We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Planned on Steak, Had Elk and Antelope Instead” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Owls Steakhouse

Twin Owls Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Twin Owls Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 127 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rt 34 Bypass
Description: The Twin Owls Steakhouse offers quintessential mountain abiance in a 1920's log cabin along with an excellent array of steaks, seafood, house specialties and fine wines.
No. Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Planned on Steak, Had Elk and Antelope Instead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Twin Owls pleasantly surprises with food that exceeds the usual steak house fare. The night we ate there the special was antelope, which I ordered. My wife had Elk medallions. Both dishes were excellent (though my wife thought the antelope tasted like pot roast--I can't recall a pot roast with the same gamy flavor and soft texture). The sides of vegetables, potatoes and mashed sweet potatoes were all nicely seasoned. The wine recommended to accompany the elk was sold out, but the substitute our waiter suggested was a very good match and reasonably priced. The next time I eat here I'd like to have the steak, just to see if it's as good as the rest of what they offer. Our waiter was quick and attentive but not intrusive. All in all a great night out, worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wyzefool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    264
    132
    59
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really looking forward to this restaurant as it came highly recommended. Difficulty finding parking was first problem, but seated right away at a really nice secluded table upstairs overlooking the main dining room. Server was quiet, but friendly and greeted us right away - however she got a table of 15 people soon after we were there and then we felt somewhat neglected. My biggest "turn-off" for a restaurant came next: we were still eating our soup/salad when our entrees came. The waiter who brought our food (different from our original waitress) handed us our plates, as opposed to putting them down in front of us. Fortunately, the food was very tasty (filet with house sauce and lobster) and done perfectly. Coffee was bad, dessert good

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Log cabin mountain restaurant delivers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Reviews are mixed on trip advisor but a friend recommended so we made it our nice dinner out and we are glad we did. Service was great, food was tasty and creative. Price was a little on high side but worth it in a tourist town. Our waiter provided our choice of dessert because we were celebrating a birthday. Will return next trip to Estes park!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing setting but they need to do something with the food..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Situated in a huge log lodge of the beginning of last century, really
Beautiful. The person in charge of the wines and beers was knowledgeable and very friendly. We had no reservation and we were quite late, so we had to wait a bit for a table to get cleared but that was no problem at all. The problem was with the lamb cutlets encrusted with tons of breadcrumbs, you could not even taste the meat anymore. They were served in some Kind of yellow rice, dry and tasteless.
Just take that dish out of the menu...
Elk medallions were ok, I thought elk would have a stronger flavor though. All in all a bit pretentious.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elsabiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
152 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent elk kabobs and lamb chops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Ate here in August and came back again this trip especially for the elk kebabs. Host recommended the lamb chops and they were excellent. Waiter gave excellent service. Must have filled water glasses 6-8 times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Twin Owls Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing