We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Days in Estes Park”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A great setting for this motel with elk wandering through the golf course next to our room. Easy access to our room, however being on the lower level we heard activity in the room above us. The rooms were very clean and plenty of room for the 4 sisters to share a fun few days together in beautiful Estes Park.

Room Tip: lower rooms were noisy, but no problem sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind review on your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are particularly lucky that the elk frequently pass through our property as they move through the valley. We always appreciate their visits because we know how much our guests love them. We hope we are in your travel plans the next time you visit Estes Park. Next time you may want to try one of our suites with fireplaces for your group. Thank you, and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had an amazing holiday In Estes Park, Discovery Lodge was perfect for us the cabin was spacious, comfortable, warm and quiet. we loved it and would definitely stay again. The staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HyldaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Hello, and thank you for the kind review regarding your stay with us here at Discovery Lodge. Our luxury log cabin is a beautiful way to visit Estes Park and the nearby Rocky Mountain National Park. We are glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon. Thanks and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The motel is near Rocky Mountain Park. I was traveling with friends and stayed in a 3 bed, 1 bath room. The room was comfortable and had a fireplace. The best part of staying at this motel was waking up and discovering elk a few yards from the room. The motel had free Wi-Fi. The motel did not have a hair dryer in the room.

Overall the motel met my needs. I spent most of my time in Rocky Mountain Park. The room was a nice place to rest in the evening and to sleep. Based on seeing the elk, I would stay at the motel again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraveltheGlobe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for the kind review regarding your stay with us here at Discovery Lodge. The elk are frequent visitors to our main property with our close proximity to the golf course. We are always excited to see them and know that they make for a memorable experience for our guests. We always appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Thanks, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have stayed in the small cabin they have over and over and are never disappointed. The rough pine and the wonderful ambiance really helps get rid of all the stress of the city. Though there are only 2 of use the cabin does have 2 bedrooms. The newly remodeled bath is so great I take long showers and never want to come out. I love the ability to cook in the large kitchen and we have had family up for the day to join us for a holiday dinner. The living room is large and the TV and phone were great as well. I hope everyone starts going back to this great town as the fall is the time to see all the ELK and there is nothing like rolling your car window down and have the little ones come up to you.

Room Tip: We just do the cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Discovery Lodge. Our cabin can be a spacious retreat for two or cozily sleep up to 6. It can be a beautiful place to host small gatherings with its generous seating area and kitchen. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Don't let the price fool you. This is a great gem. Close to everything. Helpful staff, quaint. Clean rooms. We had a balcony and watched the elk on the golf course. Fridge in room. Hot tub small but nice. Great bed. Small shelf space in bathroom but well kept and a bargin.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank tracyblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Hello, and thank you for the kind review regarding your stay with us at Discovery Lodge. We always appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Thanks, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

All our preferred Estes Park hotel choices for our weekend adventure in the National Park were all booked, so we were happy to snag a room at the Discovery Lodge. It served our purpose as a base for our day in the park. The elk roaming the Lodge grounds were wonderful. However, that where the charming ended. Our room was very tired even though it looked like there had been a recent attempt to fix it up. The beds were clean and pleasantly comfortable. There was a mini fridge and flat screen TV. Our room faced away from the road, so it was quiet. I felt sorry for the rooms above us that did face the road. There is a mall across the street with a supermarket and a wine & liquor store which was very handy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GWHconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Discovery Lodge. We have been hard at work renovating all of our units to meet the needs of modern travelers while keeping that rustic feel. The elk are frequent visitors on our property as they migrate around the valley and we appreciate them every time they visit. We are grateful for your business and hope to see you again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A clean spacious quiet room. Comfortable beds and the grounds were well maintained. Parking was very convenient to our room. Every morning we watched the elk grazing. Early morning and late evening swalks with our dog was refreshing and peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas29144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay with us here at Discovery Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed the unique features we are able to offer because of our convenient location. We always appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Thanks, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 28 in Estes Park
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $63 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing