We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tavern 1929

Tavern 1929
Ranked #30 of 127 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Average all around. First thing we noticed was that the room's furnishings needed updating. There was no view. Food was just OK. Service was OK.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    103
    43
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service, bad food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The waiter was super nice! The food, on the other hand, wasn't. Service was fast. Too fast. I wondered if the food was being cooked freshly or if it was just being reheated. The New York wasn't even a Safeway-quality cut of meat. It was and tasted like a $5 piece of meat, but cost $30. The trout was okay, but having skin still on it made it harder to eat. EVERYTHING, whether it was chicken, steak, or fish, had a stick of rosemary stuck in it. The mussels, while the broth was good, were overcooked and chewy. The molten lava cake was more like a chocolate-flavored sponge cake with heated Hershey's chocolate syrup injected inside, and probably cost $1 to make but cost $7. When I came here 5 years ago, it was almost impossible to get a table. Now the restaurant has lots of empty tables. The potato fries, however, were good. The food quality has degraded a lot in 5 years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelC1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dinner with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our family makes it a point to eat at Marys Lake Lodge at least once during our visits to Estes Park. We particularly enjoy reserving a table on the outside deck which provides a spectacular view of Estes Park in the valley below. The food is always outstanding, fairly priced, and the service is prompt and friendly. We called ahead and made reservations for a party of 16 which included several children, and requested the outside deck. We were amazed how attentive and helpful the wait staff was to our table. A special thanks to Stephanie. The food was done to perfection and the serving size was more than ample.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent views, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ate on the balcony twice and the views are stunning. The food was good American fare, reasonably priced (particularly for a tourist area). The service was friendly and efficient.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, tx
Level Contributor
206 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Great View-Otherwise very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Met a friend and had lunch here. The view over the lake was amazing. Service was so slow and the food was average. We ordered the bison nachos which were nachos with bison chili poured on it and also had the skewers. Neither of us were impressed with the meal. I am glad we didnt want more than one beer otherwise we may have been there for hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cseanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 1929 also viewed

 

Been to Tavern 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing