We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory facilities, service and location”
Review of Valhalla Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valhalla Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We had a familiy group of 12 ranging in age from 4 to 62 years to celebrate a high school graduation. We were in a 4 bedroom.3 bathroom unit. The cabin was clean and spacious. The kitchen was well stocked with all the equipment needed to cook meals for a group of 12. The resort is close to the entrance of RMNP and a short drive from downtown Estes Park. It has easy access to a couple local horsse stables. The on site activites like shuffleboard, ping pong and pool hot tub were well maintained, Everyone in our group agrred that it was a place would revisit in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0CAL_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 292 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2009

This was our 2nd year to stay at Valhalla. We returned because the cabin is clean and we have a hot tub on the deck. We will return next year. The price is right.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EPLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Although the furniture in the cabin was a bit oldfashioned, it was very clean and had a large kitchen. When we arrived, a crib and highchair for our 1-year old daughter had already been placed in our cabin. There were enough towels, and they were changed very frequently. The fireplace was great! The resort is located near Estes Park, and near the entrance of RMNP. We had a very pleasant holiday at the Valhalla Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gijs_veroni_nora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

We have been to Valhalla Resort many times over the past 5 years and find the cabins and location to be the best in Estes Park. The accomodations are immaculate, yet rustic- just the way we like it! No pets and immediate hiking into Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park is a big plus. The grounds are open so it seems like a spacious area, and the mountain views are spectacular. We always recommend Valhalla to our friends! Ron

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandbarev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

While the place is nice and clean, it is simple with outdated furniture and accessories. The mattresses could also use an update. The wood burning fireplace was very nice and the kitchen was a great size for a family. Unfortunately, when we booked a 2brm cottage we assummed we would have access to the second bedroom. Not the case unless you pay additional amounts per person. We had other family staying at a hotel in town and had wanted to use our place as a hangout and for meals. After we got home we received a bill for an extra $100 related to extra person/ per night charges. The management assummed additional people had spent the night. Our young niece and nephew used the additional room to play and nap during the day. The did end up creditting us part of the fee but replied in an "snappy" matter. As a result we will not be returning to the Valhalla resort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Juliane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette4, Owner at Valhalla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2009

Because our cabins are large, and during the off season months we generally have couples, we reduce the rate to accommodate 2 people, and lock any extra bedroom they will not need. This guest booked using our online reservation system. It is clearly stated on our rates that the rate is based on 2 people in one bed. If there are more guests booked, the rate adjusts and the additional bedrooms are kept accessible. When this guest checked in we explained our policy to her regarding her extra guests. She said she understood. We opened the entire cabin for her with the agreement she would let us know when she checked out how many nights the extra people used the cabin. They did not do that prior to leaving. When we went in to clean the cabin, all of the beds (4) had been used. Although the additional people were at the cabin both days, and slept in all of the beds we did compromise with her and only charged her $50.00.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

What a great place!! We had only planned to stay for one night and decided to stay another night. The staff was friendly and the cabin was as comfy as it could get. Super clean and close enough to town where we were able to get what we needed and be away from it all when we wanted peace.
Great for families!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snorggee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

My friends and I have stayed at Valhalla for 4 years in a row. We have a girls weekend every year and this is the place we keep coming back to. The cabins are clean, and comfortable. We have never had a problem with anything at all. This year we stayed in #23 which has a hot tub on the porch ,which was nice to sit in on a cool night and see the stars. The room with the King sized bed was HUGE and the other room with the Queen was also roomy. The loft upstairs had 2 more beds, and just as much space. The cabins are spaced apart nicely so you don't have to worry about disturbing other people (which is nice with my group!!) The staff is very friendly and accomodating. I can't think of one bad thing to say about this place. It is close to Rocky Mountain National Park and shopping is a short drive (about 2 miles)

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valhallarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
2.4 mi away
Misty Mountain Lodge
Misty Mountain Lodge
#9 of 78 in Estes Park
280 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wildwood Inn
Wildwood Inn
#29 of 78 in Estes Park
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beaver Brook on the River
Beaver Brook on the River
#31 of 78 in Estes Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mountain Shadows Resort
Mountain Shadows Resort
#55 of 78 in Estes Park
108 reviews
2.0 mi away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#16 of 78 in Estes Park
370 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#34 of 78 in Estes Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valhalla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Resort

Address: 2185 Eagle Cliff Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-8339
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $90 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valhalla Resort is nicely secluded on 15 acres just 3 miles west of Estes Park, Colorado. We offer a variety of cabins and vacation homes bordering Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valhalla Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing