We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax”
Review of River Spruce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Spruce
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa
1 review
“Great Place to Relax”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed there for five days in early June, beautiful place! Service is great, very nice owners, great view of the river, quiet location, muffins in morning were out of this world good! The cabin we stayed at was very spacious and very clean, had a wonderful kitchen and all the amenities. Easy access to Estes park and Rocky Mountain National Park. They had free DVD movies to checkout. Right outside our window was a hummingbird feeder and it had humming birds flying around it all day. A great place to get away from it all, with helpful and friendly owners. Would go back given the chance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hello to my Oklahoma friends! Thanks for taking the time to share your review of our place. Hope your trip back was uneventful and will look forward to your next visit:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
76
114
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We've just returned from our fourth wonderful Memorial Day holiday at the River Spruce. Wendye and Shelley are like family now - they greet us with hugs and "how've you been?" The cabins are cozy and we always feel right at home.

There's nothing better than waking up in the morning to fresh-baked pastries (the pecan was wonderful!) and ending the day with a cozy fire by the roaring river.

And, dinner cooked on the grill and enjoyed on the picnic table - also by the river - makes the best food taste even better.

As far as we're concerned, Wendye and Shelley have the corner on the best place in Estes Park. We'll be back in 2013 for year 5!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are delightful - it just depends on whether or not you want a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
You guys are the best! We always enjoy having you guys and look forward to see you all again and giving your mom a hard time:) Or is it that she gives us a hard time, I think it goes both ways. Memorial Day 2013 will be here before you know it.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We took a chance and called River Spruce to see if they had a room on 5/4; and they did! We arrived and was escorted to the Thunderbird which was beautiful, clean (and I mean clean) with a beautiful view of the river!

The cabin was warm, charming, clean and well kept - what a dream! We started our vacation here and it was a great send off for the rest of the week.

And the greatest part - in the morning a knock on the door with a basket of "warm coffee cake"..yum!

We're planning on making this a yearly excursion!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hey there CO friends! Thanks for the kind words and using the word "clean" so many times in the review:) Above all, that's what we like to hear the most and second, how great the cake is:) Please come back this spring and let us try some new recipes on you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I've stayed at many lodges and cabins over the years while visiting Estes Park, CO. I found the River Spruce to be the best by far. Our cabin was spotless, everything worked--especially the heater and it was right on the river. In addition, all of my phone calls prior to our stay were returned promptly. We also asked for and were granted a late check-out. Now here's the kicker. On Saturday morning Wendy, one of the owners, hand delivered hot homemade coffee cake to our door. And WHOA, was it ever good!
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shllpwrs, Owner at River Spruce, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! However, you have to come back if you think Wendy's coffee cake was good...mines even better:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I, our daughter, son-in-law and his dad, and our three grandchildren rented Tom Tom and Namaqua in July 2011. We had an absolutely wonderful trip. When I asked my grandchildren 4,9 & 11 yrs old what was the better vacation... Disneyworld or Colorado, they couldn't decide. They were totally content shooting rocks across the river with a slingshot they purchased at a gift shop and hanging out in the hot tub or sitting by the fire. We also went horseback riding, 4 wheeling and rafting. Shelly and Wendy were wonderful. We are planning a return trip the summer of 2013. If we lived closer I would stay at River Spruce often. We are from Southeast Texas so it is a long drive but we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My best friend and I traveled to Estes Park in late October for a getaway. After lots of searching, we settled on River Spruce. Ohhh my God, we could not have picked a better place!! I fell in love the moment we drove up. Wendye and Shelley are the most wonderful hostesses. They are so friendly, personable, sweet, and helpful. We left feeling like good friends, not just customers. The cabins are situated in the absolutely most perfect setting. I couldn't have asked for more.....quaint and cozy cabins right on the rushing river, with benches, trees, and wildlife everywhere. It was absolutely beautiful! We were lucky enough to have arrived right after a fresh snow, so I can't even describe the beauty of it all. Each morning, the girls deliver fresh baked goodies for breakfast, and they are delicious. :-) The hot tub at night, in the cold, was awesome! I cannot wait to go back and will recommend River Spruce as often as I can, to as many people as I can. Beautiful place, beautiful hosts, beautiful memories! Thank you, River Spruce girls! :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndiCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was the perfect place for us to stay. The cabin was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed spending time relaxing by the river, using the grill and enjoying the warmth and glow of the campfire. Wendye and Shelley were very helpful and welcoming and dropped off fresh baked goods each morning. The cabin was close to town and to Rocky Mountain National Park. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickytraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
311 reviews
3.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#12 of 78 in Estes Park
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brynwood on the River
Brynwood on the River
#14 of 20 in Estes Park
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Spruce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Spruce

Property: River Spruce
Address: 2334 State Highway 66, Estes Park, CO 80517-8330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your cares behind and embark on an adventure in nature when you stay at River Spruce. You are treated to the best of both worlds: the oneness and beauty of the outdoors with all the comforts of home. Relax in your private hot tub by the river or roast a few marshmallows over the fire pit in front of your cabin. This is a place to truly relax, reflect, and renew your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your River Spruce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing