We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best BBQ Joint in Estes Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House

Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House
Ranked #4 of 129 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best BBQ Joint in Estes Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I am from Texas so I didn't expect to get good barbecue in Colorado. Well I was wrong. The food is great! The baked beans were the best I have ever had. The atmosphere was rustic but nice. I would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mtsnowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,722
    845
    235
    66
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was the first recommendation of all the locals that we asked for a recommendation. Get the combo platter and lots of ribs - oh heaven...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JillEstes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The service was great at this location and the food was very good. We ordered the Big Khuna meal and had plenty of leftovers! Be prepared for a wait as this place was busy every time we drove by...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gobuckeyes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“It's Good - Just Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is our usual stop in Estes and we visited recently in the later afternoon as the clouds rolled in over the Park so being too crowded wasn't an issue. We enjoy the food, especially the brisket and there's a kids menu for the boys. If you're a visitor, there are lots of great Colorado beers to try on tap.

For a casual spot in a tourist town, we've always found the service to be friendly even if it's not always 100% spot on. Estes isn't exactly known as a culinary destination but we always enjoy Dave's. Some have commented that it seems expensive but again Estes is largely a visitor destination and food around town can be a little pricey. I've had lots of bland, overpriced Mexican food and bad pizza in town... Just sayin'.... try Dave's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank with2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross On Wye
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't expect small portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Phoned ahead, as we read about it being busy and they put us on 15-20 min wait list! Got there within 10-15 and were seated 5 mins later. Excellent choice of very good beers and food! The Double meat Smokin Platter was superb, as was the Catfish salad! If we were in Estes Park for longer, we would be regulars!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing