We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
huntsville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

wonderful spacious room with comfortable beds. Perfect Estes Park location. Super friendly stff made us feel right at home. my only complaint is that there is no in-room coffee and the office does not open until 7. too late for morning coffee if you are hitting the trails early.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are working to upgrade our electrical system to our buildings so that we can make coffee makers available in all of our units. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    326
    110
    36
    22
See reviews for
278
418
79
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed in the Discovery Lodge Cabin the weekend before my son's oreintation at CSU (about an hour away). The cabin is well maintained, comfortable with great views of the town and the Rocky Mountains. The cabin has a private garage, large picture windows overlooking the mountains, 2 BR/1BA and an additional nook with a futon. Outside there is a gas bbq. What a great find! One word of caution...there is no air conditioning but we really didn't need it (Even in late June).

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. The cabin is a beautiful place to stay for a small gathering, or a couple looking for an intimate retreat. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fish pond, fire circle, grass and space for relaxing, not typical concrete motel; easy parking, basic room, good beds for economical price and setting feels like a relaxed mountain lodge. Friendly staff. There is a paved walking path to get to some restaurants and market; the highway is a little busy to drive in and out of driveway, just be patient.

Room Tip: Away from the road, lower area near pond and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank italybutterfly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We enjoy being able to create that relaxing play space so near to the activity of downtown Estes Park. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed in room 202,small but nicely furnished.Balcony had to be shared with next door guest not so great.Also noise was a nuisance.Went to use the computer and printer in the lobby to print out boarding passes for airline, got started only to find out there was no ink jet in printer.No note on computer or printer .Desk was no help Had to check in at denver airport in lines.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e_knott74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are sorry to hear that the printer was not working for you. We are glad to be able to provide the luxury of a computer and printer to our guests and do seek to keep them in working order. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Two hour journey from Denver and lovely place to stay for the first 3 nights of our holiday. Easy walk into Estes Park for dining and bars. Rocky Mountain Naional Park only a 20 min drive away. Used it for the start of our holiday and stepping stone on our route to Yellowstone National Park.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend, or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visisted last week. I enjoyed our stay, it was inexpensive and near everything I wanted to do. The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. The guy who checked us in even walked us around the grounds to show us the hot tub and ice machine. For the price- Excelent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are proud of all of our staff and continue to encourage that they go above and beyond to provide wonderful customer service. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent location, walking distance to Stanley hotel, Safeway, couple of restaurants.

My friends and I stayed at room 311. The room was on the second floor but you wouldn't realize it because you drive up to the second floor. The room has a good view of the mountains.

The room is rustic but clean and comfortable. Has a flat screen tv and a small refrigerator. No coffee maker though. If you want hot water or coffee/tea, you can get them from the office which opens till 11pm. The bathroom is surprisingly sparkling clean with new fixtures and all...except they don't have a screen or curtains for the bathroom window. So if you take a shower or a dump, you'll have to close the frosted window.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Echo924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are glad that you appreciated the effort we take to keep our rooms cleaned to the highest standard. We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing