We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, out-of-the way place in busy Estes Park”
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Maxwell Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We read great reviews on tripadvisor and grabbed the last room available on our way to Montana. The owner-operators were very nice and helpful and seemed genuinely glad we were there. The answered questions patiently and gave excellent advise on site-seeing and dining. The sandwich shop across the street is excellent as well. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bighuff32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and adding the picture of your room! We do really enjoy giving advice and hearing feedback on places that folks visit. So much of your vacation is the time you spend away from our Inn, it's great to know that you enjoyed your time here and the things you were able to experience around Estes as well. Come visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 512 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in Maxwell Inn for two nights, The staff outdid themselves in opening the hot tub, providing breakfast and maintaining clean, attractive rooms. I constantly asked for directions and recommendations for both hikes and dining and the staff constantly outdid itself.

I highly recommend Maxwell Inn.

Room Tip: By rating the swimming pool as excellent, I was rating the hot tub by proxy. I can't find enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

It was great having your family stay with us. I enjoyed your insight on the local restaurants you tried - even if it meant a "real" New York critique of our local Italian favorite! Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn - we're glad that we could be the stepping off point for your vacation and that everything was just right for you. The Hot Tub has certainly been a favorite... there's no better way to relax at the end of the day. Quality time away from cell phones, work, etc - it's nice to relax with the family! The next time you come out West, look us up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

There is only one motel in Estes Park, Colorado. It is called the Maxwell Inn. Ani and I stayed there recently for our 20th wedding anniversary. The next time we visit Estes Park we will stay there again. It’s not that there really aren’t any other motels to choose from but that we see no reason to try any others. Dana and Peter Maxwell made us feel right at home; like we were family. Dana brought out my favourite Honey Nut Cheerios from her own kitchen when I didn’t see anything in the cereal selection I liked. The Maxwell’s presented us with 20 long stemmed red roses during our stay. We have never ever had such personable and devoted attention from an innkeeper anywhere! The facilities are newly renovated, incorporating a woodsy mountain flavour on the exterior and in our room a 1940-1960s style in the interior. (We stayed in Room 3; each room is a little different from the next.) Of course the big screen TV and microwave oven don’t fit in but who wouldn’t be willing to sacrifice 100% period authenticity for those items? The same goes for the tiled bath with an actual medicine cabinet with a place to dispose of those double-edged razor blades! (Remember those?) The shower head and curved bath rod are definitely anachronistic but anyone living in 1950 would have had a pulsing shower head if only they had been invented then. One other welcome anachronism is the multiple WIFI routers which guarantee that no matter which room you are in, you have excellent strong and speedy Internet access. Located on West Elkhorn, the free trolley stop is right next door but the walk to downtown shops is no more than 10 minutes on a paved pathway following the creek. Visiting Estes Park at any time of the year is a delight; now we have another stay at Maxwell Inn to look forward to as well!

Room Tip: Each room is a little different so carefully pick the one that suits you best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GilRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Gil - Our building has some history to it, and we love it when guests take the time to notice those details. For the most part, we have attempted to keep the integrity of the updated portion as well as the three or four rooms that were originally a home built in the 1930's. It was a real pleasure meeting and joking with you and Ani - and we're happy that your time spent here was enjoyable! The next time you want to get away, we'll be here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here (Room 5) on our first trip to Estes and RMNP, and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Everything was nice, clean, and comfortable (new beds)! The couple managing the Inn are super nice, it was apparent that they really enjoyed meeting their guests and have a lot of passion for what they do! We visited several cities around Colorado (Glenwood Springs, Denver, Colorado Springs, and Manitou Springs) and stayed at several different hotels, and they are definately the nicest and friendlies people we met on our vacation - it was very refreshing! They recommended great restaurants and even better hikes - I can't wait to stay here again! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Joe - Thanks for the kind words! 17 rooms gives us the ability to try and spend a bit of extra time with our guests and ensure they get everything that they need. It's close to town, but not so close that it's ever really chaotic. Thank you both for staying with us and the next time that Texas heat gets to you, you know where to get away to!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My daughter and I travelled across country and while in Estes Park we stayed in Maxwell Inn. The location is wonderful; close to the shops and restaurants, close to the entrance of the park. The front desk man and woman were very warm and accommodating. We had bedroom 16 and it was so comfortable. From the decor to the amenities, it was fantastic. The morning breakfast was delightful: coffee, tea, milk, water, pastries, yogurt, cereal, bagels, fruit. The price is reasonable. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone who enjoys a comfortable sanctuary after a day of play, whether in the shops or mountains. Whenever I pass through Estes Park, Maxwell Inn will now be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zuzanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Manager at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! I'm happy that you enjoyed our Inn and the little touches that set us apart. It was great meeting both of you. I remember you saying that you make the cross country trip fairly regularly - we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

PROS: We stayed in room five and it was very clean. We had everything we needed and when I didn't have a toothbrush they were able to provide one. There was a sidewalk that ran right into town so we walked everywhere. It was also within easy driving distance of Rocky Mountain National Park. If you're looking for a hotel with a good location, decent price, and clean then this is for you.

CONS: There were really no cons for the price of this hotel. If you are looking for a hotel where you would want to stay and spend time, you may have to find a more expensive place that offers private decks and views. If you are just looking for a clean, convenient place to see than this is five star!

Room Tip: Room five was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank breanna_rae_slp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Breanna, Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn! We definitely feel that our location, value, and comfort are hard to beat, but we also know that some guests would like to spend more time in the room and might appreciate a balcony, etc - so thank you for the insightful review for would-be travelers! We've really worked to create an inviting Inn with personalized touches here and there. I am happy that this was a great trip for you all and that you really enjoyed our Inn! Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff was so friendly right off the bat. The hotel looked great and was very clean. It's located very close to downtown Estes. There was a light breakfast available as well. We would go back here again if we stayed in Estes again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Shannon Thank you so much for your feedback! We're more than happy to do anything possible to improve your vacation! You mentioned "if" you come back to Estes... of course you'll come back! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.2 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
621 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
2.0 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.2 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: $109 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, comfortable linens and custom made bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio with fire pit are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing