We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
449
93
29
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
93
29
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt fire pit lip balm pizza place across the street continental breakfast hot tub granola bars great place to stay downtown area enjoyed our stay hard boiled eggs highly recommend staying here national park walk into town three nights comfortable beds location is great
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 576 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2017

The Maxwell Inn is everything you could want to enjoy a relaxing stay in Estes Park. We enjoyed a beautifully decorated clean and cozy room with everything we needed. Just a few steps downstairs to a very nice basic complimentary breakfast buffet. Customer service was superb! Have already booked a week for next year. Don't miss experiencing this wonderful little inn!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank STVAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

STVAZ - It was a pleasure meeting you two and hearing about your trip to Estes (and the reasons). We really appreciate you staying with us and it was a great compliment to have you all book for next year as well. If folks are only familiar with chain motels/hotels, ours will be a bit different - however if you're looking for smaller, quiet, and calm - we can be a pretty ideal place. Breakfast (no hot eggs or breakfast meats) is something that we've continuously made changes to over the years, and think we've found a good balance of what our guests want and what we're able to provide. Thank you for the kind words and for staying at our motel. Great guests make all the difference in the world! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

What a great place! I stayed in the annex which is new this year. Nicely modeled, cozy and super clean. The owner was welcoming and genuine. Location is great. Close enough to downtown that you could walk. There is a pizza place right across the street. I didn't try but appeared to be popular. The distance from Inn to RMNP entrance is maybe a 10/15 minute drive. Also worth mentioning is the nice area with a fire pit and complimentary breakfast.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank CoSdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

CoSdak - Thank you very much for staying with us this fall! We appreciate the kind words in your review and to hear that you were happy here in Estes and at our motel. The annex rooms were a real joy to build and complete - and where they are more expensive than our standard rooms - they really offer a feel that is a step above most lodging in Estes Park. Thank you again and we hope you can make it out this way in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

This hotel was above and beyond my expectations. We stayed in a first floor room which was unbelievably clean. It was also very well decorated with a large and spacious bathroom as well as a large vanity area. There were outlets EVERYWHERE which was much appreciated as we had several camera/photo devices we needed to charge.

Beds were comfortable and the overall property is beautiful. Also, I expected the breakfast buffet (included) to be very basic, but was pleasantly surprised to find cereal, a variety of snack bars, yogurts, freshly boiled eggs, as well as the standard coffee/tea/juices. There were also pastries and muffins... it more or less felt like a true continental breakfast when in my head I had imagined a few muffins and some juice.

Excellent value for the money paid (on a holiday weekend, no less). We will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Nina, Thank you for staying with us, and thanks for the glowing review! For anyone reading Nina's review, please note that she stayed in one of our new Deluxe or Annex rooms. Room 14 is an ADA room, so the bathroom is extra large - but the other Deluxe rooms are also a good size, and have the fireplace, tons of outlets, etc, that Nina mentioned. Our standard rooms are a bit smaller and were constructed in the early 1970s, but are also priced much less (usually 140-170). Those rooms have smaller bathrooms, but are still comfortable, tastefully updated, and offer a great value. We added multi-outlet charging stations in our original rooms to ensure there were enough plugs, so when it came time to build a few new rooms this past winter we knew what had to be just right! The only way to book the Deluxe or Annex rooms are to contact us directly or use our motel website, themaxwellinn-d0t-c0m. Nina, it's great to hear that you enjoyed our motel and that it was just what you were looking for. We try to price our rooms comparably with the rest of the town and also with a reasonable value in mind. For breakfast, we tweak what we offer every year, and we try to find a mix of what people expect and what we can provide (no commercial kitchen, so hot eggs and breakfast meats, etc, aren't possible). We really appreciate the kind words and the feedback on our motel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us this fall and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Immaculate family-run Inn in Estes Park just far enough from the hubbub of the Main shopping street.

I was surprised to not find a phone in the room, but having been at many National Parks previously, I should have known. The owner was kind enough to let me use her phone twice, because my cell was not working well. I was very appreciative.

Softer pillows please.

Highly recommend it for quiet folk like us.

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor ADA room in a 4 unit annex. Very roomy and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pharmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Pharmate - Thanks for taking the time to review our motel and for offering feedback for other travelers. We're probably not a good place for a large wedding party, or the "out late" crowd, but for folks that want to explore the National Park, or want to experience the calmer side that Estes has to offer, we can be pretty ideal. We've been kind of torn about phones in the rooms. The monthly charge is pretty ridiculous because the local provider is the only game in town (same with TV and internet), so we've decided to remove them and offer up the lobby phone if a guest asks. We're happy to do so, and it will work in a pinch. We've got extra pillows on hand that we're willing to offer up to try if you'd like, but I'd be remiss if I promised that they'd be perfect for everyone. Next time, ask us and we'll see if you like what we have! Thank you for staying with us, and for the kind words. We hope you can make it back out this way sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

This was probably the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in! Inside and out!
Our room was charming!
Convenient location.
I needed to change reservation due to a family issue, they were extremely accommodating.
So nice to see a thriving business when a family works so hard! Lovely people.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank CosmoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Cosmo - It's a never-ending responsibility, but we truly enjoy it. We get to meet people from all over, put our passion into the motel itself, and live in pretty beautiful surroundings. I'll pass the compliment on to our housekeepers - we're all human, so we know sometimes mistakes will be made - but everyone likes hearing that they did a good job when things went well! When we can help a guest make changes (every circumstance is different), we're happy to try and help. We appreciate the positive feedback on our motel and hope you can visit Estes and Rocky Mountain National Park again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews