We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, wonderful experience!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Had a great experience and would recommend to others! Close to downtown and beautiful views.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamilynnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    266
    74
    19
    5
See reviews for
415
548
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Murphy's River Lodge was a wonderful place to stay. We really enjoyed the pool and the spa. Great couple of days to get away and enjoy the mountains. Very close walk to downtown Estes. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and had a fridge and microwave in it which was not expected but really nice to have. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed at Murphys River Lodge over New Years Eve. The location was great, walking distance to downtown Estes Park. The rooms were a good size and also very updated and clean. There was also a clean pool and hot tub which was nice for a winter vacation. I have no complaints and cant think of anything else youd want for a place to stay in Estes Park.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovethemountains9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We went for new years eve night and it was great! We had the king room on the river and it was beautiful. The room was big, nice and clean. The lodge is Walking distance to all the shops and restaurants which is a huge perk. Definitely will be going there the next time I stay in Estes.

Room Tip: The room on the river is great and worth it. You get a great patio deck right along the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel is at the end of the 'strip' but the town is very small and we had no trouble walking everywhere. Being right next to the river was fabulous. The rooms are somewhat dark but very clean, and the balcony is dark and dank. The indoor pool is warm, but it is too humid. The breakfast is fair. In late June, the hummingbirds are everywhere!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at Murphy's River Lodge on 11/25 when Estes Park had their "Catch the Glow" parade. What a magical time we had. The rooms are beautiful and very nicely updated. Everything is clean, clean, clean! The bed was comfy & cozy too. The staff at the front desk was very nice & helpful. We were even able to get a nice log for the beautiful fireplace that we had in our room! We look forward to staying here again and will always recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We bought a, "Living Social" deal for Thanksgiving weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was very cozy with a fireplace, full kitchen, king bed, and deck overlooking the river and the occasional grazing elk! We received a free bottle of wine in our room which was pristine as well as extra time in the hot tub after it was officially supposed to be closed. The owners are very friendly and it is a very "home-like" not "hotel-like" atmosphere. It was a couple blocks from the main downtown area and very accessible. I would recommend this place to couples, families, as well as business and solo travelers.

Room Tip: The rooms with the patio and fireplace really add to the mountain ambiance -- especially when you lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,449 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing