We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 nights of beauty and comfort”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New London, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“4 nights of beauty and comfort”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I loved this motel and hated to leave it. It was clean and spacious. The pine furniture was beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful. Although I didn't catch any fish in their pond, I had fun trying every morning and evening. The hot tub was wonderful and I used it often. I do wish that the pool was useable. My queen room had a refrig, but no microwave or coffee maker. Only coffee, green tea and hot choc was offered in the mornings in the lobby. A muffin or fresh fruit would of been an added plus. There was no AC, but the standing fan supplied was adequate. My room was #103 which was at the ground level with the pond view. Unfortunately, my room was directly below the office which was extremely noisy with footsteps until 11pm. The perfect room would be # 101, which I will be requesting next time if I come to Estes Park again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room # 103 which is directly below the office and is noisy until 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol50733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for you nice words! We are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe you'll be able to catch fish next year. We will stock more I'm sure. :)
We will also give you room 101 instead if you'd prefer next time too. If you're able to come in the winter, our rates are cheaper and its a lot quieter around here. Our office closes earlier too at 9pm instead. We are also able to put the hair dryer, microwave and coffee maker in room before you arrive next time. You just let us know when! Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    333
    114
    36
    22
See reviews for
287
426
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in early June and found it to be an excellant value. The room was spacious and while it seems to be an older property, everything in the bedroom and bath was updated. We were on the first floor and could hear the people in the room above walking and could hear voices through the door (that would be used if you had ajoining rooms) between rooms. But it wasn't a big deal, as they weren't very noisy. The location is great, on the main street going into town, just a short distance to downtown, across the street from a supermarket with the a gas station with the best gas prices in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clrwtrjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for the review! Glad to know you had a great time and got to take advantage of our great location. We do update rooms every year during our down time in the winter. So next time you come out, everything will be updated even more. Also, if you come during the winter, our rates our cheaper and its a lot more quieter around here. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

when we first checked into room carpet dirty ,bandaid on bathroom floor, end table had frosting on it. told management about it they came down an hour later(it was a busy time for check ins) They cleaned everything up very nicely. told us they would take 25$ off the nite tay well it;s a month later and still have not seen a credit. oh well.. The next 3 night were just fine. perfect location our room faced the mountains and we just steped over a short fence to go play the 9 hole golf course 2 days. walked up hill to the catholic church for morning mass and walked across the street to the movie theater.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogeytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We areo sorry to hear that happened. Please give our office a call if you have yet to see that credit on your account. We are very upset that this happened. We do assure you that will NOT happen ever again. We hope you are able to come up for another visit. We are happy to hear that you were able to take full advantage of our great location. Hope you all may enjoy it again soon. Thanks again very much and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed in the Otis house and it was awesome! Worked amazing for how many people we had!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Our 6 bedroom house is the best! You get not only the 6 bedrooms, but two full kitchens, dining areas and living areas! Glad you and your group were able to take advantage of it! Request it next time you come out. We also have a 2 bedroom Cabin located right next door to our Otis House if you have a smaller group with ya. Thanks so much for the review! We hope to see you all again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at the Discovery Lodge in early June. We reserved "cozy 2 queens"; there were only two rooms in this category (302 or 303) - my parents reserved the other. The property was near the visitors center and only a short walk to the downtown shops and restaurants. We loved that we could park at the property and not worry about driving for the day.

The property itself was great. Couldn't beat the rate and the room was clean and comfortable. They don't have air conditioning, but with cool mountain nights and the provided fan, we slept perfectly. The room had a mini-fridge which was great, and tolietries were provided. I can't remember which room my husband and I were in (I think 303), but our room's bathroom was recently renovated and my parents was not. The renovated bathroom was definitely nicer, but the bathroom in the other room was perfectly fine.

The hottub was nice, but small. And busy. All well, maybe we'll get to try it next time.

Will definitely return to the Discovery Lodge. Next time will try to get a King Balcony room in the 300 block.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for the review! The 300 buildings are always very popular. Next time we will certainly try to get you up on the balcony rooms on the top floor. Better views and less noise. The hot tub can get busy, but if you come out during the winter, a lot less people. You'll be able to take advantage of the for sure then! Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over last week. For the price, the room met all our needs. Very clean and comfortable to stay in. It is not the most luxurious hotel out there but we really enjoyed our room!! Nice view as well. Only thing was the hot tub was VERY VERY cold and we could not get it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are more on the cozy, cabin feel than anything and we are so glad you liked it! Consider us the next time you come up to Estes. The hot tub must have just gotten cleaned when you tried to use it. It does take a while for it to warm back up after changing all the water. We hope you are able to take full advantage of it next time. Thanks so much for your review and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We made a reservation here because they allow pets (for an extra fee). We reserved a Mountain View suite because of the description on the web site. Unfortunately the description did not match the room. There was no dining table or TV in the bedroom as listed on the site. Room was clean, grounds unkempt with little area for dogs. Sheets thin, no coffee in room, no comfortable chairs. One tiny wastebasket and threadbare rugs and tiny bathroom. I'm sure there are many better choices in the area for a stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hoback9854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your standards. We do allow dogs every where on our property (which is 5 acres). We do not have any restrictions on to where they can go as long as they are not disturbing other guests and as long as they are cleaned up after. All rooms do have one small table with two chairs. We do have rooms that have full 4 top tables. All rooms do have TV's as well with basic cable. We are always more than happy to provide extra sheets, coffee makers, microwaves, extra chairs (if we have extra chairs) upon request. All rooms also have 2 trash cans, one being in bathroom and one in living area. If you need extra, again, we are more than happy to provide. We can also have all these extra things in the room for you before you arrive to checkin, upon request.
Thanks for letting us know how your stay was. But again, sorry it was not up to your standards. We would like everyone's experience in Estes Park to be great, whether with us or not. We appreciate your business regardless. Consider us next time, if not, hope you have a great experience in Estes Park.
Take care!
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
302 reviews
2.3 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
761 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing