We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2007

We just returned from our second stay at the Romantic Riversong in Estes Park. We are from Boston, in our 30s, and we love hiking. We stayed at Riversong in December and enjoyed snowshoeing in Rocky Mountain National Park, and came back in May for hiking. Riversong is at the very end of a dirt road, secluded along a river. The property is very nice with places to walk (including a very large mountain if you want to hike it), benches and streams, and nice flowers. The rooms are well maintained with lots of attention. The breakfast is great - a big meal, different every day (we stayed 8 days), in a pretty room with lots of windows and views. The location is great for visiting the park, it is about 8 minutes from the entrance. Deer come grazing through the property in the early morning and late evening.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank LaughOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    45
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
323
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

Romantic Riversong Inn is a beautiful property located right on the river, at the edge of Rocky Mountain National Park. My wife and I stayed there for an extended weekend getaway, and could not have been more pleased. The owners have really put a lot of thought into accommodating guests with a variety of interests. At the same time as us, other guests included an older couple, a pair of newlyweds, and a couple of cyclists, several of whom were returning guests to this property, and had lots of great suggestions for us. We picked up the printed info sheets they had on hiking trails in the area, but there was also info on other recreation opportunities, and area attractions.

PROPERTY:
The worst thing about this property is the drive there. Lower Broadview road is an unpaved road that wouldn't suffer from some filling and grading. We had a Jeep so it didn't cause problems, but low-riding sports cars will have to take it easy! But once you're there, the property is phenomenal. The rooms are either suites in the main house, or cottages separate on the property. The river runs right along the edge of the grounds, and the buildings are surrounded by beautiful gardens that were in bloom while we were there. They have everything from bench swings to picnic areas to fishing ponds to a huge garden-sized chess set on the truly enormous property, so any guest will find something to do without having to leave the grounds.

ROOM:
We stayed in the "Shooting Star" suite on the main property. It had a lovely two-person jacuzzi tub in addition to a separate shower. The room has a working fireplace, as do most of the rooms we saw, and lots of windows and skylights. The view out our window in the morning was the snow-capped mountains. The floor was a bit creaky, but since there wasn't another guest room below us, we didn't feel too bad about walking around at all hours! The bed was comfy, and the shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure.

FOOD:
When we arrived, they had a full coffee and tea service, along with freshly baked cookies. It was available every day for most of the day, starting from right after breakfast all the way through bedtime. The breakfasts were delicious though a bit unexpected. Our first morning was "Cowboy French Toast" -- a slab of thick-cut French toast stuffed with sausage patties and a white cheese, served with maple syrup. Struck us as kind of strange at first, but turned out to be delicious! Our second morning was "John Wayne Casserole" -- a quiche made denver-omelette style with cheese, peppers, onions and spices, served with a delicious fruit-packed muffin. Every breakfast started with a bowl of fresh fruit with yogurt. Definitely not boring old breakfast fare here! Really tasty.

LOCATION:
The Inn is literally about 2 miles, maybe 4 or 5 minutes, from the Beaver Meadow entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. On the first morning when we got up to go hiking, we arrived at our trailhead within 15 minutes of leaving the Inn! You really can't get any closer to the park without camping inside it. In the other direction, the Inn is about 15 minutes from downtown Estes Park. In between, several entertainment areas with decent restaurants and fun options like a nice mini-golf course leave plenty of evening entertainment options available. Just up the hill, there is the Mary's Lake Lodge, and their Chalet restaurant, where we had a delicious upscale meal one night. We would stay here again just for the location alone!

My wife and I travel frequently for business and pleasure, and Romantic Riversong is one of the places that really "gets it" when it comes to reading and catering to the needs of their guests. Unlike many inns that cater to only a narrow range of guests' interests, I'd recommend this one to just about anybody! We were truly sad to leave.

  • Liked — Huge property with spectacular views and tons of things to do on-site.
  • Disliked — Dirt/gravel road leading to the Inn has seen better days, but is still easily drivable.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Darlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

My fiance and I were looking for a special place to start our Honeymoon. I was searching on the internet and stumbled across the Romantic RiverSong Bed and Breakfast website. The place looked very interesting and we booked the first three nights of our Honeymoon there. We were looking forward to a quiet and romantic stay in the mountains for the first leg of our Honeymoon. The stay could not have been better and it completely satisfied our desires. RiverSong is conveniently located just outside of Estes Park in a wooded and secluded area. We reserved one of the larger rooms and it was fantastic. It was a 2 room suite, complete with jetted hot tub, Kingsized bed, large bath with a huge shower for two. The room had period style decorations and a view of the continental divide from the bedroom as well as from the private deck off the back. This room was one of four in the main building, but they are so arranged that we had all the privacy that we wanted. The staff is there to help if asked but we felt they gave us the run of the place while they stayed behind the scenes. Breakfast is included and it was wonderful. It was a different offering every morning and though everyone received the same breakfast that morning, there was plenty of excellent tasting food. We also opted for the romantic dinner for two one evening. This is extra and well worth the money. The service was just excellent and we were catered to as if we were the only ones there. It is a five course meal and we just loved every course. We spent our entire first day just exploring the grounds of RiverSong. Behind the property there is a hiking trail that winds to the top of the hills, and the views are spectacular. There is another trail which follows the river which runs through the property. The second day, after breakfast we opted for the special picnic hike. This was a packed picnic lunch and a map to follow for a special picnic spot in the Rocky Mountain National Park, a short drive from RiverSong. We were there at the end of September, the weather was wonderful and the Elk were everywhere!! The picnic spot was a 3 mi. hike up to a tree surrounded lake in the mountains. What a great time! and the food was good and plentiful. Needless to say there are a miriad of things to do or not to do in Estes Park. We highly recommend RiverSong and plan on returning.

  • Liked — Excellent room, excellent food, surrounding grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ready2retire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

We only spent two nights at RiverSong but felt as if we had a week long vacation! The atmosphere of the property and suite relaxed us as soon as we arrived!

Our suite was cozy and comfortable and expertly prepared for us. We love shopping in Estes Park but could barely tear ourselves away to go to town this time.

The recipe book is worth buying because you will want to experience and share the fabulous breakfast choices with your friends and family. The breakfasts inspired me!

RiverSong's trail up the mountain is a must! It was beautiful in the winter, so I can only imagine that it will be more amazing in the spring/summer. I look forward seeing it again when we return this summer. I can't wait!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank love-great-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel Junkie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2007

Well, I saw that someone said they were tardy in their review. I think that my husband and I take the cake. We visited this place on our first weekend together. We were dating long distance. This is the most wonderful place to start or re-kindle a romance. If you've never been to Colorado, as was my case, then you will be doubly blessed.

I had never seen elk or the Rockies. We started our romance Halloween weekend and it's never ended. We were married May 21st of 2005 and now have a family. We plan to return to this romantic and magical place soon. Where you can eat breakfast overlooking the snow capped Rockies or sit by your own fireplace sipping wine and looking into the eyes of your loved one. There are no distractions, just a chance to fall in love. In saying that, I mean, not just with each other, but with Colorado.

Enjoy and don't say I didn't warn you!

Stayed October 2004
Helpful?
4 Thank Reyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2007

This review is a bit tardy...but much has happened since our stay here in August of 2006.

My then girlfriend and I were here for an engagement trip (she said yes - on a trail not far from our room. We will be married in three weeks!). If you are looking for a secluded mountain retreat off the beaten path, but minutes to civilization...this is it!

We stayed in the Wood Nymph room, which is in a separate cabin shared by only one other suite (Unable to hear anything from that suite). We loved the room...it was romantic, well kept and had much to offer. It has a deck, perfect for pre and post-hike lounging...you have a view of a pond below, Rockies far away and tree tops just in front of you as you are a good 10 - 15 feet in the air. Whirlpool is just inside the doors from the deck and is wonderful. It has a natural fireplace, plenty of extra books to read and games to play if that is your pleasure. Bathroom is adequate - the showers have two heads (love that!)...the only thing we didn't like was lack of privacy while using the loo, that is out in the open so to speak. While it is likely you are here with someone you aren't shy with, it still would be nice to have some privacy. That was the only thing to quibble with, which means it did its job!

The breakfasts were well done...the cookies were amazing, we always took some extra for our excursions on the trails of RMNP. The service was great, we didn't have any huge needs, but whatever we did request, we were always helped straight away and with a smile.

Estes Park is minutes away, for your touristy stuff and dinners out, etc. We spent a lot of time at RMNP, hiking and birdwatching.

For us, it was a trip we will never forget, but even without the engagement, it was a memorable trip and memorable stay. We will be returning for our 5 year anniversary...to Romantic Riversong!

  • Liked — How secluded it was
  • Disliked — Toilet was out in the open - no privacy
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TosaTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2007

Stayed a week in two different suites (each 'suite' is unique in style and configuration) during our wedding and honeymoon trip. Each suite was uniquely decorated, very large, maintained and cleaned exceptionally well. The floors were heated making for a wonderful winter feel.

The staff is pleasant and helpful. The owner, who is on site frequently, is enjoyable and dedicated to making your stay a one of a kind experience (he also is licensed to conduct wedding - ours being held on site in the virgin snow by a stream).

Breakfast is served daily and is included as a part of the accommodation cost. It was tastey with a unique menu daily. The hot, daily baked cookies in the afternoon were also a treat.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Okie540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.6 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
2.0 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.6 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
3.2 mi away
Appenzell Inn
Appenzell Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1766 Lower Broadview Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic RiverSong Inn is an inviting bed and breakfast offering the ideal location for an intimate Estes Park getaway. This quaint ten room inn is located at the end of a winding country lane and near trout streams and ponds, hiking trails and tree swings with spectacular scenery for all to enjoy. Our bedrooms are cozy, decorated with country furnishings for you to be lulled to sleep by the melody of our mountain stream. Our full country breakfast is the best you will find anywhere in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Romantic Riversong Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantic Riversong Hotel Estes Park
Romantic Riversong b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing