We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Maxwell Inn”
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We chose The Maxwell Inn because of the great reviews we had read. And it was not a disappointment! Peter and Dana were great; full of help and information. There ever presence in the lobby was warm and comforting. Unfortunately, when we left for home, I left my phone charger in our room and Dana called to let us know. She shipped it to our home and we received it the very next day! Now that is wonderful customer service and you don't get that at a hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Linda - Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maxwell Inn and for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband this past week. We always enjoy suggesting things for our guests to see and do while in Estes Park and then hearing about the days adventures around town, so we were happy to be able to do that for you two. In today's world of constant connectivity and technology, we understand that even a little charger matters. We were happy to be able to find and send it to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for The Maxwell Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 504 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were passing through Estes Park and stayed for a single night, but we enjoyed our stay at the Maxwell Inn. The room was well kept and quite comfortable. We stayed in the detached king room in the front of the property, and it has the unique feature of having high ceilings, making it quite charming. The hosts are exceptionally friendly and welcoming. The continental breakfast was simple, but provided a good selection of food to choose from. Undoubtedly one of the best features of the inn is its proximity to downtown Estes, which is a short 10 minute walk away along the river. At the same time, the inn is situated far enough from the road and is small enough that it feels cozy and quiet. If I was going to make a longer stay in Estes, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Maxwell Inn.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kpcnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. The room you stayed in is our only stand-alone room, which is quiet and cozy. One of the things we like most about this property is it's proximity to all the shops and restaurant and also RMNP. Like you mentioned, we are situated just close enough to town to walk, but far enough away that we do not have the road noise of all the Estes Park visitors. We hope that you get back to Estes again soon, and think of us when you are looking for a place to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights in June and were very happy with our stay. Clean and comfortable rooms, easy walk to town, hosts/owners were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great. highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marayabeth33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The room you stayed in is probably one of our most popular and like all of our rooms, we try to keep them clean and comfy! We are glad to hear that our suggestions were well received for your time in Estes Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is meticulously maintained and managed with guest comfort and service in mind. The rooms are the right size. The breakfasts offer many options and may be enjoyed in the dining area or taken outside in the beautiful courtyard. It is strategically located on the west end of the City of Estes Park and closest to the National Park, but well within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants downtown. There is excellent hand-made furniture throughout the hotel and it is a joy to see and feel the quality and craftsmanship. The hummingbirds were a real treat to watch.

Room Tip: The view of the mountains is better from the upstairs rooms balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Stephen & Family - Thank you for your review and for choosing The Maxwell Inn. We enjoyed meeting you and your family, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Estes Park and at our Inn. Come back and visit anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We only had time for one night in this beautiful location but will definitely be back. The owners of the Maxwell Inn truly work with you to have a great experience. We were traveling back to Denver to meet someone at the airport the next day but wanted to go through the national park. One week prior our daughter was suddenly able to join us fro part of our trip before starting her new job. Although the room I had reserved did not accommodate 3 people, Peter worked with us to keep our reservation and have another space for our daughter. Danna and Peter are on site owners and the inn shows that they truly care about the property and their guests. The walk into town on a walkway along the river was enjoyable and took about 5 minutes... so we did not have to hassle with parking. If you want a good location, great bed, clean room with some new accents at a reasonable price this is the place for you. It will be even better the next time as Peter told me about some of the renovation plans he will be doing in the offseason.

Room Tip: look at the Maxwell Inn pictures online they are truly representative of the rooms we saw.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scubatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Tripp Family - While your stay was brief, we are glad to hear that it was pleasant. Whether it is a one nights-stay or a week, we try to help our guests enjoy their stay and their time in Estes. We love hearing that we were able to do just that for you and your family. We hope that you will return and stay a few more nights next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently spent a week at the Maxwell Inn, and had a great time. It's a comfortable, quiet place, almost more of a B&B feel, and the young owners have clearly spent a great deal of time and effort renovating from top to bottom. The location was perfect for us - close to town but far enough out of town to avoid the congestion, and a short drive to the Fall River entrance to the park. Our room was tastefully decorated and comfortable, the renovations recently completed (so we were told). It was a nice place to "come home to" after spending all day in the park. I'm fascinated with hummingbirds (not very abundant around our South Florida home), and spent some time sitting in the courtyard trying to capture images. On one chilly evening, we also enjoyed the recently completed fenced-in patio with fire pit (and hot tub). Frankly, we also thought that their rates were quite reasonable. Finally, we concur with all of the positive comments made by other reviewers, and highly recommend The Maxwell Inn when visiting Estes Park.

Room Tip: We had the detached room at the front of the property, which affords a bit more privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

G&D - there is so much to do in and around Estes Park, and we liked to hear about your daily adventures in hiking, shopping and driving. We have upgraded and updated all of our rooms to a level, that we feel, makes them quaint and comfortable. So it is nice to hear that you felt that way about your room as well. We will try to keep the hummingbirds coming back until you can return to Estes! Hopefully, we will see you two back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a great place to stay while in Estes Park, Colorado. My wife and I were very appreciative of the owners hospitality and friendliness. We enjoyed the fire pit outside on their beautiful new patio, and we especially enjoyed the elk that came to visit 2 nights in a row just outside our door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Steve - the Elk must have known you were coming and that your wife wanted to take pictures, because he hung around for a while for all of us to admire! We are glad that you enjoyed our new patio with fire pit, it's a nice place to sit and unwind from a days hike or adventure. It was nice meeting and talking with you two, please come back and stay with us again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,479 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
810 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#22 of 29 in Estes Park
68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $110 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing