We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Fox for Breakfast”
Review of Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wildwood Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I messed up and really didn't have a reservation. Office had humming bird feeders with dozens of hummers feeding. Mother deer and doe feeding in field next to office when we checked-in; Doe feeding on Mother when we checked-out. Room was well equipped and clean. Sitting at our ground level table outside in the morning, a red fox came walking by - ran in and told wife. 15 minutes later the red fox walks by even closer - no more than five feet, and went to hillside right next to our building to feed on berries - wife got good view this time. Very nice restaurant just down the street.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. That red fox , her name is Red Girl, she is a long time resident of our Inn, and is seen quite often on the property and we are glad you got to see her during your stay! We look forward to a future visit from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

This trip was originally booked for my boyfriend & I as a weekend get away for a friend's wedding in Estes.. Well, the wedding took place but instead of my boyfriend, I ended up there with one of my best friend's instead.. We LOVED this place. The staff were above & beyond friendly & helpful, the room (Sunbeam) was spacious & very clean.. We had amazing views & a terrific time in the sun room, enjoying the hot tub. We have said we want to get our other friends together & plan a girls trip up there for the weekend.. Wildwood would be my first choice of where to stay. If you're looking for somewhere quiet, but with fantastic amenities & still close enjoy to the shopping in Estes, then look no further than Wildwood.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheri0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your first stay with us and are planning on coming back in the future! We will look forward to your next reservation with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon, and absolutely loved it. It was in a great location close to Rocky Mountain National Park. It was very quiet and private. Our room had a hot tub in the living room, which was very relaxing in the evenings. We got the steak dinner package for dinner the first night. Some may complain that we could have just gone to the grocery store ourselves to get it cheaper, but we enjoyed the convenience of not having to go anywhere once we got in after the drive up from Denver. We also got massages, which were very relaxing. The masseuse also gave us a great dinner recommendation. We also loved the fact that there were movies and games that we could borrow. This were nice for the rainy afternoons that you can get up in the summer in the Rockies. The staff was very friendly. We plan on returning for future anniversaries.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank figgy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Close to Rocky Mountain National Park. Nice place to bring the family or a romantic getaway. Very clean and nice room. Staff very helpful. There is a playground for kids, a private spa for the adults, and grilling areas. Free DVD's available at the front desk.

The surroundings were breathtaking, including the hummingbirds at the front desk.
Would have liked to stay longer.

There was no air conditioning but it was not a problem. The room cooled off nicely after opening the windows.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ejmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very nice place, patio was 10 feet from river and at the base of the rocky mountains... very relaxing and clean. Grill to use and a full kitchen...fireplace...ipod dock was nice to have. Hummingbirds where cool at the check in building.would definately stay again.. Fell in love with Colorado while we where there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristieLee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We went to book a reservation for 2 rooms at 4 nights here but was told they could not gaurentee our room. No big deal, we're flexible, but we are budget travelers, and need to work with a room that is in our price range within reason. The owner told us that unless we booked 5 nights, they couldn't gaurentee our room choice, which would mean that they could plop us into rooms that would be $80/night higher (times 2 rooms) and we'd be on the hook to cover that (that comes to $640 difference by no fault of our own!). I asked that they lock our rate on the initial room we book, and she wouldn't budge on their policy. Its important to know about this lame policy before you book and get stuck living with it.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
5  Thank fish65Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindyyl, General Manager at Wildwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

We have our second choice policy in place because our rooms and suites and the property itself is unique and many one of a kind and we are not like a regular hotel where all of the rooms are basically the same. This gives the guest the flexibility to have a couple of options in place from the start so they know they will have a room or suite that they have specifically chosen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

After reading mixed reviews we weren't quite sure if we'd done the right thing by booking the first 3 nights of our road trip staying here but it was perfect. We were emailed before we left home to check if there was anything we wanted to know and we found the staff friendly and helpful.
We stayed in The Little Bear Suite and found it to be extremely clean and had everything we needed. We didn't use the bar-b-q but we enjoyed sitting on the terrace - the view was beautiful. We borrowed DVDs, we had no trouble getting our towels replaced, I have no complaints at all and would recommend it. It's in a great location and in a beautiful setting. We had a lovely meal in the Trailhead restaurant just up the road.
The 3 nights cost us $355 which at our exchange rate, worked out about £221.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.9 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
515 reviews
4.4 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
2.1 mi away
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
4 Seasons Inn on Fall River
#2 of 20 in Estes Park
214 reviews
2.8 mi away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Inn

Address: 2801 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $124 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and experience the beauty of the majestic surrounding mountains and river, the abundant wildlife, and the star studded nights away from the congested areas of Estes Park. With six acres of private mountainside land and Rocky Mountain National Park adjoining, you can let your spirits soar and your children explore. When choosing one of our river condos, you will experience the calming of the beautiful Fall River as well as fishing just steps from your door. Give us a call and join the many couples and families who return year after year. We know you’ll want to become a repeat guest too! The Younglund Family & Staff, Spacious up scale suites, studios and vacation homes. Private deck hot tubs, steam baths, fireplaces, playground, hiking, open year around, AAA, Friendly hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing