We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We go to Estes every year and this year we chose this place, and we weren't disappointed! Nice quiet area, very close to downtown, which means no hassle finding a place to park!! Staff is very accommodating and friendly. Pool/hot tub area is indoors and very nice. Rooms are very comfortable and nice size and layout. LOVED the decks that were steps away from Fall River. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view or close to Fall River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Good points:

Superb bed. Very large, and very comfortable. Slept very well.
Good size room
Friendly lady running the place
Near town centre.

Less good points.
Stayed in a river view room. You do get a view of the river - and the building site on the other side. Even in a river view room, your main window looks out over the car park.
Sounds insulation very poor
You get a microwave - but no cutlery
There is no light by the wardrobe - hard to see
Bathroom small - fine for me, and no mirror

Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank LondonDarjeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The managers and staff were very friendly and helpful. And they were great to visit with. We had great service. Our room was nice sized for the 2 of us and we really like the view we had. Location was ideal and very convenient for walking to the downtown area. Breakfast was a good start for the day . Great coffee. Enjoyed sitting outside and visiting with other guests. Very nice pool. We would highly reccomend this place and we willl definatley go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We arrived hours ahead of our scheduled check-in and were pleasantly surprised that we were allowed to get settled in. The rooms have all been recently updated and ours was very clean and comfortable. The back porch was a nice place to sit and enjoy our breakfast. We would often open up both back doors and let the sound of the river sooth us for a quick rest. It is walking distance from the main street of Estes Park. On the downside, we got lost from vague directions from the staff but luckily the people of Estes park are quite friendly and eager to help guide you in the right direction of this small town. Also, a pair of socks from perhaps the previous guests were missed and left for us to find them hidden under the bed. The pool was a great kid attraction but no comfy chairs for the parents constantly getting splashed in the small pool room. For the money, it was an overall good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colie1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We found this place by accident...needed a place to stay before hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park. The accomodations were clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. The best part was seeing an elk across the stream out back of the lodge...and we didn't even see any while hiking!! Close to town--eat at Wapati in town, close and yummy! We will definitely stay here when we return to Estes Park!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Suzanne53401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We staid there one night, before visiting RMNP the following day. The location was perfect for us. We were able to park our car in the parking lot and then go visit Estes Park with no worries.
Our room was on the ground floor, we did not have a river view. The room was spacious enough, with a convenient desk. The Wifi connection worked perfectly while we were there. The king bed was very comfortable. You could see the room was remodeled , and we liked the decor. The bathroom was on the small side, but that was not an issue for us. The only downside was that the AC was so noisy we could not make it work. Lucky for us, it was not hot, so the lack of it was not painful. In the morning, breakfast was served 10 minutes later than advertised because the responsible person was over the phone handling a reservation. She apologised and then opened quickly the breakfast area. Breakfast was ok , served in a room overlooking the pool area. We dined at Dave Smoking BBQ and were thrilled by their brisket.
All in all, we enjoyed our one night stay there, and we would not hesitate to return. Staff is attentive and they like their guests to give them feedback on their stay so they constantly know valuable information to help them content the clients. For me, it is important for a hotel to show they care, and it was the case here.

Room Tip: Enjoy the very comfortable mattresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrekkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed for one night on 7/28/2011 and had a great time, enjoyed the view of the river out back, location from down town was in walking distance, love to get up early and go walking! The continental breakfast was good to start the day and even had a bear get into the trash can downstairs the next day. Thanks for the good nights rest, and thanks for reading this, Tim

Room Tip: Book in Advance, Estes Park fills up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timbolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
830 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
84 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $110 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing