We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time!”

National Park Gateway Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Saddle up with our horses and guide as we ride through the scenic trails and meadows in the Colorado Rockies. We offer a range of tours from a two-hour ride which includes beautiful points of interest like Fall River, Hidden Meadow and the enchanting Horseshoe Park. Along with four and six-hour tours, we also offer a full-day experience for the most adventurous spirits that explores the Roaring River, Ypsilon Lake and the historic Lawn Lake. Bring snacks and water for the ride, or join us for our Dinner Ride which includes a ride through Rocky Mountain National Park and a dinner at the Trailhead Restaurant. As part of a family business with over 40 years of experience, we pride ourselves on the care and love we have for our horses, these mountains and your safety and experience. Join us soon for a unique western adventure soon!
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
309 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to Estes Park on a family vacation and my daughter picked this adventure. We did the 2 hr ride which was enough. Got to see parts of RM Nat'l Park that you would not normally see. The horses are all good - kinda felt mine was a bit of a mule - stubborn! The guides where great - ours knew her stuff - she was a student working here for the summer. My advise is to go on the early morning ride because it is cooler and the horses aren't as tired, wear jeans, close toed shoes & bring a water bottle. This place is a bit tricky to find and there aren't great signs - just says "Stables". Little hard to walk after riding a horse for 2 hours ;-) Have a great time - this was pretty fun!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wiscmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    61
    19
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a first horseback ride for both my daughter (8) and son (4). They loved every moment of the ride and keep asking when we can go back. Owen, our guide, was fantastic! He made my son feel so comfortable on the ride and checked his saddle (plus all of ours) halfway through the ride. Our horses, Doc, Socks, Jags, and Captain were beautiful and very reliable. We will certainly book another ride when we are back in Estes Park!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristineh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome pony ride!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Walked with my daughter on a pony named "Skittles" for a thirty minute trail loop. The trail is definitely a better fit for horses as it got pretty treacherous while on foot, but my daughter loved it.

Just a note, ask the cowboy/ girl at the stable to make sure the saddle wont slip, during a rough part on the trail the saddle came loose and I had to catch my daughter to keep her from falling off.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheClarksin C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grammy and girls”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My two granddaughters (14 and 10) and I had a great--read that as fun and safe--time. Judaea was pleasant, knowledgeable and competent; she didn't miss a thing with her group. We had a 2hour ride and enjoyed listening to Fall River as well as appreciating the Rocky Mountain Park scenery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HulaTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went on a 2 hour tour this morning with Owen as our guide and had an amazing time. The views from the trail are amazing and the horses basically walk themselves (Henry needed some encouragement at times). This is great way for family members of all ages to experience the beauty of Estes Park at a nice relaxed pace.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Park Gateway Stables also viewed

 

Been to National Park Gateway Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing