We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Black Canyon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Canyon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We go here every year for a long weekend and it never fails to impress us. Plus, the Twin Owls Steakhouse on the property is a beautiful building with great food. Also, very convienent drive from Denver area.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but the second story rooms give a better view of the surrounding mountains and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gobuffs16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 284 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went for our wedding and all of our family stayed as well. My new husband and I stayed in the cabin and our families had a 1 bedroom and a 3 bedroom. All 3 units were spacious and wonderful. Everyone loved it and my family from California want to come back and stay again maybe for an anniversary we can all come back. The location is great you feel secluded but a 2 minute drive and your downtown. The staff are wonderful if anything was needed all we had to do was ask. Would definately recommend staying.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traceybrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our second stay at BCI and we love it! Great location, great restaurant, great views, great rooms. Our stay gets a bit longer each time and we're looking forward to an extended stay next time around. I would suggest an alternative to automatic locks on the patio/deck doors that require a key to get back in...yes, we locked ourselves out of a second floor deck. Fortunately an employee appeared to know exactly what we needed and came to our aid. Looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in F-2 and really enjoyed our condo. The bed was very comfortable and the condo itself was modern and cozy. I was worried about being on the bottom floor but we were very happy to not be able to hear anything from the surrounding rooms. The view was even spectacular as you stepped right outside the door. And the bathroom was huge with a glorious jetted tub and hand held shower nozzle. (its the little things that can make a big difference) Definitely worth staying here. Whenever we come back to Estes Park we will be staying here for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We moved to Denver 12 years ago. We quickly discovered Rocky Mountain National Park and the Black Canyon Inn. We visit at least once a year and have stayed in almost all of the different buildings. This place is honestly perfect. Great views, comfortable clean units and great service. We prefer winter because it is less crowded. The heated floors and in room jacuzzi are a real plus after a day of snowshoeing.

The staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. On our last visit we had a minor problem with one of the appliances. I called the front desk and explained that it wasn’t a big deal and if they couldn’t get to it that day, it would be OK. They sent someone over in less than 5 minutes and he fixed the problem immediately. Very impressive.

Some of the older buildings have small kitchens (and refrigerators) which is fine if you don't plan to cook. The newer units have wonderful modern kitchens perfect for cooking in and enjoying the fabulous views.

We are returning for another 3 day weekend in April!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jojorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We were staying at Black Canyon for my niece's wedding that was held in the outside pavilion. What a great place to get married. The staff was very cordial. Since it was a destination wedding the family had different lodges which made it nice to go check out other decor and views.

Our visit was way to short. The next trip will be longer. Thank you Black Canyon

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackCanyonRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Black Canyon Inn in Estes is our favorite quiet Estes Location. One of the many reasons we like the Black Canyon Inn is their heating system. They use radiant heat so the warmth is in the floor and walls. My wife is diabetic and has leg and feet problems. The minute she walks into the condo she feels better instantly. Her legs don't ache and she can walk around barefoot and not get chilled. This trip we got to see two 6 point elk jousting with each other. Really cool.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohnils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
630 reviews
1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
199 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 28 in Estes Park
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
2,656 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 28 in Estes Park
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Inn

Address: 800 Macgregor Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: $175 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Separated from downtown by granite outcroppings the property intertwines the vacation condos with mature pines and a stream fed pond. Summer brings families. Fall is priceless...With the golden aspens blowing in the wind and the distant elk bugle. Winter is quiet and perfect for romance. Spring comes slowly to the mountains, with an occasional snowfall. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, a wedding or reunion...We have the setting-you create the memories!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing