We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Murphy's River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Discovery Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak To Peak Lodge(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$215
$190
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Estes Park Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$259
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Estes(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Appenzell Inn(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StoneBrook Resort(Estes Park)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Hotel(Estes Park)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,330)
Filter reviews
1,330 results
Traveler rating
936
292
78
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
936
292
78
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastbig chairindoor pool and hot tubwalking distance to downtownhard boiled eggsyogurtgreat place to stayking bedthe breakfast areadvd playercomfortable roomdefinitely stay here againfull kitchensaw elkgreat roomfront officeto rocky mountain national park
Filter
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 1,330 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A great location, friendly staff and clean rooms, but a bit outdated. Although there is a kitchen they don't provide adequate cooking pans or basics like cooking oil that most places do.. It is also a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

I read your review and we are going to start leaving cooking oil in each of our lower Condos from now on. We are also going to purchase additional baking pans for each unit. Thank you for helping us become a Lodge that continues to strive to be the best..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very happy with our stay here.

Pros:
VERY comfy beds with crisp white duvets- loved sleeping here!
Spacious, super clean rooms with fridge/microwave, flatscreen, dvd player, etc.
Nice modern decor
Great free breakfast in a nice dining room!
Very friendly and helpful staff, extremely accommodating
Nice pool and hot tub
Outdoor fireplace area by the river with chairs and a grill
Free DVD library- we watched two movies on chilly nights :)
Competitive price for the area
Good location- near shops and restaurants

Cons
A little close to the main road, but the rooms are still very quiet.
Shampoo and soap was just so-so quality, but I always bring my own, so not a problem!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain/river view if you can. 2nd floor seems nicer.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BK_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thanks for your comments. We have decided to go green when possible at Murphy's and the soap and shampoo dispensers prevent us from having to throw away thousands of partially used containers. We do have some bottles at front desk if you request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I visited Estes Park for the second weekend in September. This was our second visit to Murphy's River Lodge. We took are dogs with us this visit. The staff are excellent and the room was very clean. There are two pet friendly areas and one area has picnic tables (no shade). We stayed in a room on the lower level on the right side. We could hear footsteps each time someone walked up the stairs to the second floor. We did hear footsteps above us during the night the first night but not the second night. The hotel was full both nights. I could hear the shower in the next room between the bathroom wall in the morning. Other than some noise, we slept well in the comfortable bed. The breakfast was better this year than last year and the coffee was excellent. If you are traveling without pets, I would request a room in the center area with river view. This is not as close to the road. The location is just short walk west of town, so you don't have to worry about trying to find parking in town. It is a very short drive to the entrance to the park.

Room Tip: The walls are thin, so bring earplugs. Try to book early and get a river view room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We always look forward to seeing our repeat customers. Thanks for your support !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and six year old son and I spent the weekend in Estes Park, lodging in one of the creekside condo units at Murphy's River Lodge. Our accomodations were comfortable and charming. The full kitchen was well equipped and allowed us to enjoy the comforts of "dining in" with our little boy who still finds eating at restaurants more tedious than entertaining. The creek was lovely right outside our door and the walking path across the creek provided a scenic five minute walk into town. Every employee we interracted with, including the manager was pleasant and helpful and friendly. With a young child, we are compelled to swim, regardless of weather conditions, wherever we stay, so having an indoor pool was a nice thing to have on a cold and windy October weekend. This is a lovely lodging choice in a convenient location in charming Estes Park.

Room Tip: Creekside condo room was wonderful!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thanks for your feedback !! We keep our pool warm so that the kids can really enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Murphy's the last weekend of October and had a great trip! It was a cold, snowy weekend in Estes Park so we called last minute and upgraded to a room with a fireplace without any troubles. The staff was very polite and our room was clean and ready when we arrived. We had a great stay, zero complaints. The town of Estes Park is great and Murphy's location is perfect. We hope to return on our next trip to Colorado. Very romantic setting!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thanks for staying with us !!!! We always appreciate the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews