We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Spectacular Little Gem!”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Oh, the great things I could say. This place is so perfect! I love the location in Estes Park, tucked between the mountains in a slice of heaven. My boyfriend and I stayed with our dog Izzie March 21-23, 2014. Brenda was such a delite to chat with and very kind to offer her opinion. Loved getting coffee in the mornings. The price is so affordable. I will certainly recommend and stay with Discovery Lodge again!

Room Tip: Stayed in 308 - Top room with a mountain view and parking right out the front door. Rustic Mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words in describing our lovely little retreat! We are happy to know that you felt so comfortable with our front desk staff (Brenda) and that we were able to help you in whatever you needed! We look forward to seeing you soon and have an awesome week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We wanted a one night in Estes Park. Wow what a relaxing time in a very nice clean and quite place to stay. Brenda was very helpful and full of great places to see. Plus she recommended a great place to eat. There is a little private lake with a terrific view to boot. The price was right too.

Room Tip: Ask for the top room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are happy that you were able enjoy your stay here and relax! We are always happy to help in making your stay that much better!! Hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at Discovery Lodge for 3 nights in August, 2013 and were very pleased with the place. We had a great room overlooking the golf course with a small balcony with table and chairs. Inside, the room was very comfortable, with a table and chairs at the window ;we could eat breakfast overlooking the mountains in the distance or the gofl course. A herd of elk could be heard from the golf course in the early morning hours. We travel with our own food for breakfast, the refrigerator in the room came in handy. Estes Park is close by and very charming. The Stanley Hotel is a fun place to visit. We also needed to do laundry, there was a perfect little family owned laundromat just a few blocks away. The pool is no longer in service, but the hot tub was great! Shortly after we returned home, we heard there was a lot of flooding in the area-hope the damage was minimal. If we return to the area, we would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaPNaperville_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel and for the kind words. We are glad to know that we we're able to meet your needs during your stay here at the Discovery Lodge! Please come and see us again! We look forward to serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Brenda was very helpful and the room was at a very affordable price for how beautiful the scenery was and how adorably the room was renovated, including an amazing view of the sunset behind the mountains and right off the main road. The staff was incredibly friendly and gave us tips where to eat in town and what to see! Definitely recommend staying in this cozy little motel, you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have an amazing view of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It pleases us to know that we have done our job serving you in the best way possible! Estes Park is a place of sanctuary and the fact that you were able to benefitt from our views and the scenery around us puts a smile on our face! Please come and see us again soon!!!

The Discovery Lodge Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I have been to the discovery lodge several times now for our "staycations". We came back because the staff has been consistently friendly. We stayed at the king suite with an awesome balcony view. The wood trimmings used in the room design give them a cabin feel and the effort shows on the staff's behalf. There's a small lake and gazebo nearby for added charm. It's cozy and cheap which can be hard to come by in a motel. If you need a coffee maker, just ask. Everything in Estes Park is walking distance from the motel, including the Stanley Hotel and the downtown district. If anything, the walls are thin but that is expected for a motel. We would definitely come back. Thanks to David and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your kind words in regards to you stay with us here at the Discovery Lodge! We are glad to know that we have met your needs and beyond. Making your stay a great one is our number on priority! We hope to see you again soon!!

The Discovery Lodge Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Everything was perfect!!
We had a large group of 16 people with kids and adults! The size of the house was exactly what we needed. Plenty of room for the kids to be kids and the adults to relax.
The location was ideal nice and close to town.... on our last day we had a visit from a herd of elk, very cool!
Everything was clean, stocked, and ready for us upon arrival. The entire staff at the Discovery lodge were AWESOME!!! Very friendly and accommodated us with whatever we needed. We look forward to our next family mini vacation, we will definitely be staying at the Otis house!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allwrighty323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

It is good to hear you were able to take advantage of all the many different things the Otis House has to offer. We are pleased to know that it fulfilled your expectations. Finding a house that can hold that many people comfortably can be hard and we are happy to know you found that in the Otis House! It is good to know also that our staff was able to help you with any and everything! We will see you again soon!!

The Discovery Lodge Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I take a long weeekend in Estes Park every year. We had been staying at the same place for years and decided to to try somewhere new. The ambience of the duck pond, the proximity to town and the staff were amazing (thanks David and Brenda!). The layout of the studio was perfect for what we needed. Even better, they welcome dogs! This is perfect for us since our huskies enjoyed the getaway weekend even as much as we did! We would definitely stay at The Discovery Lodge again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Office Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the many kind words! Thank you also for trying something new with the Discovery Lodge! We feel we have done our job correct when we get reviews like this! Feel free to come back to us on your next visit this way and always bring the huskies! :)

The Discovery Lodge Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,524 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
1,069 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $75 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing