We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise in a quiet setting.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Canyon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Canyon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Jasper National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Noise in a quiet setting.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lonely planet was our guide at the time of booking, the line "luxury suites and a rustic log cabin in a lovely secluded 14-acre property" were the information that convinced us. The price is high, but quality has a price ... and I must say the cabins are beautiful.
At this moment it's 9.50 p.m. and I don't know when the live music from the wedding in the restaurant will stop, so time for a short review about expectations and reality.
Columbine is one of the cabins in the Black Canyon Inn and situated next to the pool, the water quality must be good because the pumps from the filtersystem work all night!!
Annoying that the cabins haven't got a.c., so you can't close the windows complete to reduce the noise.
During the day the pool is an ideal place for children and their parents, but I would prefer an other place in the park. At the time of booking the management should have mentioned that we were located next to the pool and the restaurant.
The music stopped (10.00 p.m.) and I hope that these guests had a good time, but didn't drink too much. This is not the case and it's time to listen the the sound of ... pumps.

On the other side it's relaxing that you don't have to listen to the sounds of cell phones, no one can reach you and the wifi network is most of the time out of order.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreeyanBSloan, General Manager at Black Canyon Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid feedback. I am very sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We are fortunate to welcome people from all over the world and for all different reasons. The wording used on Lonely Planet's website is based on their own review of our property, not something that we have paid to put up. Our website does describe the Cabin as being in close proximity to both the pool and the Twin Owls Steakhouse, but it sounds like you contacted us directly from Lonely Planet's website, which I am very thankful for. We do host various groups, especially weddings during the summer months, which can definitely intrude on a couple's quiet getaway when you are placed right in the middle of it. I apologize too that the noise from the pool was disturbing. We were able to determine towards the end of the summer that the heater was going out and the pump running was actually the heater trying to keep the pool warm. You are correct in that the reservationist should have mentioned the cabin's location, especially when finding out you were not a part of the group on site during that time. I hope it is okay that I have used your review to better train my staff in ensuring proper placement for all of our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    28
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
112
115
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time staying at the Black Canyon Inn. We enjoyed being a little farther out from Estes Park but still within easy reach of the National Park. We even got to see a herd of elk right on the driveway of the property!
We stayed in unit D6 which being on the second floor gave us fantastic uninterrupted views of the mountains. Stunning to watch the sunset come up on the attached deck.
The place was spotlessly clean and we enjoyed the large kitchen/diner, living room, bedroom, large bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate laundry area. We stayed for just 3 nights but would recommend staying even longer as it is so well appointed and incredibly peaceful.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Overall, the Black Canyon Inn was really great. We stayed in Unit C2/3, which was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. It overlooks the Twin Owl restaurant with a view of the mountains farther out. The unit was spotlessly clean - I don't think I've ever seen a cleaner place, especially the bathrooms, which was very important to me. The one small exception to this was the carpets which seemed slightly dingy. The bedrooms are nice and big. My only complaint would be that the pictures featured on the website make the units look larger than they really are. The family room/kitchen area was quite tight for 4 adults. We also stayed in a ground floor unit and could easily hear when someone was walking around upstairs. The location is great though, and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megfarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a lovely apartment: 1 living room with kitchen, 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, lot of space for our luggages, place for washing machine and dryer. Private space outside and lovely surroundings. Clean, quiet, very very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in unit B1/2 for 4 nights in Aug 2013. The unit was very clean, except the carpets. The kitchen and baths were spotless. The kitchen was adequately furnished although potholders should be added. Beds were comfy but pillows were flat and hard. The unit was very spacious for 4 adults and 1 teen. The pool was very warm - I loved it! The quiet hours seemed to be honored and we all slept well. The complex is in a quiet area although only 2 minutes from the main part of the town. The wifi worked well for us in most areas of the unit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in A5 for 3 nights at $169/night. Our room was decorated in wonderful woodland kitsch and had a great view. However, our room was never serviced (no new towels, no bed service, etc), there were no filters for the coffee maker, no iron for the ironing board, and paper thin walls. There is a noise curfew because you can literally hear the person in the next room coughing. In addition, there is a pet ban on the property (we kenneled our dog), but the couple in the room next to us had a golden lab whose nails on the floor you could hear through the walls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_wanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This resort is located in a beautiful area, but that is about the only good thing about it. When I arrived and check in the staff was not very friendly. When we got to the room, it was clean, but the amenities were non-existent. My family of four stayed in a one bedroom unit. The king size bed had only two standard size pillows on it, and only one pillow (I guess to share?!?) for the two people sleeping on the pull out sofa. When I asked the front desk for extra pillows, they said those are provided by the owners and they had none extra. The windows in the unit did not lock, so you could not lock up valuables, and the screen door was broken. I called, but neither was fixed. The lighting in the unit was horrible, one ceiling light in the center of three rooms! No ceiling fans, and the only electric outlets in the place had the TV, and alarm clock plugged into them. They also advertise wifi, but there was no service in the unit I was in.
I will travel to Estes Park again, but would be better off staying at the Motel 6.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim79024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.5 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Inn

Property: Black Canyon Inn
Address: 800 Macgregor Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Separated from downtown by granite outcroppings the property intertwines the vacation condos with mature pines and a stream fed pond. Summer brings families. Fall is priceless...With the golden aspens blowing in the wind and the distant elk bugle. Winter is quiet and perfect for romance. Spring comes slowly to the mountains, with an occasional snowfall. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, a wedding or reunion...We have the setting-you create the memories!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing