We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Creek, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The location was great and the room was spotless. The hotel was just a short walk to the downtown shops and only a few miles from Rocky Mtn National Park. The owners were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. If you're looking for a unique hotel and personalized attention this is the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Laurie - Thanks for taking the time to offer feedback on our Inn! We enjoyed hosting you two, and are glad to hear that your time spent here was enjoyable! Also, recommending different things around town is one of our favorite things to do. We do take a lot of pride in our place, so it is great to hear that it met all of your expectations - especially since you had two different rooms! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    78
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
122
263
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very lovely smaller and quaint hotel which sits outside of all the hustle and bustle of Estes Park and a short distance to Rocky Mtn. National Park. Newly remodeled and very relaxing enviornment. The room was a little small, however there were two VERY comfortable beds (what more do you need), a very comfy chair, frig and TV and it is decorated very nicely; a warm and inviting room after being out in the wilderness all day. The owners, Pete and Dana are very down to earth and very helpful answering any questions you may have; we could sit and chat with them all day! No big sit down breakfast, but definitely had all that we needed with rolls, yogurt, granola bars, fruit, cereal, milk, juice and coffee or tea served in a quaint little kitchen area. Could have stayed here for months! Thanks Dana and Pete for such a nice stay.

Room Tip: Small hotel with two levels; all have a good view. Sits within walking distance of Estes Park shopp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Patty - I remember discussing our commonality in owning a small business and I appreciated the conversation. It's been a great experience and the product that we provide is really unique. The rooms are not incredibly spacious, however as you noted, we have put a lot of time into ensuring that they are as comfortable as they can be. The remodel really changed the feel of the Inn and we agree that it is warm and welcoming - plus, we really do enjoy helping people find neat things to do and see, which makes every day rewarding. Thanks for offering your insight on our Inn and we hope that you all can head out this way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Not sure how this place got the 5 stars on the review. Stayed there 2 weeks ago, unimpressed. Little or no view, tiny windows, it felt like a decent Motel 6, and judging by the reviews I thought it might be pretty nice. Lot's of better choices to stay in the city. Among the worst views... in a gorgeous setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Ron - Thanks for offering your feedback on our Inn. It was a pleasure visiting with you two and helping you scope out Estes Park. The best views of the National Park are from the National Park itself... Trail Ridge, Bear Lake, Longs Peak, etc. We don't purport to have the best views in town by a longshot - but your review will certainly help those who put a high priority on having the absolute best views from the room. We understand our place isn't perfect for everyone, but for those that want a warm, inviting environment within walking distance to downtown, freshly remodeled rooms with custom touches, and great personal recommendations of things to do and places to see, we're ideal. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our travel weary family of 5 stayed at the maxwell inn after 2nts of camping in the rain. We were so happy to stay at such a cute place! The room was wonderful and after 5 consecutive showers (never loosing hot water) in the very clean and new shower we felt ready to tour Estes again. The patio outside our room was quiet, full of flowers ,and a wonderful spot to watch the hummingbirds and meet fellow travelers. The owners do a great job of meeting every need. We had 3 girls and needed a few more towels and we got more fluffy wonderful towels from Dana right away. The only thing wrong with this place is we couldn't get in for 2 nts. I highly recommend staying here if you are in town. It will feel like home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Jill - Next year call us a bit ahead of time and you can spend all the time you want here! There is plenty to do in Estes, as you all know, and we love being the launch point for hikes, day trips, weekend getaways, etc. I'm glad our place offered a calming environment to recharge and refresh for you and your family. It was great to chat with you all after all of the hiking and "roughing it" that you did. Thanks for taking the time to give feedback on our Inn, and we really do hope to see you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed there for two nights and wish we could have been there longer. It's not fancy but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast was nice and well stocked. Granola bars and water were available for hikes. Peter and Dana couldn't have been more helpful. It's a short walk into Estes Park and close to hiking. Adding to our enjoyment were the 11 elk who decided to graze on the front lawn of the inn. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureenw1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Maureen - We really enjoyed hosting you all! You know, we did the call in the Elk special for you, so we're glad you appreciated our gesture. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time here and hope that you all can make it back in the future... we'll be here! We understand that our Inn isn't perfect for everyone, however we're confident that it's a great place to spend your time in Estes Park - whether you want to walk downtown along Fall River, or drive a few miles and be in Rocky Mountain National Park. Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have visiting Estes Park off and on for over 50 years and this year we reserved 3 rooms at the Maxwell Inn. This was the best place we stayed at in a very long time. The rooms were very clean and well furnished. Peter and Dana are very nice people and very helpful. It had the feel of staying at a very good bed and breakfast. We will defiantly stay at the Maxwell Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The1moreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn, and we're happy to have accommodated your family! Each room is different, and you guys were able to see three! The recommendations that we can give and the work that went into the renovations are just a couple reasons that our property has an inviting feel that you might find hard to get at other places. Come see us again next year and we'll set you up in three different rooms again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My brother and I stayed at the Maxwell inn for three nights in mid-July while visiting the RMNP. It was an impromptu road trip and we chose the Maxwell Inn at the last minute based on the reviews here, as well as the fact that Dana was incredibly helpful on the phone the morning of our check in. We were able to reserve 2 nights in one room (21) and a third night in another (18). On our last day, Dana recommended a few other local inns for the rest of our stay in Estes Park.

The rooms were clean, bright, and well-decorated. It's clear they have been renovated very recently. They were a little smaller than I expected but for the price and service offered, it's a value. That's the real clincher here - the folks at the Maxwell went above and beyond to make sure our stay at the Inn was pleasant and comfortable, including keeping the hot tub open and private for an additional hour to accommodate me. They gave us recommendations for places to eat, shops to check out, and connected us to where we could get more info on bike gear, etc.

highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdenM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Aden - it was nice having you two stay with us! I'm happy that you were able to see a couple different rooms and experience how unique our Inn is. You're right that the rooms aren't exactly "big" - but we try to make up for that with quality materials and excellent service. For a "on a whim" road trip, I think you both had a great time! Come back soon with your family and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,013 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Property: The Maxwell Inn
Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing