We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reserved reservations not honored”
Review of Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildwood Inn
Certificate of Excellence
wellington,co
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reserved reservations not honored”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked a room with them well in advance only to find out that they did not honor this and when I spoke to customer service they were extremely rude. No compensation no apologies just a "well thats just how it is!" I would not recommend this place at all, look else where!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrossB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyyl, JilLayne Anderson, Innkeeper at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
The reservation was not a confirmed reservation. She was contacted by phone to call us by a certain date and time regarding the reservation REQUEST because we had questions about the request before we would finalize it and she never did. We were never rude about it we simply told her it was not processed and why and asked her if she wanted to book something while she was on the phone with us and she declined to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    75
    22
    10
    28
See reviews for
90
214
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We've been staying at Wildwood Inn during our annual trip to Estes Park for the last 7 years. The property is well maintained with very nice accomodations. The staff is friendly and the one time we needed maintenance to address something, they were at our room within 5 minutes. Thank you and see you next year.

Room Tip: Call rather than book on line. They can give you a better description of the room and locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia, KS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in a Cascade Suite last week. We had made the reservation earlier in the spring and had to book for 5 nights to assure confirmation of the stay. We would rather not be obligated for a 5 night stay when booking. Can't this requirement be confirmed with a credit card and deposit without booking for 5 nights?? We like to stay down on the river and know those suites are popular and we like Wildwood but would like the option to book for our individual needs.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whitetornado_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the Mountain View suite. It had a huge living room and dining room, and a fully stocked kitchen. The deck was the best part and we could see elk in the afternoon on the slope facing the deck. The bed was your typical hotel double bed - not super comfy and I could feel each time my husband moved during the night. There were a few other quirky features to the room, but I think it was simply the fact that no one told them about the few items needing repair. It was quiet, safe, and spacious. All in all, great views, comfy room, and an incredibly friendly staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimen_hao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimes, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We did not have a reservation and pulled in off the road looking for a room. We think we struck it lucky. What a room with a view. We could here the elk bugeling up and down the valley. The staff is awesome, very knowledgable and had very good suggestions for dining and activities in the area. The location is very good for getting into the park and it's just a short trip back to town. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I submitted a reservation request (their site's online booking is slightly different from regular hotel booking sites - they first take a reservation request where you have to give first and second preference for the type of room and then someone reviews your request and approves or denies your request the following day) and next day got a call from them that they had confirmed my second preference since first was not available. They also emailed me a confirmation. When I looked at the confirmation, I noticed that the rate they confirmed me for was higher than what I had seen on their website when I submitted the reservation request. So I called them to check on that and I was told their website is not updated. When I asked if they would match the price since it was not my mistake what they showed on their website, they said no. So I asked if I can speak to the manager. Then this lady "Cindy" came on the phone and very rudely told me that she is going to go ahead and cancel my reservation and put the phone down without listening to a word I was saying. When I called back, she was rude again and said they gave me an explanation for why the price is higher than what is on the website (they added ac to the unit) and the website team has not yet updated the site and since I was not ok with explanation and wanted to speak to the manager about honoring the price that I was quoted on their site, she was not ok with me and did not want to keep my reservation and hence she is cancelling it and put the phone down again before I could say a word. I was shocked as to why she was behaving like this when I was being extremely polite and only referring to what I had seen on their website and calling because the pricing on their site didn't match to the price that they were going to charge me. I am not sure what warranted for the extreme behavior and the rude treatment I received. This is just not right customer service. If they have to say something, they can easily communicate without indulging in rude behavior and hanging the phone up when the guest is still talking. Making the guest feel so horrible for just asking a question about a discrepancy (which the guest has no hand in causing) and hanging the phone up while the guest is talking is not justified.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Politeness101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

In my travel experiences web-sites do a great job of making places look much better than they are no matter whether they are good or bad. In this case beleive what you see and so much more. We spent three beautiful nights in the top floor Jewel Studio and to say it was awesome as well as the staff would be an understatement. If you prefer a fast paced resort/hotel with lots of activities this might not be the place for you...However, if you want peace, cleanliness, the outdoors and an amazing view this is the place for you!

As they state, if you want daily housekeeping you must pay extra for it, but they provide everything you need to just relax and enjoy your amazing surroundings. We so enjoyed sitting in the hot-tub in the morning and evening gazing at the mountains or star filled sky. The bed was very comfortable and the gas fireplace very warming. As far as I could tell the best outdoor place to stay in Estes Park right at the foot of the Rocky Mountain Park.

Room Tip: Try a tree top Jewel Studio if you are just a couple the views are amazing the the studio so romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#14 of 78 in Estes Park
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fawn Valley Inn
Fawn Valley Inn
#31 of 78 in Estes Park
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#10 of 78 in Estes Park
188 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#15 of 78 in Estes Park
222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#43 of 78 in Estes Park
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Inn

Property: Wildwood Inn
Address: 2801 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and experience the beauty of the majestic surrounding mountains and river, the abundant wildlife, and the star studded nights away from the congested areas of Estes Park. With six acres of private mountainside land and Rocky Mountain National Park adjoining, you can let your spirits soar and your children explore. When choosing one of our river condos, you will experience the calming of the beautiful Fall River as well as fishing just steps from your door. Give us a call and join the many couples and families who return year after year. We know you’ll want to become a repeat guest too! The Younglund Family & Staff, Spacious up scale suites, studios and vacation homes. Private deck hot tubs, steam baths, fireplaces, playground, hiking, open year around, AAA, Friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing