We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Inn, Great care of their customers!”
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent a week at the Maxwell Inn in Sept. of 2013. Dana and Pete (owners) did a remarkable job of taking care of us. We had some particular needs and they went out of their way to accomodate us. The Inn is great and the community and surrounding National Park is the best. The Inn is minutes from the National park entrance, the wildlife viewing is the most incredible we've experienced anywhere in the U.S. We can't say enough about the Maxwell Inn. We recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Some rooms have A/C and some don't. They seldom need A/C but if you're there during the hott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Cary - It was great to meet you two! It's too bad your trip got cut short, like a few others, because of the weather. On the other hand, now you'll just have to come back to finish your trip! We enjoyed offering ideas and, as usual, liked being able to help you explore Estes and make the most of your time here. A/C for all rooms is on our list for this upcoming Winter, so hopefully it will make it easier to pick out which rooms to stay in, or maybe harder to pick a favorite! Take care, and thanks for writing a review for other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 517 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights before we had to evacuate because of the flooding. We could not have been happier with our stay here. The room had everything we needed to be comfortable. The Inn is in a great location with a short walk or drive if you prefer to town and the owners were so helpful with restaurant recommendations. I had never stayed at a small inn before and could not be more pleased with it. The owners are such a nice young couple who just happen to be from our home town. We booked the Inn based on reviews from trip advisor and they were sooo right. I understand they did not have any water damage from the floods so I would recommend you book your trip before they fill up. We will certainly stay there again if our travels take us back to Estes Park. Thank you again Dana and Peter for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globug15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

We stayed dry! Thanks for the kind words. Usually TripAdvisor reviews can give you a pretty good idea of what to expect, and we're glad they helped you make a solid choice! Before this, my wife and I had always stayed at chains as well. Being able to really make something "your own" makes a world of difference, we believe. It was a pleasure meeting you two, helping you with your vacation, and hope that you can make it back out this way again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We walked to the Maxwell Inn from downtown to see what time we could check in. Even though check in wasn't for a few hours, the nice young man said our room should be ready in about 30 minutes and that he would text us at that time. That was very helpful! We walked back downtown and was able to check in not much later. He was also very helpful with restaurant recommendations and area info. The next morning they had a nice continental breakfast and both him and his wife were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable and it is an easy walk to downtown. There was also a pizza/ deli place across the street but we didn't get a chance to try it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinamdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Tina thanks for sharing your feedback on our Inn. We really do try to make your stay personal, and make ourselves available for any sort of advice you'd need! You guys were here right before our historic rainfall, so when you come back, it may look a little different! Folks really enjoy walking into town, and a comfortable room with personal touches seems to make the whole experience "warmer" than the standard chain hotel experience. Please visit us again soon and thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

All the reviews were "spot on" Great place to stay while in Estes Park. Convenient walk to town, very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the free standing unit #21 in front of the Inn. Very quiet, nice sitting area outside. Owners were very helpful with our questions and tips on where to dine, play golf, hike, etc. Hope Estes Park area recovers soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Gary Thanks for writing about our Inn! 21 is a special unit, being set apart, not really spacious, but comfortable for sure. We're glad you two enjoyed your time up here and that the recommendations were spot on. Being able to walk to town is really incredible when you think of how nice the walk is and that you don't have to fight traffic or parking downtown. You did make it out just before the rain, which is an added bonus because there was A LOT! Take care and visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Newly renovated simple rustic quiet above all CLEAN -The Maxwell Inn -was a pleasure to stay . Stayed in Rm # 1 (King with air conditioning/ shower only/ 2nd Floor/ very quiet) at beginning of our 3 week trip Then at the end we stayed for a total of 3 days --Rm 20 (queen / no air /shower only/1st floor) and 2 days in Rm 2 (King/tub and shower/no air/ 2nd floor --Day road noise-if one wants to have windows open)--Each room CLEAN as the next!!!!! Lighting for those older eyes borderline adequate. Continental breakfast included-pastries/yogurt/ protein bars/cereals/fruit / coffees/ teas/juice/ milk, Young Dana and Peter have owned the INN since the start of 2013 and have put in much work and have plans to continue many improvements to the exterior .

Room Tip: Rm1 on back side quietest with air/ -- King rm #2 road noise during day but is the largest we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckingery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

It was a real pleasure to have you two stay with us a couple times! It's also interesting to get impressions of different rooms through the eyes of a guest. I'm glad you got "the tour"! We're sorry that the trip came to a hectic end, but are happy that you two enjoyed your time here enough to stay a second time and hope that you make it out this way again. We do take pride in our Inn and are happy that it showed. Thanks again for writing about us and please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Maxwell Inn was in an excellent location on the edge of town. The couple is so friendly and accommodating. When we checked in, he gave us a map of the area and took the time to mark the places we were interested in and easiest way to get there. The room was very clean and quiet. (heard coyotes yipping at night!) The breakfast was perfect for us: coffee, juice, cereals, snacks and fruit. Exactly what we eat at home! Dana wrote down directions for us to get back to the airport early in the morning by taking the toll road, which was great and less stress.

Stanley Hotel is close by and a great stop for lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat8545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you both for staying with us! I think you came at just the right time - trust me next year when you return, the landscape will look a bit different - the river has carved a new path! I really enjoyed helping you guys figure out different things to do, and am glad you enjoyed your time here in Estes Park! Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn and please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I had a two day weekend in Estes Park, and decided to try the Maxwell Inn, based on reviews. We were not disappointed. They have a convenient location on the Falls Road side of town near RMNP. Rural, not town, feel, but only a short walk into town if desired. Good views, and a great pizza/sandwich restaurant across the street. Clean, comfortable, and welcoming, small motel. Good basic breakfast. Less expensive than the big national brand hotels. We will definitely stay there again on a future trip to Estes Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to review our Inn. Quiet, cozy, peaceful in a busy setting are all words and ways to describe our place. The custom touches and constant improvements really make ours a simple, nice place to stay while visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. We're glad you enjoyed the short walk to town and cozy room. Come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,658 reviews
2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 28 in Estes Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $111 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing