We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the value”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was our second stay in Discovery Lodge, we came here 3 years ago and liked to come back to their new remodeled rooms. We had 2 queens, downstairs with great 2 big windows with nice views over Estes Park and mountains in the distance. Our overall satisfaction is good but went down from the last stay. Here are few recommendations for hotel mangers if they read those reviews: bathroom showed signed of redo, new shower fixers, very nice BUT to make it really nice they should buy curtain rod that is curved and use softer curtain to give shower more room and more pleasant appearance. Toilet paper holder is in such a place that you have to be a gymnast to be able to use it ( we removed the roll and kept it close).
Room is very specious, beds nice firm but very comfortable. The only negative was glass in the door has not coverage so in the morning if you sleep longer than sun raise you will have a sun in your eyes.
Be aware that there is no AC in those rooms ( last time we were in 1 queen and there was a small AC unit), it was not a big problem but there is no air flow through the room so kind of difficult to keep it cool.
Overall it is still very nice hotel, we may be back, but back to smaller room.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bozenaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we appreciate the comments that our guest have about our property, we are working on the appearance of our rooms and we will definitely take all the suggestions for your preference.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,033)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you are looking for a clean funky room with the vibes of old-time - check out Discovery Lodge. It's a motel not a hotel. It was one of the most least expensive place we could find! I don't go for "cheap!" I go for good value! We paid $129.00/night plus tax.

My hubby and I stayed in Room 307 - on the end but up high. Great little deck to sit out on which we did every night with a view of the mountains. Our room had a king- size comfortable bed! Granted you open the door and hit the bed - but the room is bright with a fridge! The bathroom is very updated. There are no a/c in any of the rooms which when we stayed would have helped but normally it doesn't get 95 degrees in Estes Park!

There is a pond on the property you can walk around & there is free WiFi. You can head to the office in the morning for free coffee! We even saw a few smaller dogs that were "guests." I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Pick 307-312- it's up higher with view of mountains. You park right in front of your door. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teach4Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

We are glad you liked your room and that you enjoyed your stay here in Estes Park.please come visit us again we would love to see you again.
Thank you for the good comments and for taking your time to write this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night in a queen room with a balcony. The room was well-maintained and comfortable, and the balcony had a nice view of the pond and golf course. The lodge is walking distance to Safeway and downtown, which we appreciated. Overall, very nice accommodations at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Funfetti624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Thank you for your time and your good comments about our property we are glad you enjoyed your stay!



Hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff was friendly. They have a catch and release pond and playground for the kids. We had a great view of the fireworks from the fishing pond. We didn't have to fight crowds to see the fireworks, we just walked outside our room. We even had a picnic table outside our door. It is within walking distance to downtown.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Thank you for choosing Discovery Lodge as your place to stay for the 4th of July. We are glad you liked your stay and that you were able to actually enjoyed the fireworks from our property.
we would love to see you again soon!


Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We recently stayed at the Otis House for 3 nights. We rented the whole house for our entire family since my daughter was getting married in Estes Park. The location was perfect! The house was absolutely wonderful. Very clean, spacious and all 9 adults and 1 baby were very comfortable. Melinda made sure we had a crib and high chair for the baby and everyone I dealt with was so friendly. Wonderful view of the mountains. Back deck was perfect for a family BBQ! Elk in the backyard. The house was well stocked and we all felt at home. The Otis House made the trip to Estes for the wedding even more special! Would definitely recommend this property !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us we are happy that you like the property and that you enjoyed your stay at the Otis House we would definitely like to see you and your family again.
Once again thank you for the good comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I just stayed two nights at the Discovery Lodge in Estes Park and were very pleased with the experience. Our room was very clean and had a great view of the mountains from the private balcony. The grounds were very well kept and the fishing pond with a fountain was a nice touch. The lodge is located only a couple of blocks from downtown and very close to the Estes Park visitors center which has free shuttles to everywhere. Overall, an excellent deal for the price and we will definitely keep this one in mind for our next visit to Estes Park.

Room Tip: Room 508 has a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Thank you for your preference and we would love to see you again in our property.
we are working on the appearence of our rooms we appreciate all the comments and hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our room was very clean and well maintained. If there was anything that could be improved, it was the size of the bathroom but the property and cleanliness more than made up for that. The lodge is centrally located and easy to get to. I loved the furniture that was made out of wood poles and was very nice looking. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Thank you for the good review on our property we would love to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
631 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 28 in Estes Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $63 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing