We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Murphy's River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Discovery Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$215
$190
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Estes Park Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$259
$251
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Hotel(Estes Park)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estes(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StoneBrook Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Moon Inn(Estes Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak To Peak Lodge(Estes Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveler rating
938
292
78
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
292
78
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastbig chairindoor pool and hot tubwalking distance to downtownhard boiled eggsyogurtgreat place to stayking bedthe breakfast areadvd playercomfortable roomdefinitely stay here againfull kitchensaw elkgreat roomfront officeto rocky mountain national park
Filter
Updating list...
922 - 927 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We chose to stay at Murphy's River Lodge on our first trip to Estes Park because of the great reviews and the deal they were running--$99/night, plus a bottle of wine in the room. We arrived a bit earlier than the check-in time, but our room was ready so we were able to drop off our things. the front desk host was extremely friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the mini fridge in the room was a great touch for keeping some snacks--we were told town closed up early, so we made sure to stock up. It was a very quick walk to all the shops in downtown Estes, and it was luckily a very nice and relatively warm day when we got in. The walk back at night was almost too cold for me, so plan ahead if you visit in the winter!
The coffee during breakfast was very good, and though the breakfast offered was great, it was a bit more basic than we were in the mood for. Luckily, down the block there's a great spot for breakfast. The only hiccup in our stay was that when we went to the front office's DVD lending library, there was no one there. It was a bit late so it was really my fault, but make sure that if you want to borrow a movie you do so earlier in the day. Excellent stay and we will definitely recommend this place to friends!

Room Tip: I recommend the upgrade to a river room, especially the hot tub room if it is available!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank znation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for the great review. Please come back again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we didnt plan to be in estes on new years but thats where found ourselves, we couldnt find a room, we stopped at murphys river lodge to check prices and availibility, loretta was working the desk and we instantly fell in love with her and felt so welcomed, she had a room availible but she said it wasnt huge or special, we said that would be fine with us, we got our keys and went to the room and holy cow, small room and not fancy?? this room took my breath away seriously it did, it was big the bed was huge and soft the room was warm and inviting, never have we had a room like this anywhere for the price we were charged, we stayed in a 5 star hotel once and it didnt have anything above ours at murphys lodge, we were close to town, we had horse rides across the street at a historical lodge, we shopped and ate well, went to our room which was on the ground level and made it easy for my wife to get to it, we met loretta and bruce and thanked them for operating such a well maintained hotel, we enjoyed our evening and the new years experiance, we splept and woke up to the best nights sleep ive had in years, the bed was comforatable and the pillows, one firm and one feather, great combo, we went for the morning breakfast and planned on a simple layout as is in every hotel breakfast wow there was so much to eat and all kinds of varietys to choose from, they even had boiled eggs, who does that any more?? our total experiance at murphys river lodge was amazing, truly the best new years weve spent together, they truly care about thier guests and become part of your lives while you stay we now have a place to return to when vacationing that we trust and feel at home, the rooms are so clean to, towels fresh sheets fresh and you can turn up your heat to what ever you want, plenty of hot water, we had no issues what so ever, if you want an affordable lodging experiance stay here, youll enjoy yourselves as we did, thanx loretta and bruce we will be back, ps also my wife enjoyed the view of old man mountain from our room window

Room Tip: main floor rooms are easier if you have troubles walking or such
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodgear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for the great review. I have the best managers and I appreciate your comments !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I just stayed at Murphy's River Lodge and had an amazing time! The customer service was as good as it gets, they were very responsive to all of our needs and questions, the room was fantastic, and the breakfast was great. We brought our dog along and still had a great pet-friendly room with plenty of space and a HUGE balcony. They have dozens of DVDs that they let you use for free and had lots of suggestions for things to do around town. Overall, a really great place!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bwatkins88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for the nice review. We decided a year ago to open up some of our rooms as dog friendly and we have really had some great guests stay with us. Come back again !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

stayed two nights breakfast is about as good as it gets for a 2 star (frankly this property should be ranked 2 1/2 ) constuction was going on in 117 and 217 workmen due to emergency repairs showing up at 8 am but they were a quiet as they could be i was shocked since all units are non smoking that A repairman was smoking a cigar as he worked guests get fined smoking in a UNIT if feels like to repair /remodel non smoking units the workers should be held to same non smoking standards as guests! enuf for rant on a repair that will shortly end ,,, units are well maintained if i had really streach for comments only to help property get its next 1/2 star another room light or larger bulbs (only 2 in main unit bath light was excellent) and 2nd chair computer desk could use a power cord so one wouldnt need to unplug coffee pot to plug in computer ... Again these are minor improvement suggestions I would stay here again we are talking minor improvements to get the well deserved # 4 a higher rating

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seniortvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for the review. We are going to improve the lighting and next time you come back you will see the difference. Thanks for the positive suggestion!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Had a great experience here for two nights. Brought our dog in a pet friendly room which was great. The free wifi and breakfast are above expectations. Heated pool was a treat!

Only complaint is walls are very thin and we had a crying baby next to us and the bathrooms are Pretty small.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meaganalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for staying with us. If you ever have a problem with noise please let our manager know and we will move you to another room if possible. Come again !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews