We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Food, But Not for the Price”

Mountain Munchies & The Tiki Bar
Ranked #72 of 129 Restaurants in Estes Park
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Mountain Munchies opened May 2005, serving the best hot dogs in Estes Park, Colorado. The Tiki Bar was added in 2010, making the place rock all summer long. We have live music every Friday and Saturday night. Our bartenders make boat drinks from real fruit and juices, they make the best mojitos in the Rocky Mountains, and they are the friendliest bartenders in town. The Tiki Bar has the largest selection of rum in Northern Colorado, ask about our rum runners club. So if you want that island experience when visiting the mountains, a place where you can escape the downtown bustle and sit next to the Big Thompson River on our outdoor patio, the only place to be is the TIKI BAR. Come, sit, and stay on our patio by the Big Thompson river where the boat drinks are made fresh, the staff is laid back and the Island music never stops. Live music on Friday and Saturday nights. Best outdoor patio in Estes Park, Colorado, with the Rocky Mountain National Park in the background. Hang out where the locals party!
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent Food, But Not for the Price”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

So the burgers and fries were decent, but the price was ridiculous. We paid over $15.00 each for a burger, fries and small drink. While there was nothing wrong with the food, I've had better for less money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jill7983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better food in a gas station”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very disappointing. Very expensive; terrible value. Cheeseburgers were over $8, were overcooked and had no flavor. Chili dog: well, the person who had this said that it was worse than a gas station hotdog. Sodas and shakes were small and over-priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Badeswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great atmosphere by the river”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a great place just off the beaten path. (It's by the parking lot next to the post office.) It has a pretty small selection of bar and grill type foods, but there is a pretty good variety for the small size of the menu. The sweet potato fries are excellent! It is a very small building with counter to order and the kitchen/grill right behind the counter and a relatively small area outside but covered along the river to eat. The tables are small, as is true of many if not most of the restaurants in Estes Park. The atmosphere is one of my favorite in Estes Park. The tables right on the river are burly, chunky, mountainy bar tables but comfortable enough with places for us short people to rest our feet. The food is consistent, hot and tasty. The condiments and drink station is small and right next to the door out of the building so it requires some "dancing" with strangers, but all the strangers in Estes Park are friendly. In fact, moving to and from your table is a little cramped. Despite the small size, we have never had trouble finding a table and have not seen others have trouble. This is also a favorite place of our kids' (ages 5 and 7). Worth a stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tiki Bar - yeah”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

So maybe you are headed back to your cabin, then you spot a giant elk, which is across the street from a Tiki Bar. You wander in after a long day of Hiking, asking for a recommendation - then they are like oh, we have some fresh mangos. I get a Mango Margarita and sit outside.

After hiking all day, you see a giant elk then sit by the river at the Tiki Bar drinking a fresh mango margarita.

Awesome!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Try the MT Bomber!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was looking for something local to grab a quick bite to eat and this place sounded interesting. It's tucked out of the way off the main street right next to the river and the building doesn't look like much but I decided to give it a try anyways. I ordered the MT Bomber which is a hot dog wrapped in bacon and deep fried. It was delicious!! They also have elk brats and other various foods as well. Definitely stop here if you're into trying something new!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Munchies & The Tiki Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Munchies & The Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing