We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Shadows Resort
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Had only 2 nights to getaway and relax. Found a perfect place. Rob and Tina were very nice.Clean, well appointed room. Nice location. Pet friendly.Thanks for the restful weekend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMC80517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
103
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Where to start...well I suppose I should say that had I seen a view of the entire property, I would have never spent over $180 to stay a night in this place. The pictures show plenty of wildlife, but the only wildlife we saw were people who were camping at a huge RV campsite right down the hill. Not a pretty view. I read all of the reviews of this place, and the only thing I can conclude is that these reviews were created by the owners themselves. Many of them rave about this place, but unless you live in a hole, there is no way to mistake this place for luxurious. On top of that, checkin is at 3pm, and checkout is at 10am!! That is ridiculous. As some other reviewers have described, the room was simply part of a small duplex. It smelled of chlorine from the hot tub, which was expected when you have the tub in the room with you. The TV was small and unwatchable from the couch. There is no AC, which is fine in the evening, but not on an 83 degree day. The hot tub temperature could not be adjusted, and 105 is too hot for some people – especially in an 83 degree room. This place should not be listed under “bed and breakfast” when the breakfast consists of an Otis Spunkmeyer muffin and Dannon yogurt. The bed was spacious, and the mini-fridge worked. The shower has two heads, but it’s still a bit small for two people. There were plenty of towels and pillows – but Motel 6 has enough too. All in all, I was very disappointed in my choice. I would never consider staying here again for this price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malum04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Nice size room. Didn't have all the amenities such as chair in room (there was only a sofa). The cabins are laid out so that you need to keep you blinds down so that others cannot look into you room. A disadvantage when there are such great views.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmstoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Wow! What a wonderful stay we had! The cabin was terrific with the double shower, private hot tub, kitchenette, and fireplace! The grounds were nice and clean and very pleasant to just sit on the porch and relax while watching the wild life (rabbits, chipmunks, and even the occasional Elk!) It was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. The owner was very friendly and - best of all - our three little fur kids were more than welcome!! Carolyn, myself and all three of our Westies loved our stay. It was starting to feel like home!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwwxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was a very welcoming place. The cottage was cute and very clean. We loved the hot tub and double shower. It was in a great location without traffic. The only cons were quite small. The TV was only viewable from the bed. There are no telephones which wouldn't normally bother me, but Verizon service was impossible so it was hard to check in with the kids or make reservations. The view wasn't the best, but is better than some locations. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amygal220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We had the best time at this place. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to get away for a nice time together. We are thinking about making this a yearly event. Thanks to all at Mountain Shadows for everything.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank husker5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Mountain Shadows. Tina and Rob were wonderful hosts and made excellent recommendations for shopping, RM Natl.Park entrances, restaurants, etc. We would stay here again and recommend their cottages to all. Our only concern was that the TV was only viewable from the bed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#40 of 78 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anniversary Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Beaver Brook on the River
Beaver Brook on the River
#31 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Misty Mountain Lodge
Misty Mountain Lodge
#11 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
#41 of 78 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#34 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Shadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Resort

Property: Mountain Shadows Resort
Address: 871 Riverside Dr, Estes Park, CO 80517-8028
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Shadows Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air conditioned, FREE WIFI, pet friendly, couples cabins....Romantic, comfy and cozy. Relax in your in-room hot tub or savor those romantic and very private moments only a cabin can offer. New beds, luxury bedding, kitchenettes, your own deck with table and chairs, bath with double shower, sitting area with fireplace and flat screen TV, DVD player, large picnic area with gas grills, Free parking and much more. Kick back, relax, enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Shadows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing