We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October getaway”
Review of Black Canyon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Canyon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
council bluffs
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“October getaway”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This time we came out the first week in October--the colors of the aspens were awesome and the weather was perfect.There were plenty of elk right at Black Canyon's own pond.These are very clean and spacious upscale condos with spectacular views. We've always had a great stay and can't wait to come back in the spring.

Room Tip: upper floors have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    28
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
113
117
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Black Canyon Inn is a great place to unwind and relax. The area is quiet and relaxing. We have stayed here 3 years in a row and will definintely be back next year. My only regret is that we don't live closer so we could come more often.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCIEstesPark, Manager at Black Canyon Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Black Canyon Inn! We really appreciate your many return visits!

I believe one of the many advantages of the Black Canyon Inn property is the excellent location. Although we are less than 1 mile from downtown Estes Park, we are still off the beaten path. You can truly savor the unique combination of convenience and tranquility!

Thanks again for the review! We will look forward to seeing you once again!

-Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Have been here several times before, but I think this unit was the nicest, a 1 bedroom and upgraded features (Unit-F) The views are impressive. I believe they serve wedding parties well, as they have a Chapel on the property. Don't forget the Twin Owls Steakhouse, it's on the property too. Much better value than "the Stanley"

Room Tip: Book sooner than later. Unit F. One may negotiate for a one night stay, sometimes they ask for 2-3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnOmaha_Nebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCIEstesPark, Manager at Black Canyon Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your recent stay at Black Canyon Inn!

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your return visit and had the opportunity to stay in a different condo this time. I also appreciate you mentioning the availability to sometimes accommodate stays shorter than the minimum night stay requirement.

Although we do have a minimum night stay requirement between 2 and 4 nights (depending on the season), we definitely encourage people to contact the Black Canyon Inn lodging office with inquiries regarding shorter visits. If we have that availability, we are more than happy to accommodate!

We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Estes Park!

-Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is a great place to relax and unwind. Had our wedding here as well,and couldn't have asked for a better venue. Great place for large gatherings, business or pleasure. We cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: Anything in the F building will have the best views, but all rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GACSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCIEstesPark, Manager at Black Canyon Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your recent Black Canyon Inn experience!

Congratulations on your marriage! We are very happy to hear everything went so well for the ceremony and your stay. We always enjoy having the groups visit the property especially for an event as special as a wedding.

We will look forward to seeing you again in the future!

-Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Inn is a perfect setting for any occasion. The condos are roomy, nicely furnished and very clean! Service is good. The food at the Twin Owls Steak House was delicious and nicely presented. All in all it was one of the most relaxing vacations we've had. Thank you BBI!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is a great place to stay. The room we stayed in was very nice and well furnished. The community was also very quiet and the scenery by the property was beautiful. There where also a lot of great places to visit nearby, hiking trails, a place to go horseback riding, and down town Estes Park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank guest g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Black Canyon Inn has been a fall destination for us every fall since we discovered it. Accomodations and views are amazing as well as the knowledgeable and professional staff.
It is just a few blocks from downtown Estes Park and and less than a couple miles from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park but it is secluded in a great canyon with a view of Longs peak from the cabin we stayed at on our recent trips. The two person cabin has been great with two fireplaces, jacuzzi, two TV's and living room,small sun room and small kithchen.
Parking is right at your door and wildlife (a large 14 point elk was grazing on grass by the cabin when we arrived) roam the property. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the Rocky Mountains and the Twin Owls restaurant on site is exceptional as well. Lots of Weddings take place at the Black Canyon Inn with Laura helping all arrangements.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank murphy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
1.1 mi away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
317 reviews
1.2 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#31 of 78 in Estes Park
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aspen Winds on Fall River
Aspen Winds on Fall River
#6 of 78 in Estes Park
261 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Evergreens on Fall River
The Evergreens on Fall River
#12 of 78 in Estes Park
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
River Rock Cottages
River Rock Cottages
#5 of 78 in Estes Park
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Inn

Property: Black Canyon Inn
Address: 800 Macgregor Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-9065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Separated from downtown by granite outcroppings the property intertwines the vacation condos with mature pines and a stream fed pond. Summer brings families. Fall is priceless...With the golden aspens blowing in the wind and the distant elk bugle. Winter is quiet and perfect for romance. Spring comes slowly to the mountains, with an occasional snowfall. Whether you are planning a quiet getaway, a wedding or reunion...We have the setting-you create the memories!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing