We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely People”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The staff went out of their way to be helpful. We were given a room with a balcony and lovely view. When another guest asked where there was a liquor store, they insisted he take a bottle of wine that they had. Room was clean and comfortable, free WiFi, breakfast was what we would have had at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmw_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    256
    71
    19
    4
See reviews for
405
536
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sachse, Texas, USA
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2011

we found the lodge while driving around town. noticed it was right on the river and each unit had a deck so we could sit out and enjoy it. the recently updated room was very comfortable, quiet and clean. planned to stay only 1 night but liked it so much--we stayed a 2nd night! walked into town for the excellent shopping and drove a short drive and we were in RMNP. very convenient place to stay to enjoy all that Estes Park has to offer. Loretta and the staff were very helpful in making sure our stay was perfect and also by suggesting restaurants and other sights to see.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ronjul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Nice, quiet place along the river. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Just on the edge of town with a 10 minute walk to get to the center of town. No need to drive thru town to get to the Rocky Mountain National Park. It's only 5-10 miles away from two enterences to the park. Continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend in July 2011. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff was helpful. It's location was convenient and we could walk a few minutes into town for dinner. Beyond that, there was nothing special about this place. We were there a week and the plastic cups in the room were never replenished (glass, anyone?). There was no towel rack for the sink located in the room (no sink in the tiny bathroom). The balcony was tiny and the chairs were uncomfortable. The parking lot is cramped, with cars scattered everywhere. The breakfast is blah with no hot food options and doesn't start until 7 AM.

This was a decent place to stay, but I would try somewhere else if I returned to Estes Park.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank boboli_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
The unit that you stayed in now has a new deck that our guests have really been enjoying. Regarding the cups --We use prepackaged cups to insure that our guests always have clean and sanitary drinking cups. if you need anything our House keeping staff will always be happy to help you out. Regarding parking -- Our lot has been striped and people just park in their space. We are very busy and normally sell out during the summer which means are lots will be full.
Regarding our Continental Breakfast --- We are not a licensed kitchen and do not prepare hot meals per Health Dept rules. We do provide coffee,tea,milk,juice,cereral,fruit,yogurt,toast,bagels and danish rolls. If you require a hot breakfast Estes Park has many fine restaurants that we will be happy to recommend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We had a ground level condo on the river. The kitchen had everything you needed and a full size stove and fridge. Grill outside by the river with picnic tables. Rooms were spotless and I loved the laundry room-so handy. We didn't use the pool but it looked very clean also. Owners were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fresh and easily accessed. This is an excellent base for seeing Rocky Mountain National Park and within easy driving range of several other towns including Boulder, Denver and Colorado Springs. You can also walk to the shops in Estes Park. A lovely trip and a nice place to stay!

Room Tip: The ground level is a little noisy if you have upstairs neighbors, the floors are wooden and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrass18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 children. The room was large, clean and comfortable. We had a 2nd floor room on the river with a great back deck. The pool and hot tub were great and the breakfast in the morning was more than adequate.

This hotel is within walking distance to downtown and many restaurants and shopping. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieB27502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Where do I start, my life has been full of drama and challenges but during my stay at Murphy's River Lodge all of those negative feelings vanished into the Rocky Mountain thin air. I was very surprized and pleased about the size of the room, it's cleanliness and how comfortable the bed was. The surroundings were very clean and quiet and the inviting flow of the river behind the room managed to take additional stess away. The managers were very friendly and helpful, they even introduced me to their one month old granddaughter. The breakfast area was clean and answered all of my expectations of a continental breakfast and more. The Lodge was close enough to town to engage in a nice walk to town. I have spent many a night travelling this country and I must say that this place met every one of my expectations. I cannot wait to return, it was very difficult to leave. Thanks for a great time. Gary D. Pueblo, Colorado

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#6 of 29 in Estes Park
454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing