We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms were nice, and clean. Staff was extremely helpful, kind and accomodating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
wdmiowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The rooms were nice, and clean. Staff was extremely helpful, kind and accomodating.”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The facility was nice. However, the big bang at the resort was the staff. Friendly, and pleasant. We arrived 2 stay 1 night and move on and ended up staying 3 nights. Would have stayed longer, however, our vaction time was coming 2 a close. We will be back ASAP.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sissy221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    261
    72
    19
    4
See reviews for
412
538
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The front desk was very friendly. She made several great suggestions on places to eat with small children and things to do when the weather was getting nasty in the mountains. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. The pool/hot tub is wonderful. They even had toys for the kids to play with in the pool. I will defintely stay here again and tell my friends/family about this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheppj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

First time spending the night in Estes so we really can't make an honest comparison to other area hotels. But I can tell you that I at least expected our room to be mouse proof. Their remodeling starting with hammering outside our room at 7 am, didn't matter much though as the blinds in the room let the rising sun in my eyes! Rooms were clean and nice bed. Will try some place different next time.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed here for our 25th Anniversary. A beautiful place to stay with an awesome backdrop of the Rocky Mountains! Walking distance to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Pros -- right on the river. We opened the window and slept to the sound of the river! Some rooms have great decks overlooking the river. Great bedding. Nice towels. Room is very spacious. Refrigerator in room. Sensible policy on housekeeping -- if you ask for it they will do it but only if you ask. The place was full most nights we were there but we did not hear any noise from neighbors. Setting is wonderful. It is on the edge of town -- close enough to walk downtown if you wish.
Cons -- wifi is spotty at best. Signs addressing different transgressions in office, pool and breakfast room. Pool cleaning equipment left in pool one day. Bathroom was VERY SMALL which wouldn't be an issue if there were better places to hang towels to dry. If they are full parking is challenging. Mostly because people did not park straight for parked too far apart . Some lines on the lot would help.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Saw good reviews on Trip Advisor, so booked room for son's wedding in Estes Park. The room we had (Room 210) backed up to the river - nice... but that was about it. There were no screens on the windows or door to the balcony, so we had bees, and a bat come into our room! It appeared the room had recently been painted but the carpet was filthy. The bathroom was totally awkward, with a tiny, tiny space for the toilet and tub only. The sink was in the sleeping area with absolutely no counter space, barely enough for a toothbrush. Upon arrival, the door to the room connecting would not close or lock. Took too long for someone to come up to fix that. And, no phone in the rooms so you can't even call the front desk. Take a walk if you have any problem. Very surprised this was rated so highly on Trip Advisor. Location may be the only benefit as it's close to the main street shops. If we ever go to Estes Park again, we won't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parker1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
I talked to my manager and we did not have anyone talk to our staff about bees or bats. We would have been happy to move you to another room immediately if we were aware of such a problem -- if their really was one?. You also said the carpet was filthy which is definitely not true. Your unit was on the 2nd floor and the new carpeting was installed December of 2010. We do not allow pets or smoking in any of our rooms to help keep our Lodge clean and our housekeeping staff does a complete inspection of each room after a guest checks out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Murphy's River Lodge after reading all the great reviews. While the hotel looks a bit dated from the outside, the rooms are not dated, and very comfortable. We had a huge room and really enjoyed our stay. We got a recommendation for dinner from the desk clerk, and ended up taking her advice. Our dinner was great, so cudos to her. We would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in Estes Park again. One issue I had was that the free high speed internet did not work that evening.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebudmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Property: Murphy's River Lodge
Address: 481 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing