We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of River Spruce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Spruce
Certificate of Excellence
Sycamore, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a great place to stay. We were their for 3 nights mid June and were treated great. Quite and private. The private hot tubes are awesome after a long day of hiking. I cant imaging any place better, plus you cant beat the price. FYI the breakfast muffins are the best.

Room Tip: Get a cabin with a hot tub, they overlook the river outside your cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We work hard to make your trip a lasting memory and we always appreciate the kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
76
114
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

First, let me start by saying that I found the River Spruce and made my decision to stay based on the wonderful reviews here. I chose the Tom Tom because of the patio right on the water and we were not disappointed. Probably the most private cabin on the property. First of all, many places claim to be waterfront and upon arrival you may likely find yourself across the street but not River Spruce. Almost every cabin opens to the Big Thompson River and it was flowing heartily on our visit.

Wendy, one of the owners, called me on my arrival date to check on our arrival time and to give a better driving route due to road work. Top notch. Wendy was wonderful and friendly during our
stay and like other reviews here, her baked goodies were so delicious. It is obvious that this place means everything to her.

I was most impressed with the overall condition of the property. Very immaculately maintained. I have stayed in many rented cabins and this one was immaculate inside and out. Seriously. No chipped paint, overgrown bushes, cobwebs ect. Even the pull out couch in this cabin was comfy. The little touches were nice, especially the very busy hummingbird feeder outside the window. I swear those little guys don't make nearly the noise at my house as they did here. We did get some mule deer visitors across the river, but no bears- which I know is a good thing but we would have loved to have seen them.

The location is excellent, particularly for visiting the Rocky Mountain National Park. The entrance is only a few minutes away. Estes Park itself is very nice, and I found that the local winery and brewery both produced very good products. I definitely plan on returning to Estes Park, and when I do I will be staying at River Spruce again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad you got to see the busy hummingbird season and visit our local brews:) They are talking about adding a couple more local breweries and a distillery to Estes Park so there'll be plenty of new places to visit when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a wonderful time in a beautiful setting; we plan to return to the tranquil River Spruce again and again. The pleasure we shared from listening to the river rushing downstream, the humming birds zipping past and the songs sung by other birds perched high in the branches of the many trees provided the escape for which we were searching. We'd highly recommend River Spruce for their clean, cozy cabins; where thoughtful consideration to our every need during our stay was covered by Shelley, Wendye and friends. We are grateful for their efforts to create a slice of heaven-on-earth!!!

Room Tip: The Windwalker cabin was delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneWMichaelH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
You guys are great, thank you! We work hard during the day and when we get reviews like this, it makes it all worthwhile:) We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Loved the stay at River Spruce. From the moment we checked in until we left 2 days later we were treated great. We were treated like we were family, well maybe better than family. The second day it snowed and it was very relaxing to sit in the hot tub and watch the snow fall and hear the sounds of the Big Thompson River. We stayed in the Tom Tom and it had everything you would need. Book early if you want to stay in this cabin as it fills up fast. This cabin has 2 beds, a private hot tub, and a deck next to the river. These cabins are close to town and the entrance to the park. If you have any questions on where to eat or what to do the staff is very helpful and gives you great advice. The homemade morning treats that come to your cabin in the picnic basket are to die for. We had a banana chocolate chip cake/bread and it was better than anything you could buy (cause it’s homemade and made with love).

Will be coming back to this place again and will be telling others to make sure they visit this place. This place deserves more than 5 stars, because of the service they provide.

Room Tip: Book early if you want the Tom Tom. This cabin is next to the river with a hot tub and at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
It's so nice to hear our guests say they felt like family because that's how we feel about our guests:) We love sharing our property and the wonderful wildlife that roams free here in Estes Park. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here earlier this May and we had an amazing time. Estes Park is a beautiful location and our cabin at River Spruce was perfect for our time in Estes. The hot tub was great for unwinding after our days hiking in the beautiful mountains Colorado has to offer, and we certainly took advantage of the movies as well!

The owners Wendye and Shelley were incredibly nice, helpful and accommodating. I wish we never had to leave Colorado! Hope to be back soon. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Checkout The Rock for food and drinks, live music too! And don't forget Smokin' Dave's B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley P, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for the great review Stephen. You gave tips on all our favorite places to eat here in Estes Park so you're almost a local:) Hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We loved our week long stay at River Spruce. The location right on the Big Thompson River is like heaven on earth, the sound of the river and the atmosphere are so relaxing. The ladies who own the retreat are very wholesome and down to earth, always there if you need anything or just for a nice chat, they make you feel like family and the home made muffins and breads delivered every morning are a very special touch. We will definitely return every time we visit Estes Park and will recommend this vacation getaway to everyone we know traveling to the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed a few days in the Tom tom cabin. It was clean an comfortable! Awesome customer service! And the baked goods made the mornings feel even more special. Felt like visiting Family!! We will for sure come back and are telling friends and family to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xaurtjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
311 reviews
3.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 29 in Estes Park
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#12 of 78 in Estes Park
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Spruce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Spruce

Property: River Spruce
Address: 2334 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your cares behind and embark on an adventure in nature when you stay at River Spruce. You are treated to the best of both worlds: the oneness and beauty of the outdoors with all the comforts of home. Relax in your private hot tub by the river or roast a few marshmallows over the fire pit in front of your cabin. This is a place to truly relax, reflect, and renew your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your River Spruce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing