We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is an awesome place........immaculate cabins, wonderful scenery and outstanding customer service. What more could you ask for? We stayed in River Castle 5 and it was perfect for our needs. The grounds were spotless and the sound of the river right outside the cabin helped make this a great experience. But the most outstanding part of staying here was the excellent customer service. The big resorts and five-star hotels could learn a lot about guest relations and customer service from these folks. Shortly after check-in (the friendliest and easiest check-in that I've ever experienced) a staff member stopped to give our dog a treat as we were unloading. We saw that same staff member the next day in Estes Park and he went out of his way to strike up a conversation and ask about our vacation. Turns out, the "staff member" was Warren, the owner of the Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 140 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is quant, clean, friendly, and convenient.
We love every aspect from the fire pits and numerous grills to the location and cleanliness. A first class place for sure.
Things to do: walk or ride your bike to town (1/2 mi), play shuffleboard, sit by the Fall River, and hike the area.
Highly recommend this over any hotel in the area. And we've stayed at plenty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

September 2012 my husband, daughter (20) and myself were driving from Kansas to see a Jason Mraz concert at Red Rocks Amphitheater and we decided to add a couple days to our trip and spend some nights in Estes Park. We were there a couple years prior, and had stayed at Castle Mountain Lodge at the Large Homestead cabin (which was fantastic) however, it was up the road from the main Lodge area. We decided we wanted to go back to Castle Mountain Lodge and stay, this time stay with the other cabins and by the office and the stream.

I don't even know where to begin, this is how much we enjoy Castle Mountain Lodge. Everything is wonderful - Not only the grounds, the location, the staff, the ambiance - This place has it all! Lejune (I think that's her name) is Top Notch. Fantastic lady. We were on the phone for about 15 minutes when I called to book the cabin. She was telling me about each and every cabin that was available, describing everything to me. Gold Star Customer Service.

We happened to be there out of sheer luck, the same weekend of Aspen Gold Festival. The Aspens are golden, and simply breathtaking. We stayed in River Castle 1, which was PERFECT. The kitchen was fully stocked, fireplace, two comfortable recliners if you choose to relax and watch some evening television, and daily wood delivery to your doorstep!

We had a fire in the fire pit each night, which is located by the stream. The year before we happened to run into a bear, yes a bear, who was sitting across the stream watching us from the street. I think hubby was hoping he could re-enact the same thing this year, but our little friend was a no-show.

Castle Mountain Lodge is located close enough to town to be perfect, but yet far enough away to feel you're away from civilization.

We saw wild turkeys roaming the grounds every day which was quite the sight. The morning and early evening are my favorite time at Castle Mountain Lodge. Everyone is out and sittingon their patio, making breakfast or dinner, and saying hello and making friends. We love it here so much we're booking another September trip, which will be our THIRD time there. People we've talked to while there said they return year after year after year and we can see why.

Fantastic for a family, or a romantic get-away. We just love Castle Mountain Lodge and we recommend it to everyone that says they're taking a trip to Estes Park.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyLuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We always wanted to try Castle Mountain Lodge and finally we were able to on this last visit to Estes Park. We stayed for 5 nights in the room named the Great Room. This was an incredible room that is fairly new construction and is really cool architecture (wood beams, lots of windows, built right up to a rock wall, etc.). The private hot tub on the deck is perfect for 2 people. The service was great. Would highly recommend this place and will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtwalsh367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and our two boys decided to "get away" to Castle Mountain Lodge and stayed in Castle River 7. This huge cabin has a separate bedroom, a well supplied full kitchen, and a nice private spa. The spa is in it's own separate ventilated area so the smell and humidity doesn't impinge on the rest of the cabin like some other places you might have been. There's also a nice "back" patio and BBQ Grille which I'm sure would have been a lot of fun in the summer. Despite obviously being a somewhat older building, it's been kept in excellent repair and very clean. More people could have easily fit into this room (up to 6 adults I'd guess) making the price also a great value. For a small mountain town, the wifi/internet worked quite well and there was plenty of cable channels on TV for when we wanted TV. We loved the wood fireplace which came supplied for us with everything needed to build a warm fire!

LuJean the owner was very friendly and helpful for our every need throughout our trip. I felt like we were staying at a B&B. It was an incredibly relaxing stay with absolutely no problems at all. I don't get to say that very often about any lodging experience. The location couldn't be more perfect as well - beautiful! My kids kept remarking the whole time "It's so quiet Daddy!".

What a great place to come with family!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was my husband and I's third Christmas at Castle Mountain Lodge and everything was perfect as usual. It's a wonderful feeling when Lu Jean, the manager, greets you upon your arrival like you are close family, home for the holidays. We stayed in River Castle 7 which is roomy, comfortable and very romantic. The Hot Tub felt so great after spending the day snowshoeing in Rocky Mountain National Park. The cabin was very clean and someone dropped by daily to see if we needed anything. I cannot recommend Castle Mountain Lodge highly enough and we look forward to spending Christmas there again another year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were only staying one night, so we stayed in one of the rooms. It was perfect. Small, but very comfortable with plenty of room, very quiet, comfortable beds and a little porch we could sit out on. The rooms were exceptionally clean and updated, but still have the cabin feel. The entire staff was friendly and helpfull and the setting was great. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtnlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 28 in Estes Park
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nicky's Resort
Nicky's Resort
#19 of 28 in Estes Park
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Woodlands on Fall River
The Woodlands on Fall River
#10 of 74 in Estes Park
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#17 of 74 in Estes Park
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#28 of 74 in Estes Park
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Lodge

Address: 1520 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9104
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing