We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate experience conveniet to lake and town”
Review of Solitude Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solitude Cabins
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We love the location great veiws of twin sisters and longs, Short walk to lake estes trail and long walk or easy bike ride to Kind Coffee one of my favorite estes morning stops. They offer a crock pot dinner on arrival be sure to ask about it. Nothing like the smell of dinner when you arrive and enough food to provide a second meal. Nice two bedrom condos with washer/dryer so you can pack light. Well equipped kitchens beautiful decor and well kept and clean. Management leaves you alone once your in. A bit on th procey side but that is why it is often available for last minute trips. And if you can affor d the price it is really, realy nice. Great for two couples or a small family. Great for cyclist as you can ride into town easily as your just cross the street from the trail to the fairgrounds and the lake.

Room Tip: All pretty nice just visit with management about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke1lacey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for the kind review! Glad you enjoyed the crock pot meal. Keep an eye on our website, we are adding some new touches to always try and enhance your visits with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 161 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We are so happy we found Solitude Cabins some ??? years ago. We experimented at different places until we found them. Kay & Steve make you feel like family. Whatever you need. I'm a hiker, married to a photographer. So we both have a perfect deal here, no compromises! Kim has the deck and the fireplace. I have a Starbucks on the way to the best hiking anywhere. These are lovely well kept mountain homes that they call cabins. Fact is, I don't want to "rough it" at night. We cook steaks on the grill, enjoy the sun going down from the deck. I told you, this place is heaven!

Room Tip: Tell them what you like, you will get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimvet1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

It was great to see you folks! We always look forward to your visits. We will keep posting pictures so you can always get your Solitude and mountain fix! Thank you for staying with us over the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our family loves Estes Park and we always stay at Solitude Cabins. Before we found Solitude Cabins, we stayed at various other cabins, homes, & hotels. Nothing compares to Solitude Cabins! The cabins are always VERY clean, have all you need, and are a peaceful getaway. We love the management, who have always been willing to work with us when we have had special requests, or something come up (like when we had to call them after hours because our son had locked us out of a bedroom... Steve came right over, no complaints and assured us it was no big deal!). We have stayed in most of the rental units there and haven't had a bad one- they each have their own touches that make them special. We also love how close to town it is - it's a five minute drive, but we love to walk into town in the mornings to get coffee (or avoid traffic during high volume times). Also love all the elk on the property! We highly recommend this to anyone heading to Estes Park!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for the great review!! We are so happy that you always choose Solitude Cabins. We all look forward to you and your family coming to Estes Park throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We just finished our stay at Solitude Cabins. We were so glad that we chose to stay here, away from the busy downtown and other lodging areas. We ate out on the deck every night and enjoyed the views of the mountains which were spectacular. We took full advantage of being able to cook and grill at the cabin, saving some money on having to go out and eat at the local restaurants. We woke up to elk grazing, and took some walks on the walkng path to Lake Estes. We ran out of time to do everything that we wanted. When we come back this way, Solitude Cabins are going to be at the top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffswmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Solitude Cabins. Thank you for pointing out that we are away from the busy downtown. Solitude Cabins does give people the chance to sit back and take in the mountains with some always needed peace and quiet. Hope you make it back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a long awaited large family reunion of siblings after our mothers death. We asked for 3 cabins close together. Our cabin was situated a stones throw from the digging of a foundation. Mid-afternoon a large backhoe and bobcat was started and used right outside our window. It was difficult to carry on a converstion or relax in our $00 per night cabin. Office notified promptly and said "I'll ask how much longer they will be out there." The correct response should have been, "I will have them stop immediately and will move you to another cabin. " No cabin should be rented out with a know construction project underway without notifying the renters upon check-in. I believe the owners of this cabin would like to know that the managemant company does a mediocre job of simple cleaning. The air smelled of musty Lysol, pull- out couch matress cover had thick coating of dust, and large kitchen light fixture with visible dead bugs. When the problem with constuction pointed out again at checkout, the employee said write a review again and again cutting me off mid sentence. I told her that a simple apology goes a long way. Basic buisness etiquette teaches "allow the customer to vent then offer a sincere apology The owners of these condos should be wary of this management company at the helm

Room Tip: Ask about construction noise. Cabins are very close together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

We found ourselves disapointed with your group as well. It seems that all was good until we discovered that you snuck a dog on to the property. Especially, when someone in the group was adamant about making sure that no dogs or cats had been in the property due to severe allergies. You were aware of the pet policies at Solitude Cabins and made the personal choice to break the pet policy and sneak dog into one of our units. Sorry we did not meet your standards cleanliness and guest service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here with four teenage kids (as harrowing as whitewater rafting, right?), and it was a perfect location for us. The views from front and back decks was gorgeous; cabins are near Lake Estes and town is a 20-30 min. walk along paved paths, or a quick drive. Everything one could want was provided in the cabins, and after hours arrivals are accommodated.

Room Tip: Ask for good views, as there are a few cabins that face other cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

We are glad you found Solitude Cabins to be a good fit and location for your trip. The walking path across the street is a great way to get out and enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Solitude Cabins are so beautiful and the area is as well. It's so quiet & crisp. A must place to stay when in Estes Park!

Room Tip: Get a cabin that is slightly slanted so the sun does not shine in directly. Can get a little warm d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tedandmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

It was great to see you folks and we are so glad that Solitude Cabins was a great location for your family! Thanks for the OP Pizza it was wonderful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.8 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,610 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#20 of 74 in Estes Park
175 reviews
3 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#28 of 74 in Estes Park
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Loveland Heights Cottages
Loveland Heights Cottages
#25 of 74 in Estes Park
309 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Woodlands on Fall River
The Woodlands on Fall River
#10 of 74 in Estes Park
294 reviews
1.9 mi away
River Rock Cottages
River Rock Cottages
#6 of 74 in Estes Park
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitude Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitude Cabins

Address: 1885 Sketch Box Ln Unit 7, Estes Park, CO 80517-5444
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $150 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solitude Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solitude. Not just a name, it’s a feeling you get! Enjoy the rustic mountain feeling with all the comforts of a new luxury vacation home. Sleeping for 6 with 2 master suites, premium linens, fully equipped kitchen, living room, queen sofa sleeper, gas fireplace, washer & dryer, deck with gas grill and patio furniture. For your comfort and safety of wildlife, no pets are allowed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solitude Cabins Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing