We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cancellation policy”
Review of Solitude Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solitude Cabins
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had reservations at this place,unfortunately we had to cancel due to health issues.I called and cancelled our reservations and later on recieved an mail saying they charged me a $75.00 cancellation fee. I had given them 2 months notice that i was cancelling,i called them and they said thats just their policy. i find that a little bit ridiculous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jody p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

I am sorry you are disapointed in our cancellation policy. We do not "hide" our policy, it was available to you on all of the information we sent you. Regardless of the the number of days or months that you cancel a reservation, we do have a cancellation fee to cover the costs associated with making a reservation. We are not different than most businesses and must, cover our costs.
I did not just say "its our policy" and leave it at that. We would not be that dismissive to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 161 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed in Estes Park for many occasions throughout the last 40 years. We just discovered Solitude Cabins and we will be back. The cabin, 2 bedroom plus a full murphy bed, was cozy and comfortable. There was a fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplace, rain head shower, jacuzzi tub downstairs. The view sold us. We had the most gorgeous view! We had the blinds open the whole time and savored the different light on the mountains. The location was excellent, we ran into town to go to the Safeway for a New York Times every day. The staff (I believe the owner) was so nice. Don't miss this gem.

Room Tip: We were in 1890, excellent view. Don't miss it. I would not recommend this place for more than 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consultanttraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your first stay at Solitude Cabins. We hope to become a new tradition for you!! Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Blown away by the simplicity and style - short drive up form Boulder, needed to get away for a few nights, and seriously this is perfect! Not much to do up here in winter and it's really really cold so we are just hanging out enjoying being here and relaxing - we'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEZ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

So very glad you found simple pleasures at Solitude Cabins. We try hard to keep it simple and carefree. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just got back from staying at Estes Park with family for Thanksgiving. The cabins were well maintained and staff helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Plenty of room with great views. If you go make sure you go to the Golf Course a little up the road and check out the herd of elk that hang out around the 18th hole every morning.
Cabin was close enough to the activities downtown, but not in the middle of the crowds and noise. Extremely quiet and relaxing.
Have a toddler and so a washer and dryer in the unit were a great bonus. Also close to parks and playgrounds - can walk or easily drive.

Room Tip: Some cabins appear closer together than others. We were in the back of the property which meant we n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for the great review!! We think our staff is AWESOME as well!! Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We love the location great veiws of twin sisters and longs, Short walk to lake estes trail and long walk or easy bike ride to Kind Coffee one of my favorite estes morning stops. They offer a crock pot dinner on arrival be sure to ask about it. Nothing like the smell of dinner when you arrive and enough food to provide a second meal. Nice two bedrom condos with washer/dryer so you can pack light. Well equipped kitchens beautiful decor and well kept and clean. Management leaves you alone once your in. A bit on th procey side but that is why it is often available for last minute trips. And if you can affor d the price it is really, realy nice. Great for two couples or a small family. Great for cyclist as you can ride into town easily as your just cross the street from the trail to the fairgrounds and the lake.

Room Tip: All pretty nice just visit with management about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke1lacey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for the kind review! Glad you enjoyed the crock pot meal. Keep an eye on our website, we are adding some new touches to always try and enhance your visits with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We are so happy we found Solitude Cabins some ??? years ago. We experimented at different places until we found them. Kay & Steve make you feel like family. Whatever you need. I'm a hiker, married to a photographer. So we both have a perfect deal here, no compromises! Kim has the deck and the fireplace. I have a Starbucks on the way to the best hiking anywhere. These are lovely well kept mountain homes that they call cabins. Fact is, I don't want to "rough it" at night. We cook steaks on the grill, enjoy the sun going down from the deck. I told you, this place is heaven!

Room Tip: Tell them what you like, you will get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimvet1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

It was great to see you folks! We always look forward to your visits. We will keep posting pictures so you can always get your Solitude and mountain fix! Thank you for staying with us over the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our family loves Estes Park and we always stay at Solitude Cabins. Before we found Solitude Cabins, we stayed at various other cabins, homes, & hotels. Nothing compares to Solitude Cabins! The cabins are always VERY clean, have all you need, and are a peaceful getaway. We love the management, who have always been willing to work with us when we have had special requests, or something come up (like when we had to call them after hours because our son had locked us out of a bedroom... Steve came right over, no complaints and assured us it was no big deal!). We have stayed in most of the rental units there and haven't had a bad one- they each have their own touches that make them special. We also love how close to town it is - it's a five minute drive, but we love to walk into town in the mornings to get coffee (or avoid traffic during high volume times). Also love all the elk on the property! We highly recommend this to anyone heading to Estes Park!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for the great review!! We are so happy that you always choose Solitude Cabins. We all look forward to you and your family coming to Estes Park throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,613 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#21 of 74 in Estes Park
175 reviews
3 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#28 of 74 in Estes Park
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Loveland Heights Cottages
Loveland Heights Cottages
#25 of 74 in Estes Park
309 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Woodlands on Fall River
The Woodlands on Fall River
#11 of 74 in Estes Park
294 reviews
1.9 mi away
River Rock Cottages
River Rock Cottages
#6 of 74 in Estes Park
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitude Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitude Cabins

Address: 1885 Sketch Box Ln Unit 7, Estes Park, CO 80517-5444
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $150 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solitude Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solitude. Not just a name, it’s a feeling you get! Enjoy the rustic mountain feeling with all the comforts of a new luxury vacation home. Sleeping for 6 with 2 master suites, premium linens, fully equipped kitchen, living room, queen sofa sleeper, gas fireplace, washer & dryer, deck with gas grill and patio furniture. For your comfort and safety of wildlife, no pets are allowed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solitude Cabins Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing