We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall vacation”
Review of Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildwood Inn
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Fall vacation”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

On 10/9/2011 9:44 PM, Minnie Z. Trejo wrote:
We truly enjoyed our vacation stay at Wildwood from September 23-28th. We loved our little cabin and the way everything was set up in such a organized manner. It was clean and comfortable. I’m big on recycling so I really appreciated having that available in our cabin as well. The folks in the office were cordial and helpful when we needed assistance The time went by so fast we never had time to use the grill, hot tub or sit outside on the swing the in playground(haha). The grounds are beautiful as is the drive into Estes Park. Fall foilage was peaking! We have to go back.

We will definitely look forward to staying with you again. Thank you for a super stay!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Minnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyyl, JilLayne Anderson, Innkeeper at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. You are right, the fall season is a great time to be i the Rockies! We look forward to your return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    75
    22
    10
    28
See reviews for
90
214
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I made reservations to stay at the Wildwood Inn in June of 2011, for three nights, and paid the full $595 on my Visa at the time of the reservation. The woman on the phone that took my reservation was adamant that there would be no cancelations. We were there for a family wedding, so there was no way I was going to cancel. Upon arrival, I signed in and went to the room. It was so hot we couldn't stay there. I asked about air conditioning, and was told they didn't have any. Really? I've never heard of a place without A/C. I then tried to open the windows. No window cranks. Asked the front desk, and they could not provide them. Was told I'd have to go outside to operate the windows, or take the, apart from the inside. Oh, and the hot tub that was promised to be in the room? It doesn't work. You have to go outside, down the way and use a different one. Once we did get the window open, the room was right on the parking lot at the entrance, people were right outside talking, room was hot, windows didn't work.....I pulled the plug, as the room was uninhabitable. We were forced to get another room for our time in Estes Park. When I went back it Visa and tried to cancel the charge, the owner produced my check in papers and claimed that I stayed there. This is not the truth. I did not stay there. Bottom line: I refused to pay for a service I didn't receive, and had to cancel my Visa, as they would not back me up....a first for me with respect to losing a battle with Visa. Beware of this place. They do not do business honorably.

Room Tip: Chose another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hotelsforaliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyyl, JilLayne Anderson Innkeeper at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Because you booked at the last minute, you could not get all of your nights in the luxurious Sundance Suite with indoor fresh water hot tub you wanted, so you opted to stay in one of our one bedroom Aspen Suites, and these windows can be opened from the inside even though they do not have window cranks on them, then move the next day. You never stayed in either one, you left. In regards to the "hot tub not working", because you chose not to honor your reservation contract with us, this beautiful suite was not ever viewed or discussed when you arrived, so why this statement was made and how you came to this conclusion is baffling to us. In regard to the comment that was made about "battles with VISA" this makes us wonder. This has been an unfortunate situation all the way around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We've had 2 encounters with the staff at the Wildwood Inn, and neither were positive. First, we stayed a night in July for our anniversary and got a bad vibe from the start. We followed all the directions for the hot tub in the room only to never actually set foot inside it. We were too afraid to call the owners and ask for help because of how rude and condescending they were when we had checked in. So we never actually got to use the hot tub, which was the main selling point of why we chose this room in the first place. After we informed them of the problem when checking out, they basically made us feel like complete idiots for not being able to figure it out. My husband continued to push the issue, which resulted in a gift card for partial credit for another stay within a year.

Our second encounter was just recently in December when we were looking for a place to stay with some out of state friends. We thought we would give them another shot, seeing as how we had the credit from the last visit. We picked out the room we wanted online and then called to make the reservation, and the woman on the phone was so incredibly unhelpful and disrespectful that we chose to take our business elsewhere and lose the credit we had been given. We are confident we will never even think about staying at this place again. Don't waste your time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlyssaMatt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We are very puzzled by the comment made about the phone call on December 11th, but more importantly we gave you the gift card so you could come back and have a more enjoyable experience. We do hope you will use it as it is good until July 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Our first stay at Wildwood Inn was many years ago and we were given the top floor of the type of room we wanted. We had a wonderful experience. We like visiting Estes Park for our anniversary (November) each year and Wildwood Inn was the first place we tried. Due to the good experience we had, we went back to Wildwood the next year. This time we were given a room between floors, and roasted, we could not get the room cooled off. It was a windy night so we couldn't even open the windows to help cool the place down. We slept terrible for the heat in the room was uncomfortably high. We definitly didn't want to use the fireplace to add more heat to our room. Not a good time. We decided not to go back to Wildwood and try out other places in Estes Park for the next 8 years or so, and each place we tried was fantastic. We wanted to give Wildwood Inn another try, so we book well ahead and asked for the upper floor, stating that we did NOT want the in-between floor and wouldn't be coming to them if the upper room was unavailable. We were assured that no one had booked it so we had it. A week before we went, we received a curtesy call of welcoming us back to their hotel, and again, assured that the room was ours. When we arrived we found we were "bumped" to the inbetween floor (exactly the room we had when we couldn't cool the room down). We of course complained, but someone booked a few days before and were staying more than 5 days, so they get priority, even though we had booked a month before. I guess this is stated on their website in the policy section, but we didn't go through the internet so we never saw it, and we were not told this was their policy when we made the reservations. SO, do not expect to get the room you want, unless you're staying more than 5 nights, no matter how far ahead you book. You're not considered as worthy of a client when you only book a 2 to 4 night stay, even at $200 (with tax) a night. The place is nice, but my irritation is that twice they assured us we had the room we wanted, and then stuck us in the room we destinctly told them (multiple times) we DID NOT want, because someone else who was staying longer wanted our room. What ever happened to first come first serve when booking a room??? They may have been a longer stay client, who was given our room, but we were 3 times a repeat client with a more than possible chance of repeat business, but that didn't matter. The room we were put in, again, was too warm so we slept terrible. There was a really bad wind storm, when we were there, so could not keep the windows opened, and the ceiling fans became useless when the electricity went out during the night. Having had a bad experience, two out of the 3 times, we will not be going back to Wildwood, but will go back to one of the other places instead.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Because we are such a unique property and offer only a few different types of suites, our policy of booking a specific suite if you stay 5 or more nights, and if you book 1 to 4 nights we ask for a 2nd option that you would like, has been in place because we offer mostly one of a kind suites and we have found that for many years this policy has worked well for everyone. We do notify the guest if a change is going to be made, and 99% of our guests are just fine if they are opted to their 2nd choice. That is why we ask the guest to make that 2nd choice, so they can get what they want either way. For the most part, we very infrequently have to move people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I am TOTALLY amazed at the audacity of some people. I have had many experiences with Wildwood Inns service and I can only say that it is first rate!! You can really tell that the owners and staff are truly passionate about what they do, from their friendliness to the condition of their rooms and property. I have seen them go above and beyond normal service for people to make their vacation experience one to remember. Be assured folks, Wildwood Inn is the place to stay,They really care about you and will go the extra mile for you!!!!! Remember... some people are IMPOSSIBLE to please.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinBob62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked a suite with a private spa at Wildwood Inn. The advertising on their website said it is on the Fall River. IT IS NOT ON THE FALL RIVER!!! That is false advertising. They are far from it. You cannot even see the Fall River from Wildwood Inn. We got into Denver at 8:00, (got up to catch our flight at 3:00am), we rented a car and stopped for breakfast in Boulder. At 10:00am I called to see if they would clean our room right away and told them that we had been up at 3:00am. She told me just to drive on up and go straight to the Wildwood Inn and she would see if it was ready. We did just that and got there at 11:30am. I went in to inquire and she said it wasn't ready. I asked her if she could call us as soon as it got ready and she said she would. We were really disappointed at that point that they didn't have better customer service. We went to the Wheel Bar and had a cocktail. We asked the people there if they had ever heard of Wildwood Inn. They said they didn't know much about it. We told them what had transpired and that we would be staying at the bar until they called to notify us that the room was ready. At 3:00, (check-in time), she still had not called. We drove back and went in and inquired if we were too early to check-in. (There was a different person at the desk but the mean lady was there, too, on the phone). We let the lady know that we knew we could check in but were extremely unhappy with their customer service. We told her how we had been at the Wheel Bar waiting for the phone call that never came and had told several people that we were waiting for them to call. The lady on the phone dropped the phone on the floor and screamed: Refund them their money, they are not welcome here!!! We couldn't believe it. It was the weekend of the Autumn Gold Festival and most places were sold out! Thank God for a good person working at the Bear Claw that gave us one night then hooked us up with Estes Park Condo's.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
We do not advertise that our office is on the river, and since this is as far as this person got on our property after coming back to check in at the designated check in time of 3pm and we, deciding to refund her money and asking her to stay elsewhere, since she stated she had complained about us to numerous businesses around town because they could not check in any earlier than the Guaranteed check in time of 3pm. It is within our right to refuse service to people we do not feel comfortable having stay at our establishment. As far as being on Fall River? We own 6 suites on the river across the highway from our main property.(See the July 27th,2011 review on Trip Advisor). Once again another review without the true facts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Called to make reservations the woman I spoke to had no customer service skills. They have rediculous minimums that are not disclosed to you on the website and are not accomodating at all! I would think long and hard before spending money at this location it may look beautiful on the outside but you will experience nothing but an negative and regretful experience.

They may claim to family owned and operated but the owners are out to nickle and dime you and all in all there are hundreds of better locations to spend time in Estes Park with out the headache of dealing with the WIldwood Inn.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. Spend you money on a beautiful trip that doesn't include this locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disgruntledBride149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
This lady called us inquiring about accommodations for September 2011 and after being told that we first of all require a 3 night minimum, and to book a specific suite number she would have to book a 5 night stay or more.(THESE POLICIES ARE SHOWN ON OUR WEBSITE) She got mad and hung up on the owner, who spent about 20 minutes trying to explain everything to this lady. Then she called back and said there was nothing on our website on any of these policies and She was told where the information is disclosed on our site. She has never been to this property at all so the statement that says she stayed her in September 2011 is not true. And again another review with false statements and incorrect information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#15 of 78 in Estes Park
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fawn Valley Inn
Fawn Valley Inn
#30 of 78 in Estes Park
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#11 of 78 in Estes Park
188 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#13 of 78 in Estes Park
222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#43 of 78 in Estes Park
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Inn

Property: Wildwood Inn
Address: 2801 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and experience the beauty of the majestic surrounding mountains and river, the abundant wildlife, and the star studded nights away from the congested areas of Estes Park. With six acres of private mountainside land and Rocky Mountain National Park adjoining, you can let your spirits soar and your children explore. When choosing one of our river condos, you will experience the calming of the beautiful Fall River as well as fishing just steps from your door. Give us a call and join the many couples and families who return year after year. We know you’ll want to become a repeat guest too! The Younglund Family & Staff, Spacious up scale suites, studios and vacation homes. Private deck hot tubs, steam baths, fireplaces, playground, hiking, open year around, AAA, Friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing