periodically bump into some of the other lodge guests, making the trip seem like you had friends with you. This would not have been possible had it not been for Bruce and Loretta getting everyone together for the party. The beds were comfy and the room was large with great windows. The hot tub and pool were super!!! The entire property was very clean and relaxing. Thank you to Bruce, Loretta, and the other lodge guests that help make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Bruce and Loretta are the best !!! Thanks for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a fun time we had. Stayed two nights in a 'King river room' - even though it was frozen it was still a great setting for the view of the mountains. We arrived Super Bowl sunday - Bruce and Loretta hosted a beer/wine/pizza party in the greatroom for lodge guests to gather and watch the game! What a fun time! The beer was cold the pizza hot and tasty and the Raven won! Bruce and Loretta were very good about introducing everyone so no one felt like a stranger. The weather was good. We took in the park, saw some wildlife. Enjoyed the hot tub, pool and the complimentary wine! We will go back for sure! Thanks for a memorable time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Bruce and Loretta always do a great job of making people feel welcome. Thanks for great review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just got back from spending a weekend in Estes Park, staying at Murphy's River Lodge. We really enjoyed it. We had a king room on the creek with a fireplace. The room was quite large and the setup was nice. The bed felt separate from the living area (there was no physical divider but there were two separate areas). There was a nice area where we could put all our outdoor gear so it wasn't in the way. The patio was quite large, too. We used the community propane grill to cook dinner one night (bring a flashlight to see while cooking) and enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub and heated pool (go after 8:00 to miss the family rush). The location couldn't be beat. We were far enough from the main area of town that it was quiet but we were close enough that we could walk to shops, ice skating, and dinner. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmorRana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Estes Park and stayed at Murphy's River Lodge, located just beyond Downtown Estes. We enjoyed the location - within walking distance to restaurants and shops; the amenities - free continental breakfast, free movie rentals from the office, hot tub/pool on premise; and the staff - friendly and helpful. Other than a slow draining sink and the walls seeming a bit "thin" (or maybe the neighbors were a bit "loud" ;), the room was satisfactory and served its purpose. Didn't have to go far to view numerous impressive male elk, which were hanging out right across the street! Don't miss the HUGE chair out front for a fun picture.

Room Tip: Avoid room 206, if you like to keep your window shades open, as it is located right next door to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTRBEETLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. The large rocking chair is always a lot of fun for our guests. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing