We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Solid value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Columbine Inn
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
272 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Solid value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I agree with other reviewers about the cleanliness. The bed was very comfortable. The towels and linens are high quality. The breakfast consists of coffee, juice and Otis Spunkmeyer packaged muffins (not bad quality for packaged pastry). The owner is very helpful, if just a tad reserved.

The location is convenient to the market and restaurants. But the best feature is the price. Estes Park tends to be a bit overpriced. We checked several places and this place had the best price. We were expecting a lower quality property but were pleasantly surprised. The reasonable cost, friendly service, good location and great bed make this a real value in Estes Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    34
    14
    15
    9
See reviews for
32
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Accokeek, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The room was very clean and the owners were extremely friendly! The furnishings were from the 80s but it was a comfortable place to stay. The hot tub in the room was great. They recommended excellent restaurants to us and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Columbine Inn is an older motel, but it is very clean. Our room was pretty basic: bed, bathroom, mini fridge, TV, small table/chairs, and dresser. Although it is not on the river, like many places here, it has nice views of the mountains. It was quiet, also. One bad thing was our sink drain: it stayed closed. We had to jam a nail file in it so the sink didn't fill up with water. Other than that, I really liked the place. Nice price for Estes Park, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We do not care how a hotel or motel looks, rather we care about how clean the rooms are. Yes, it is some what dated, but very clean. For my family, we want clean, clean, clean. Our room had a flat screen TV and cable/dish, so the teenagers were happy. When we travel, we do not spend time sitting in a hotel, we want a good place to come back to at the end of the day, and the Columbine was just the ticket. The bathrooms do not have an outlet, so we used the outlet by the bed, but not a big deal for us. The gentlemen at the desk was kind enough show us the room before we checked in, The price was reasonable for Estes. The hotel down the street wanted more money and was not clean. The showers have strong pressure, which we like. We enjoy Estes Park and will visit and stay here again.

Room Tip: The room was very quiet and clean. Our room had a flat screen TV and cable, so our teenagers were ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was surprised to find a room so late. After a trip to see family in Wyoming we were back in Estes Park late and I think we got the last room. The front desk host was very nice. The price was reasonable for the area and not having reservations. The room was spacious, very clean and had a great shower/tub. Mini fridge and microwave. The beds were comfortable, including the pillows. We slept well. Continental breakfast was nice in the large common room in the office with great views. Check out was at 1000 am. Thanks for the hospitality.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This property is a 50'-60's style motel, but is very clean, well maintained and the beds are really comfortable. The rooms are small by today's standards and there is no coffee maker in the rooms - both are no big deal but worth mentioning. Every place in Estes Park is over-priced however this motel is probably the least over-priced of them all. We liked the benches out front with a grill and picnic tables for the guests to use. We travel to Rocky Mountain National Park every couple of years and this is our first stay at this property, but I promise you it will not be our last. The Columbine Inn has become our place to stay in Estes Park from now on as long as the current owner runs the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baracuda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night while she was showing in the Copper Penny. The Inn is 5 minutes from the fairgrounds. The room was small by today's standards but VERY clean and had all the amenities we needed for the night. The continental breakfast isn't fancy but works fine for a quick bite to eat. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel experience you probably won't be happy here. If you are looking for a nice, quiet, clean, comfortable, affordable, place to stay I would definitely recommend staying here. I told John about the horse show when we checked in. I took my daughter to the fairgrounds early and came back later to get our stuff and check out. John remembered why we were in Estes and he told me to tell her good luck. I told him she'd already won a 2nd and he was very happy for her and the great start to her show day. Will definitely stay here next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#23 of 29 in Estes Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Property: Columbine Inn
Address: 1540 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8918
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable motel ideally located one mile east of downtown Estes Park, within walking distance of Lake Estes Marina & walkway, golf, horseback riding, restaurants & shopping. All units are ground level and parking right in front of your room. Enjoy the lovely garden gazebo, spacious grounds with picnic area and soak in our outdoor hot tub after a day of hiking, shopping or sight seeing.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Columbine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing