We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small cabin with a great hottub, convenient to RMNP entrance.”
Review of Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildwood Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is cabin is not on the Wildwood Inn Property. It is owned by the Wildwood Inn, but the it is near the golf course a few miles away. This cabin is actually a duplex with someone living on the other side. That really didn't matter because you still have your outdoor area with a large hot tub that is secluded. An open field sits below the patio area with a ladder golf set. The kids wanted to play but the grass was knee-high. It did get mowed the day before we left. Cabin is small, but you are not going to spend much time in your cabin anyway. My 9 and 6 year old slept on a futon in the living area, but they didn't mind. Bedroom was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kermitt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a great stay at the Wildwood Inn in Sundance #34. We had plenty of room for our family of four to spread out and enjoy our weekend getaway. Loved the in-room spa, the gas grill and having the attached deck with mountain views was awesome.

The location was very handy, close to town, but also just down the road from RMNP. This was our first trip to Estes and we hope to come back again soon!

Room Tip: Sundance #34 provides an awesome view of the mountains from the front deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We loved the location of this Inn. The views here were gorgeous, as well as the room itself. When I called to book our stay, the gentleman that took my reservation was extremely helpful and explained all of the amenities, etc. out to me in terms that I could understand.

The Wildwood Inn is located approximately 1/2 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park, very handy! It's about 4 miles from downtown Estes Park and the only major grocery store in town, Safeway.

Our home away from home was clean, contained a full kitchen, hot tub inside, deck with patio furniture, and a gas fireplace. We stayed in Sundance. We loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a very nice, convenient place to stay while visiting Rocky Mountain National Park.

If you want full room service throughout your stay, this is not the place for you to stay. Our room was clean when we arrived and we were responsible for making sure the kitchen was clean when we left. If you are staying a longer period of time, they do offer Mid-Week Room Service. Personally, we did not mind, as we did not have to worry about someone else being in our home away from home while we were out and about during the day.

It was nice to have a hot shower waiting us after a long day of hiking in the park. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Sundance is located on the 2nd Floor and a corner. Offers great views to the East and South!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWithSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Positives: location. So close and convent to RMNP. Easy access - can't be beat. Friendly staff. Kitchen had everything we needed.

Cons: hidden fees, small pool, pictures aren't what you get. Smokers abound. Pictures aren't what you get. Bugs (inside). Staff not responsive to request for maintenance.

Be aware that Cascade suites are offsite at Fawn Valley Inn - a very old property. Adversities that they can sleep 4: I don't know how. It's a stretch. My husband and I had our kids stay with relatives - there was a pull out couch but would not have slept 2 teenagers. We would have been charged an additional $15 per child per night to have them stay with us. Not worth it. Housekeeping is also an additional 15% of your room rate, although towel exchange was free. We took out our own trash and did our own dishes - which was not a problem for us.

In the hall leading up to our condo there were bugs everywhere. They would swarm us as we tried to unlock the door.

Dead bugs on bathroom ceiling 7 of them to be exact. Looked like Mosquitos or mayflies. Asked for them to be cleaned off, manager said it would be taken care of. It was not. They remained there for our stay (should we have to ask twice?). Otherwise unit very clean.

Dishwasher leaked. Had to do all dishes buy hand.

Could not use the pool - constantly overtaken by loud large group. Smokers everywhere on property.

Units are not air conditioned - needed to have windows open. This is where the smokers became a problem. Could not sit outside and enjoy the pretty river view. Smoke permeated everything.

It was okay - I would probably look elsewhere but would not completely rule out. The smokers, bugs, lack of service response and hidden fees would keep me for coming back. I would pay for a bigger room if the kids were going to stay with us, but I don't understand paying for bigger room and then paying the extra fee for the kids. I don't agree with that, so on that point alone I'm looking elsewhere.

The location was perfect.

Service - did not respond to our request.
Value: good!
Sleep quality: bed seemed small for queen. Felt like a double. Smokers smoke wafted up from outside with windows open stuffy with windows closed. Tried sofa bed. Uncomfortable.
Cleanliness: everything good but bugs in hall and BR.

Room Tip: Ask for remodeled Cascade suite. Cascade suites are OFFSITE at Fawn Valley Inn (outdated).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a large family gathering at Wildwood with 32 relatives from age 4 to 81. It was perfect to have rented a variety of different condos and especially the "vacation home" where we all could gather. In addition, there was a picnic shelter with adjacent playground where we could all eat dinner in one place. The staff were super-friendly and responded quickly to each of our questions/requests. They even had good advice for coping with the altitude! The condos were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The biggest drawback was the cost. It was an expensive vacation with the cost of travel added to the cost of the lodging. Estes Park is kind of remote (but this is part of what makes it wonderful too.) Although we received a discount for a longer stay, it was still expensive. I could recommend Wildwood to any family wanting to have together time (rent the picnic shelter and the vacation home) and a way to rest in separate spaces as well (by renting some of the smaller condos.) It's a great spot, very near Rocky Mountain National Park and the hummingbirds were absolutely magical! We also saw a fox several times and deer as well.

Room Tip: The Homestead Vacation Home has a lot of privacy and two decks, a large kitchen and dining area as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBS3Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I visited Wildwood Inn for our honeymoon, checking in on July 21st and departing on the 26th. Upon entering the condo, we were very impressed with the quality of the accommodations. The furniture was very comfortable, and we enjoyed the many amenities provided, including a full kitchen, fire place, TV with DVD/VCR, stereo and hot tub. The staff provided enough supplies to use the hot tub four times during our stay, but I'm sure we could have had more. Just outside the condo and overlooking a narrow creek was a private wrap-around balcony with a wrought iron table and two chairs perfect for breakfast in the morning and relaxation in the evening. The on-site pool was a tad warm, but still very enjoyable and the office staff was exceedingly knowledgeable, helpful and kind. We do plan on returning sometime soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbeaman1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here July 16-19th and we were pretty impressed. Everyone we encountered in the front office were very nice and professional. We stayed in one of the jewel studio suites, which had a hot tub on the patio with an amazing view of the mountains. It is conveniently located close to downtown Estes Park and RMNP. We had a couples massage the first day. I thought the quality of the massage was just okay considering the price. I also expected the spa area to be bigger and nicer. Overall, we would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Jewel Studio room 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
515 reviews
4.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
2.1 mi away
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
#2 of 20 in Estes Park
214 reviews
2.8 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Inn

Address: 2801 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $124 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and experience the beauty of the majestic surrounding mountains and river, the abundant wildlife, and the star studded nights away from the congested areas of Estes Park. With six acres of private mountainside land and Rocky Mountain National Park adjoining, you can let your spirits soar and your children explore. When choosing one of our river condos, you will experience the calming of the beautiful Fall River as well as fishing just steps from your door. Give us a call and join the many couples and families who return year after year. We know you’ll want to become a repeat guest too! The Younglund Family & Staff, Spacious up scale suites, studios and vacation homes. Private deck hot tubs, steam baths, fireplaces, playground, hiking, open year around, AAA, Friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing