We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and Restorative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Misty Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Our time at Misty Mountain has been precious to us, it's just so restful and restorative. We had a very special visitor as we prepared to leave at 5:00 on Monday morning. As Marty got ready to go out the door with yet another load of stuff, he looked down and here was a half-grown raccoon, on her/his back legs, peaking in through the screen door. I'm sure if we'd opened it, we would have had company. . Since one of our true joys of being at Estes Park is the animal viewing, we felt very honored to have a farewell from a raccoon!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank martyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 284 of 284 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2007

My husband, son and I just got back from 3 wonderful, relaxing nights at the Misty. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and couldn't think of a nicer place to be. The property was beautiful, along with the wildlife! The cabin was adorable and very comfortable.

After exploring Estes during the day, the hot tub and fireplace was a perfect way to end the evening. Wish we had those luxuries at home! We even stayed in one night and barbecued on one of their many barbecues. Our porch was the perfect place to watch the wildlife.

The owners were so friendly and accommodating. We feel that is really what makes a place special. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR MAKING OUR ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 10yrsago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2006

We recently stayed at the Misty Mountain Lodge for a family reunion. We had some confusion over our rate, it was not the same as listed online. (The rate online now is what we were charged. I checked to see if it had been changed and it has.)
When we checked in we were given 2 keys. Sometime later we left the room and took one of them with us, when we tried to get back in the room it didn't work. Wrong room key! My husband went to the office so we could get into the room and was told he needed ID to get a key. That presented a problem since our ID was in the room. He asked the man in the office to go to the room and let us in so we could show himidentification. He didn't want to stop watching his football game to do that. My husband explained that our ID was in the room ( and the car, which was locked.) He tossed the key at my husband and told him he was breaking policy giving him the key and he, my husband, should bring him the ID right away, which he did.
It would have been so simple for the management to go to the room and unlock the door so we could then show them identification. They were the ones who gave us the wrong key in the first place!
I would not recommend this lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank crhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2006

You would think that if you had 3/4 of the cabins rented to one group that they would treat you nice. I travel extensively around the world and this was by far one of the worst managed places I have been too.

The trash bin was full when we got there on Friday and then they management had the nerve to tell us that we had too much trash. I have a family of four and we fill up 4 trash barrels a week. They need a bigger trash dumpster and they need to have there trash picked up more than twice a week. They told us we had to keep the trash in our rooms since the dumpster was full so the Raccoons wouldn’t get in to it. How professional is that.

When we got there one of the hot tubs was broke. They claim that it broke a couple of days earlier and it was going to be replaced soon. Don’t lie to me, that thing had been broke all summer. The water in the bottom of it was so green and disgusting, I have seen cleaner backyard ponds.

We were out in the yard having a get together and they rudely told us to be quiet because we were disturbing the other guest. We said ok and packed up and went inside. I asked them though who we disturbed and they said the room over there. I asked did they complain to you about our noise and she said no, then I said how do you know we bothered them since they didn’t complain. Again another lie.

The manger was extremely rude; he was in his late 40's and acted like a kid. Very childish standing guard by the dumpster and confronting guest rudely. It seemed like he wanted to get in a fight with some of my family members instead of trying to make the situation right.

Parking was horrible; they said we had too many cars. They only had around 17 parking spaces and there were around 23 cabins. I think we have a problem with camping. I guess they want some of there guests to walk there. I believe parking is a first come first serve basis, and sorry if some of the guests that were there besides us had to park off site, so did we.

The cabins were outdated and they were decorated very tacky. The fountains were a joke and the grass looked like crap. My friends have cabins that are 60 years old in the mountains and they re in better shape than these that we paid 150 bucks a night for.

My point is don’t waste your money we wasted over $8,000.00 here when I just as soon stayed in my car after the way they treated me.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank riowuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
192 reviews
1.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 28 in Estes Park
516 reviews
2 mi away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#19 of 74 in Estes Park
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peak To Peak Lodge
Peak To Peak Lodge
#20 of 28 in Estes Park
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Lodge

Address: 232 E Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $98 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Misty Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky Mountain National Park is only 2 miles away. Estes Park is a minute's walk along the Big Thompson River. Prospect Mountain IS the back part of our property. With 60' spruce trees, gas grills, hot tubs, our rooms, suites, and cabins are just a lovely place to hang out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Misty Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Mountain Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing