We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms on the edge of town”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This large establishment is located on the east side of town, almost across the street from the Stanley Hotel. If you need to be IN the downtown area, look elsewhere. Rooms were large and very comfy, if a bit dated, but with the separate vanity area that makes getting ready in the morning easier. No AC as mentioned, but we used the box fan and for us, it was fine. No hairdryer in the room, but they had them at the desk. Large pond, (you can fish!) playground, horseshoes and huge grounds make it a very attractive site for families. Our first floor room had sliding glass doors to the outside as the only door, which might make some people nervous. Safeway and many other useful stores across the street. The town Information center is right next door and you can take a shuttle to downtown if you want to ditch your car for a while. (Although parking seemed plentiful and free in town.) This motel seemed a bit expensive to me, but I guess that's what you get in a resort town like Estes Park.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room if sliding glass door would make you nervous.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bverbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are a short walk (around 5 minutes) from downtown Estes Park. You don’t even have to cross at a light to get there as there is a convenient tunnel just past the Visitor Center taking you under Hwy 36. We do offer several amenities upon request (microwaves, coffee makers, hairdryers, and cribs). Not all of our rooms feature sliding doors so please tell the front desk agent if they make you nervous and we can place you in one of our other rooms. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for one night in July, and had a good experience. Check-in went smoothly. The room was large and clean, but also dated and a bit worn. The location was fantastic and the price was right. I wouldn't have wanted to stay a week here, but 1-2 nights was just fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnysideGirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review on your stay at the Discovery Lodge. We have been working hard to update all of our rooms to meet the needs and sensibilities of modern travelers. Just make sure to ask for one of our recently renovated rooms when you book. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were hit with unseasonably hot weather. Since the facility had no A/C it was miserable trying to sleep. The box fan helped but not enough. Price was right. décor somewhat dated. Coffee in the room would have helped. The Elk grazing in the playground were entertaining.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1387555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Discovery Lodge. One of our high priority items this winter is upgrading our power grid so that we can do things like have coffee makers in all of our rooms. In the meantime we are happy to provide things like coffee makers, hairdryers and microwaves upon request. If you ask before you arrive we can ensure the items will be in your room at check-in. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights this month and really liked it. Room was roomy, nearly next door to the visitor center for the free town and park shuttles, and groceries across the highway. The staff was so friendly and responsive for any needs. We would definitely stay here again. There is no longer a pool here if that's important, but they do have a small hot tub.

Room Tip: Back building is against the golf course, so early morning golfers.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. While the pool at Discovery Lodge may no longer be in service, we do have a sister lodge just 1/4 mile east on Hwy 34. Coyote Mountain Lodge features a pool and hot tub that any guest of Discovery Lodge is welcome to use (even people at our cabin or Otis house properties). We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed seven nights at this modest motel in Estes Park. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The price was right. Since our stay in Estes Park was geared to visit Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park, we didn't need anything more than a great place to sleep. We would definitely come back. By the way, there is a stocked trout pond on premises, and a herd of deer grazed on the motel grounds one morning. Nice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. The elk and the mule deer are frequent visitors on our property. We are glad to be able to provide reasonably priced accommodations during your adventures in Rocky Mountain National Park. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days while in town for a friend's wedding. We were impressed with the cleanliness of our room and how quaint it was. The location was perfect, we were within walking distance to downtown as well as the visitors center where you have access to shuttles. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzIE44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We love the fact that we are so close to the Visitor Center and its shuttles. It is a great resource for our guests and is part of what makes our location so wonderful. We appreciate having you and hope that you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Make sure when you go, you take your own hair dryer. There isn't a hotel in the country that doesn't have a hairdryer in the room these days, but this one doesn't. I didn't think to look for this until after I got out of the shower - my bad. The bed was very comfy, the TV fairly good, our room had a little back porch on it that was really nice. Our room also did have A/C but we only had it on for about 10 minutes to cool us off after our walk back from town. The room otherwise was cool and comfy. The only other thing my husband did not like was there was no comfortable chair in the room, causing him to have to lie on the bed to watch TV later in the evening. I guess I don't understand why it is so hard for owners of a hotel to put a comfortable chair in the room. Check in was easy - the host was very nice and courteous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. Due to the fact that our buildings are older, we have had to limit the number of electrical devices we provide to every room. We do provide items like hairdryers, microwaves and coffee makers on request. Our top priority project this winter is to upgrade the electrical system in our buildings so that we can provide those expected amenities in every room. A good part of the reason why we are making these changes is because it is something we have had requested by our guests, so do keep bringing to our attention areas where we can improve because we want to be able to provide that perfect night’s stay. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,479 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
322 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#4 of 29 in Estes Park
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $75 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing