We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
Review of Black Canyon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Canyon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Black Canyon Inn. A lovely setting, great restaurant on the property, and the unit itself was excellent. The only thing slightly negative is the much-too-small coffeepot in the kitchen. Otherwise, all was great. We were there during elk rutting season, and were pleasantly surprised to see a bull elk stroll down to the pond one evening. Heard and saw coyotes one night, too. We would highly recommend this lovely inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Empehi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    28
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
112
115
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We could not be happier with our recent stay at Black Canyon Inn. The location is secluded and very scenic and yet is only a few blocks from Estes Park Square and a couple of miles from Fall River Entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Restaurant on site is great. We had a wonderful cabin and the service provided on site was exceptional. Service was extremely helpful and professional. We liked it so much we plan to return as often as possible.

Patrick

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank murphy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We have stayed at several Estes Park locations over the years, but after staying at the Black Canyon Inn we feel as though we have finally found "home"! We have always loved Estes, but the Black Canyon Inn made the experience more enjoyable than ever. The accomodations were spacious, yet cozy with their mountain decor, and very clean. The setting gives the feeling of being "tucked away" yet it's very close to town. The staff is fantastic and willing to do anything they can to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We LOVE the Black Canyon Inn!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MangumFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We were married at The BCI on June 10th and it was perfect in every single way. We live in the UK and had organised everything via email so although we could check photos etc online there was always a tiny bit of worry, as soon as we arrived we knew we had picked the right place. Rosemary (wedding planner extraordinaire) was away on the day of the actual wedding but everything was fully organised and left in the more than capable hands of the unflappable Michael. We stayed in the cabin which was lovely and our friends and family stayed in a selection of the other units, all of which were great and were loved by all the occupants. The grounds were gorgeous and although the weather was threatening rain/thunder storms all of the alternative venues were fab, the new pavillion is beautiful with the most amazing backdrop plus the guys were more than happy to move the ceremony either back or forwards to avoid any bad weather. But the weather came out just in time and everything went so smoothly.
Everyone that joined us had such a brilliant time, my main memories of the day were just of everyone smiling and being so relaxed.
We had our reception at The Twin Owls Restaurant and the food was possibly the best food we had in our whole 3 weeks in The States and we travelled the whole West Coast! The service was just spot on, the staff were super friendly and our server was always there if we needed them but never lurking and happy to change things around to suit us.
Just perfect!
Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Estes Park. The Black Canyon Inn is our favorite!!! The setting is peaceful and beautiful, with a pond, wildlife and great places to walk/hike. Accomodations are squeaky clean, nicely decorated and very spacious--much larger than most other condos/cabins. The 2 BR/2 Bath unit is the best value, and it is PERFECT if you are travelling with another couple or friends, because it is actually 2 adjoining units. The main unit (which is the same as a 1 BR unit) has a roomy living area w/fireplace and kitchen, and a master bedroom/large bath. The spacious second bedroom/bath has its own entrance and separate patio/balcony. So you can come and go without disturbing each other; then just open the door between the units to share the kitchen/living area. One more note: the manager/staff are very gracious and friendly. We've had maybe 6 or 7 stays at the Black Canyon Inn, and they've all been great!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fowles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We recently got married at Black Canyon Inn and cannot say enough GREAT things about the location, staff, and views at this wonderful place! Originally we knew that we wanted to pick something that was beautiful but still felt like "us"--nothing too stuffy. We never dreamt that we would find such a perfect place that we loved and also fit our budget. I never actually met Rosemary in person (owner and wedding helper extraordinaire) until the day before the wedding but that made no difference whatsoever! She had all the details for our day ready to go and knew exactly what was needed. Everyone at our wedding couldn't get over just how relaxing and stress-free everything was. We had to switch our ceremony inside due to weather, but Rosemary was very willing for us to wait as late as possible to see if the weather was going to change. All I can say is they were so accomodating for us which is exactly what a bride needs on her big day! The day after the wedding, my dad went down to the office to get our marriage certificate and Rosemary had already taken care of it and mailed it off for us!
When we originally booked Black Canyon Inn, we only looked at the reception and ceremony space. We weren't too concerned with the rooms--boy were we pleasantly surprised upon checkin! All of the rooms were just gorgeous and very spacious! Our guests were blown away! We can't wait to return for our anniversary. We would highly reccomend BCI to anyone looking for a perfect wedding venue in Estes Park. It was the most perfect day, and we couldn't think of any other place that would have been better for us!
Sidenote: We had our reception at Twin Owls Steakhouse which was also just wonderful! It was so cozy and fun and we heard from many of our guests that it was the best wedding they had been to. Food was GREAT, service was WONDERFUL! I do not have one negative thing to say about it except that the party had to finally end!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HoneyMoon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRGINIA BEACH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Hi, my name is Heston Killip. My wife Brianne and I have a unique story for this. We are both in the military, during the time of the planning Brianne was overseas. We had decided where we would like to get married via e-mail. This was all in my hands. Fortunately for me there is an awesome, sweet, and kind lady by the name of rosemary who works there. I called her and explain what the deal was and the time frame for which my bride to be would be coming back to the states. She and her staff including Micheal Lyons, immediately jumped into action and helped me with everything, including: location for ceremony, photographer (who did a spectacular job), cake, lodging, decorating, and dining. She was such a help to me. They mailed me all the info i needed and made it so easy, that there really wasn't any stress. When we arrived there it was a place only seen in movies. It is an amazing rustic scenery. It provides a tranquil and relaxed atmosphere, leaving you to not want to leave. It gives you the opportunity to snuggle up together next to a fire with just a flip of a switch. Or relax in a jet tub. And you can get lost in the bed. Its so huge! The place is stocked with utensils and pots/ pans. All you have to do is bring your own food for the stay. But don’t worry right down the way is a grocery store and a liquor store--for wine of course ;). Also, black canyon inn is close to downtown where you can shop and take in all the local dining. Oh and lets not forget, the view. The view from the lodge is awesome! You can sit out on the porch and just look at the intriguing view of the mountains. My wife and I had such a wonderful time at the black canyon inn, and we plan to make it up there again for an anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank THEKILLIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Inn

Property: Black Canyon Inn
Address: 800 Macgregor Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Separated from downtown by granite outcroppings the property intertwines the vacation condos with mature pines and a stream fed pond. Summer brings families. Fall is priceless...With the golden aspens blowing in the wind and the distant elk bugle. Winter is quiet and perfect for romance. Spring comes slowly to the mountains, with an occasional snowfall. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, a wedding or reunion...We have the setting-you create the memories!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing