We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is Not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tavern 1929

Tavern 1929
Ranked #30 of 127 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is Not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had breakfast buffet. $15. Gravy tasted canned. Biscuits were dry. Cook seemed like he was ready to go home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    103
    43
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre food, poor quality with high prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

View was very nice. Ordered a steak (came out overcooked), the wild game meatloaf (fair, nothing special), and spinach artichoke dip. Dip came out almost immediately and had obviously been under a warmer--saw the obvious difference in quality as fresh dip was being delivered to other tables. Mashed potatoes accompanying meal were bland. Prices were very high for the poor quality.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I have eaten in the tavern multiple times and had an excellent experience every time. The atmosphere is relaxing and the views breathtaking. We travel to Estes Park at least once a year, and we always end up eating at the lodge. They have anything from salads and sandwiches to steaks and fish, so there is something for every price range For a lite dinner on a budget, I suggest the French Onion soup and salad. Tasty, filling, and reasonably priced. My husband had the Mountain Man Meatloaf, which was made from local wild game. Delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arleen1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Average all around. First thing we noticed was that the room's furnishings needed updating. There was no view. Food was just OK. Service was OK.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service, bad food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The waiter was super nice! The food, on the other hand, wasn't. Service was fast. Too fast. I wondered if the food was being cooked freshly or if it was just being reheated. The New York wasn't even a Safeway-quality cut of meat. It was and tasted like a $5 piece of meat, but cost $30. The trout was okay, but having skin still on it made it harder to eat. EVERYTHING, whether it was chicken, steak, or fish, had a stick of rosemary stuck in it. The mussels, while the broth was good, were overcooked and chewy. The molten lava cake was more like a chocolate-flavored sponge cake with heated Hershey's chocolate syrup injected inside, and probably cost $1 to make but cost $7. When I came here 5 years ago, it was almost impossible to get a table. Now the restaurant has lots of empty tables. The potato fries, however, were good. The food quality has degraded a lot in 5 years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelC1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 1929 also viewed

 

Been to Tavern 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing