We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creekside Suites & Condos
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed July 11, 2008

This is the best kept secret. Have stayed at this property (or Bugle Pointe) every trip to Estes Park. The location is excellent right on Fall River Road, between town and north entrance to RMNP. Right on the river. Lots of animals and trees. One has the choice of your own hot tub or a community hot tub near the property office. I am unsure why it has not been reviewed in the past. Our experience has been excellent every single trip. Have stayed four times and looking to book again in September. I would recommend highly without a doubt.

  • Liked — The location is the best with river and animals.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank runfar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    33
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
78
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

quiet and clean and private....lots of elk. has all necessities needed to cook.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
Thank lisaanddenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed in the Bungalow unit at Creekside Condos, which is the largest unit and sits by itself across the fall river from the other condos. The room was nicely decorated and very large (bigger than we expected) with a single king bed, 1 1/2 baths and a decent sized kitchen area. It's certainly a very big and comfortable space for two people. There's also a fairly private hottub on the deck which was perfect for relaxing on the cold Nov evenings. There was also a gas grill and patio set but we didn't get to enjoy those.

The bungalow, however, has some drawbacks:

* It is clearly used as a conference room at times (or perhaps for small parties/receptions). Virtually every drawer/cabinet was filled with wine glasses, coffee cups and plates. This includes most of the drawers of the only dresser in the room, meaning there was little room for our clothes.

* The room came stocked with coffee, tea, hot chocolate and popcorn, although none of this was refreshed after the first day except for the coffee.

* The vertical blinds in the room don't completely close. And since there were several kids that liked to play just outside the bungalow, we felt we had to be cautious to stay "covered up" inside the room.

On the whole, as far as room goes, I'd give this place relatively good marks. But then came out checkout experience...

When we went to check out out, the person at the desk claimed we were "undercharged" about $40 at checkin. Since I didn't have the receipt or reservation handy and she implied it was just a clerical error, I went ahead and paid.

Before we left though we checked the original reservation and credit card charge and they matched exactly. We went back to the office and asked why we were charged extra. She explained reluctantly that the rate on their web site was wrong and didn't add in the correct holiday mark-up for Thanksgiving Eve night. So, instead of just giving us the rate we'd been quoted (by their own web site), they tried to sneak in th extra charge without explanation.

Of course, after a bit of protesting she finally agreed to refund the extra charge, but she was never apologetic. I found it amazingly shady that they would attempt to charge us in this manner, especially without an explanation when I originally paid the "undercharged" amount.

So, given all the choices in and around Estes Park, we undoubtedly will not return to Estes Condos.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tivolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VP-of-Operations, VP of Operations at Creekside Suites & Condos, responded to this review, August 22, 2009
A few things have changed with our policy and procedures since this review was written.
The dresser is now completely empty, so the guests may use it.
Our housekeepers do restock daily all the kitchen amenities, which includes coffee, tea, sugar, creamer, hot chocolate and popcorn.
The blinds completely close.
The Bungalow is the most private condo we have (it is free standing and away from the other condos on property), and we have never had a complaint about privacy there.
We never adjust a customer’s rate after a room is reserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We found this location last year when visiting RMNP and thought it would be a good place to stay. We tried it this year. While the unit we ended up in was quite nice (Condo "A"), with a full kitchen, a bedroom and a loft with 2 baths, the service was simply awful from start to finish.

We learned during our stay that all the units are individually owned. Well, the owners should fire their management company.

We had made a reservation for a particular week when the unit we had seen last year was available. No problem from their end on that reservation. I called 2 days ahead of time - "um... we don't have you in that unit." Can we be changed to the other unit.? "I don't see why not."

When we arrived, we were booted yet again from the one we had reserved, all the while being told that "It really isn't under our control." Well, if not yours, then whose? We had chosen a quiet, isolated condo, and were put first in one in the center. Not what we had booked 8 months in advance for.

The "tidy" service on the units didn't occur until after 3PM most days, and with many long morning hikes this simply wasn't early enough to get fresh towels by the time we got back.

The unit we ended up in was okay... quiet enough, and sufficient for this trip. Leave it as said that if we return to RMNP it won't be to this property, however. There simply HAS to be a better place to stay, for the price.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank derring_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VP-of-Operations, VP of Operations at Creekside Suites & Condos, responded to this review, August 22, 2009
A few things have changed with our policy since this review was written. We do write immediate notes in a guest reservation, if they let us know of their preference towards a particular condo. Although our policy states that we “guarantee by room type, not by unit number or property,” we do accommodate most special requests. The only time it becomes an issue, is when we have to move reservations around during peak season to make room for other guests wanting to come visit. Otherwise we end up with empty nights in condos, that could be resolved by moving reservations around to open up 2 or more nights.

Tidy’s are most often started in the late morning or early afternoon, especially if the guest puts their “service” sign out on their door.

Elizabeth
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

We enjoyed our condo at Creekside. We had a lower level near the Fall River unit, and it was well decorated, well equipped and had the most comfortable king bed with high thread count sheets. It had a deck with a 4-chair patio set, overlooking the river. We were so pleased to have found this condo. It was a joy every day we were there.

Several days into our stay we had agreed to be moved to Antler Point condos. (Our own doing for booking at the last minute, caused this necessary move.) The Estes Park Condo employee(s) both on the phone and in person said it would be an equal or equivalent unit for our $225 per night. This was not completely true.

The Antler Point units are much smaller, maybe 1/2 the size. We went from having a full kitchen with utensils and a dishwasher to a unit with a kitchenette. It had a small apartment size stove, one casserole dish, a 12" wide counter top between the sink and stove. No dishwasher, no kitchen table, just a hightop patio-style table with two chairs, no deck with a table and chairs. Definitely not equal or equivalent as described.

The crazy thing was when we book they had every opportunity to tell us the truth. They had 4 days (over lapping) days available in each unit. I had to decide which unit(s), sight-unseen, we wanted for our stay. I asked what the differences were between the two units and they could only come up with ... one had a indoor hot tub and the other one is outdoors on the front porch. No one said anything about one has a kitchen and the other a kitchenette. Or that one had a deck with table and chairs and the other didn't. Or that one had sofa, loveseat and chair living room and the other had a loveseat only.

The Antler Point unit was lovely in decor, and was clean, had high-thread count sheets on the bed. It was cute, quaint and tidy. Maybe a perfect honeymoon location, or for someone who doesn't plan on cooking.

The lie-by-omission by the staff would have been easier to overlook if the unit had been priced appropriately lower than the more spacious and well equipped Creekside unit.

Will we use this company again? Yes. We very much enjoyed our Creekside accomodations. It was clean, tasteful, up-to-date.

  • Liked — Up-to-date, clean, comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — Mis-information on size of units and amenities.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Khawnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.1 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#15 of 78 in Estes Park
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#11 of 78 in Estes Park
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fawn Valley Inn
Fawn Valley Inn
#30 of 78 in Estes Park
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Estes Park Condos
Estes Park Condos
#14 of 78 in Estes Park
483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#19 of 78 in Estes Park
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Suites & Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Suites & Condos

Property: Creekside Suites & Condos
Address: 1400 David Dr, 80517, Estes Park, CO 80517-9201
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estes Park Condos features three beautifully secluded properties (Bugle Pointe, Creekside & Antlers Pointe) located in a grove of majestic pines along a secluded stretch of beautiful Fall River WITH mountain views.Relax in 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos with upscale rocky mountain decor, full kitchens, living rooms, Jacuzzi bathrooms, private hot tubs or spas and many complimentary amenities indoors and out. Enjoy FREE fishing poles and catch dinner in fully-stocked Fall River. Please see Estes Park Condos for further information and reservations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Creekside Suites & Condos Hotel Estes Park
Creekside Suites And Condos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing